We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive for a 3* hotel”
Review of Centrum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centrum Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel in January 2012 on a sightseeing trip.

Although it’s primarily a business hotel with high-speed internet access, business workspace and a meeting room, we found the location of the Centrum hotel was absolutely superb for sightseeing both north and south Nicosia old city. It was fairly easy to find and I don’t think the location could be bettered. It’s just inside the old city walls in a small street just off Ledra Street, which is the main shopping area in the old city. At the end of Ledra Street is the pedestrian border crossing into north Nicosia, which is under Turkish control.

The Centrum hotel doesn’t have a car park, but don’t let that put you off. There is a large municipal car park just across the road that charges 5 euros for a 10-hour stay. For a city centre hotel it has an impressive reception area with a bar, large screen tv and seating area. Breakfast was fairly basic but very adequate. It was buffet style with hot and cold food including bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, beans, fried bread, croissants, cereals, cold meat and cheese.

Our room was spacious and comfortable with a television, tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. There was no bath, just a shower, but it was powerful and there was plenty of hot water. Some of the rooms have a small balcony. We did have wi fi in our room, which was free of charge.

If we visit Nicosia again, we would definitely stay in the Centrum and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiplingcollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

IAgree with the recent reviews. Maybe the people who found it unsatisfactory were there before the rejuvenation. My only negative note was that the fried bread at breakfast had lost it's crispness.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JolyonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Well, what more can you ask for? Bang in the center of the city, and fully renovated this year. I highly enjoyed the breakfast which is served in a beautiful terrace outside. Friendly staff helped me with the little details that all travellers need in hotels. Mr.John, the owner, is always there, checking things out discreetly... By the way, there is free internet everywhere...

Room Tip: You can ask rooms with balconies, if available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank othello2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A new/newly upgraded hotrel in old Nicosia, close to "everything" and walking distance to Ledra Street and entry point to the Turkish Cypriot side. All "sights" are close. The hotel has large modern rooms, air condition, and large bathrooms. A large reception area with international newspapers, and a friendly staff. Bed and breakfast only, but with a good "English" breakfast. Good restaurants/tavernas close.
Try to get a room at the rear, otherwise traffic and music noise may disturb yourc sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bwanafedha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I had to come to Cyprus to meet possible business partners and did not have to show off in a 4* hotel
Centrum provided everything that was needed : better than spartan accommodation, very clean and well kept, all services. The straff was very friendly and willing and able to help with practical matters.

Room Tip: ask for the ones in the back if you want to sleep late ... the main street wakes up early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank last_waltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Not any people stay in Nicosia when they travel to Cyprus (no beach...) but it's a mistake. Nicosia is a wonderful place to explore and the Centrum is - as the word says - at the centre of what you want to see, the Old Town, the Walls, the Museums, the border... The staff are very friendly and the level of service is excellent. The hotel is being renovated (but it will be all done in July - it was almost finished when we were there already) and it will also offer rooms in a traditional Cypriot building (at the back of the Hotel). Very charming. Ask for a quote before booking. They might be able to offer you a good deal if you speak to them directly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladysunza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We has to attend a 3 day conference at the Holiday Inn city centre, and our company would sponsor just part of the accommodation cost for us. We found hotels nearby that were cheaper and also slightly closer to the Holiday Inn but choose to stay at the Centrum as all 5 of us would rather stay in the same hotel and the Centrum gave us a good deal. An excellent choice, comfortable beds and no need to cross any streets to get to the holiday inn at a better price. The service from reception could of been a bit better and wireless internet should be faster in a business hotel but was no biggie. Parking is a major problem. for anything more than 3 days you would need a proper sized bag and carrying it up about 40 steps would probably be a problem. Otherwise excellent, on freedom square, not noisy, could be used for a shopping weekend if you are into that.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
1.3 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royiatiko Hotel
Royiatiko Hotel
#9 of 26 in Nicosia
134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cyprus
Hilton Cyprus
#1 of 26 in Nicosia
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Park Nicosia
Hilton Park Nicosia
#2 of 26 in Nicosia
678 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Classic Hotel
The Classic Hotel
#6 of 26 in Nicosia
384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#7 of 26 in Nicosia
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrum Hotel

Address: Pasikratous 15 | Eleftherias Square, Nicosia 1011, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nicosia
#9 Business Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrum Hotel Nicosia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing