We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Nicolas Apartments Phafos Amelia 201 - superb!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Nicolas Elegant Residence
Ranked #58 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Paphos
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“St. Nicolas Apartments Phafos Amelia 201 - superb!!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Just come back from St. Nicholas apartments last week - stayed in Amelia 201 - absoultly stunning! Beautifil aparment which was lovely and clean, sky television and air conditioning included which we needed on a night because it was still 29 degree's - 3 pools to choose from all working perfectly - quiet but thats just how i like it! I would definatly say you need a hire car, as its too far to walk to the sea front where the buses seem to run up and down - but DONT USE AVIS IN PHAFOS, we got well ripped off with them! If you do go to phafos you must go to Fat Mammas for tea - food is fantastic and not too expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank foodygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    111
    92
    62
    92
See reviews for
189
186
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We arrived at st nicholas at 9.30pm where no lights were on, restauran closed and we had to call a number which was on a window. We were showed to our room which was clean and modern but we had to make our own bed, wash our own towels and take out our own bins. We also had to pay £50 for air con which we weren warned about beforehand

By daylight, its beautiful. The pool and apartments are very nice but it is very very very quiet, prob 20 people staying in total. The restaurant was empty so shut at 9pm every evening and there is nothing at all walkable from the apartments. Definitely hire a car as we spent a fortune on taxis as the bus was a good 30 mns walk away.

Great for a quiet stay, we had The pool to ourselves most days which was nice!

Room Tip: Overlooking the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My boyfriend and I came to the St Nicholas Residence for a week at the end of August and we had a wonderful holiday. The weather was a perfect 29-31 degrees.

GETTING AROUND - I would suggest hiring a car as nothing is really close-by. We just used taxis for the whole holiday which worked out to be very expensive! We had a local taxi company (a man named Panicos) from Alfa Taxi Services which was recommended to us who were very reliable. It cost us 28euros from St Nicholas to Paphos Airport. To Paphos Harbour it was 10euros, Bar Street (for nightlife) was 9euros & Tomb of the Kings Road was 8euros. Go careful if you get approached by any taxi men as they may rip you off. We got charged 40euros from the airport on the first trip!

APARTMENT - The apartment we stayed in was in Alsyum House. It was definately 4* and was extremely clean, tidy and had everything you needed. The kitchen was very well equipped if your doing self catering. Our balcony looked over the pools and you could see the sea in the distance which was a bonus! You do need to take out your own rubbish and there isn't a maid service, but I was fully aware of this as they are 'self catering' apartments and you should expect to do it yourself. Tip...if you stay on a higher floor, you are less likely to get bugs & insects crawling around!

AIRCON - Each apartment is different. Ours luckily we could keep the air con on but they did say that as its expensive to try to only use it when really needed, which is fair enough. Some apartments have the ones that have a timer switch and they go off after 1 or 2 hours, but you can always turn it back on again if needed.

RECEPTION - The lady at reception was very helpful and helped me when I needed to fax some papers back to the UK at no cost. I've read reviews where people say the staff are never there, but there is a sign that says the opening times and they do close at 4.00. If the lady has popped out there is a notice with her number on so you can call her if needed.

4 LOVELY SWIMMING POOLS - We were lucky to have 3 pools all to ourselves as it was quiet in Cyprus this year. They are the perfect temperature in this heat. Only downside there are patches of mosaic tiles coming off in places which from reading other reviews seems like they've been left for a while. But to me they didn't seem sharp enough to cut your feet on, I'd just say be aware of it and not step on them. One other criticism we had was that the pool guy comes round to top up the chlorine and they don't put signs up to let you know when, so you need to be aware when this is done.

GYM - The gym was open and quite basic. But who really spends that much time in the gym on holiday anyway?!

RESTAURANT - The restaurant serves mainly bar snacks...jackets potatoes (3.50 euros), pastas (6 euros), salads (5.50 euros), omelettes (6 euros), burgers (3.10) etc. All the food we ate was very nice, perhaps a little pricey for what it was though. They also do takeaway food for you as well so you can eat your lunch around the pools. The lady who runs it was very friendly. One small complaint we had was the cleaning lady was moping the floors with detergent whilst we were eating breakfast which wasn't too pleasant, but when asked she kindly stopped for us until we had finished eating. You probably wouldn't want to eat in here every day of your holiday so we also went to a local grill bar that is in walkable distance, they were very friendly in here too. There are loads of lovely restaurants in Paphos & on the Tomb of the Kings Road which are worth paying the 10Euro taxi fare to get to for a night out.

MINI MARKET - There was supposed to be a mini-market on the site, but this had closed down. However, a 7 min walk up the road and there is a large Cypriot Supermarket and right opposite is a smaller English shop too for all your catering needs. You can pick up your toiletries and sun cream here too!

CINEMA - The cinema is ONLY on a Friday night and the Friday we were there it wasn't even on! BUT the apartments do have DVD players that can play UK discs so I recommend you bring some movies with you to watch!

SKY TV - Some of the apartments do have SKY TV but we were only able to access one channel, Sky News (even after going through the instructions in the apartment), so be aware the signal is NOT GREAT!

INTERNET - Down by the Restaurant they have a PC which charges 50cents for 10 mins. Be aware the computer is very slow and you will need to top up the money!

CORAL BAY - This was recommended to us as the 'best' beach near Paphos. I disagree, it was way too busy, the beautiful golden sand was covered by hundreds of sun loungers tightly packed. Not my idea of a lovely beach, but perfect if all you want to do is lie on a sun lounger with lots of noise around you. We were told there was a local beach in Chloraka....there isn't really a beach as such, it is all rocky and would be quite hard to get into the sea. There is however a tiny little opening further down where you can go in for a quick dip, but that's about it, nowhere to lie in the sun.

AREA - Everything has become more pricey out in Cyprus just like everywhere in Europe, so prepare for the extra costs. We noticed meats especially where very expensive to buy in Restaurants. Also if your not familiar with Cyprus, there is a lot of building works going on everywhere and it can be quite dusty when your walking along the roadsides. The Cypriots all seemed very friendly towards the English.

All in all we had a wonderful relaxing holiday and the St Nicholas is a lovely place to stay if your self catering or plan to hire a car to get around in.

Hope my review has been helpful to you all :)

Room Tip: Try and get a higher apartment so you don't get the bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Angelic2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

There are serious issues with this resort. In particular there is false advertising. The resort is NOT a hotel and definitely not a 4 star "hotel" either.The homes/apartments are privately owned and then rent out to tourists. According to a Cyprus Tourism Organisation Official this is illegal as the complex does not have a hotel licence and such short term tourist rentals are not allowed. Long term renting is allowed.
Many of the facilities advertised were not available. Namely the sauna , indoor swimming pool, shop, and customer lift (in our building) were not open/working. Use of airconditioning required a surplus charge of 6 euros a day, something that was not stated on the advertising page.

The place is seriously understaffed.
The restaurant is run single handed by a lady who understandably gets stressed out when there are too many caustomers, and there is a guy in charge of the day-to day partical problems of the whole complex.
There is a lady manager who was very rude to us when we raised our concerns on arrival and said that we were simply fussy which simply infuriated me. I have to say that she later appologised.

The swimming pools were very nice and suitable for children, however the mosaic-type tiles are coming off and many have cut their feet after stepping onto them, including myself. Needless to say, I didnt bother to complain about this to the manager after the initial insults.

The rooms themesleves were of high standardand nicely decorated. They are cleaned prior to arrival and sheets are not changed and bins are not emptied(unless you stay more than 10 days). You have to take your own rubbish outside to the large disposal bins.
The rest of the people on the resort were simply lovely. They were mostly oweners, or people on long term.

Overall,because we were travelling with friends and we had good company it was a nice holiday however I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Demos45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paphos hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This was the third time we had been here and it seems the problems are all fixed. The pools were clean the restaurant and gym were both open though the shop is closed. This is a beautiful complex in a relaxing environment yet close enough to main tourist spots by a bus ride or a taxi ride, though we hired a car to explore further.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed in a one bed apartment which was of an extremely high standard. The kitchen in particular as it was a fully equipped kitchen as opposed to the 'kitchenette' affair we often end up with. The block we were in had a lift which was useful after a tiring day at the pool.

The complex itself is clean and tidy although some tiles were missing in the pools.

We didn't experience any lighting problems while we were there.

There is a bar and restaurant which is open 7 days a week but closes a tad early at 6pm

St Nicolas is quiet and therefore relaxing without the hustle and bustle of big hotels

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kramster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The apartment was lovely, but the development as a whole is disappointing due to lack of maintenance and upkeep. Maybe come summer things will improve?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravellerfromUK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
1.1 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#40 of 85 in Paphos
1,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments
1.2 mi away
Axiothea Hotel
Axiothea Hotel
#21 of 85 in Paphos
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
2.0 mi away
Club St. George Resort
Club St. George Resort
#67 of 85 in Paphos
405 reviews
6.7 mi away
Club Coral View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicolas Elegant Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Elegant Residence

Property: St. Nicolas Elegant Residence
Address: Chlorakas Avenue, Paphos 8220, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Nicolas Elegant Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Panareti's award winning St Nicolas Elegant Residence Resort offers superior self-catering accommodation of studios, apartments, town houses and 3 bed detached Villas with private pools. Ideally located in Paphos just off the busy Tombs of the Kings tourist area with its many shops bars and restaurants. All accommodation is spacious, fully air conditioned and stylishly furnished. Living rooms have TV and DVD player, the kitchens are fully equipped and accessorised and all accommodation has either a spacious balcony or terrace. All town houses are 2-storey villas.Alpha Panareti,s St Nicolas resort facilities include 4 lagoon-style pools with waterfall features, tennis court, children’s playground, home cinema room, and a restaurant/bar overlooking the pool. It also has its own health club with heated indoor pool, gym, hot tub, sauna and massage rooms. Bicycle hire is also available. Free WiFi and Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Nicolas Elegant Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Nicolas Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing