We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely stylish and modern but lacks atmosphere!”

Imperial Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 542 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Since the Imperial Chinese Restaurant made its debut in 2000, it has become, quite simply, the standard by which all other Paphos Chinese cuisine is judged.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Extremely stylish and modern but lacks atmosphere!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just visited this restaurant whilst in Paphos for the evening, on first appearance it has amazing kerb appeal and looks very stylish and cool and this is what attracted us in. It was a nice warm evening so we opted to sit outside on the balcony area. We were greeted by the waiter who took our drinks order (no draught beers of large bottles just small bottles and large prices). We then ordered our food which came out very promptly, but the main problem with the food is that all the separate dishes we not put onto food warmers and so went cold very quickly in the evening air. When I asked for food warmers they didn't seen to understand what our issue was? Although on the inside area of the restaurant all the other diners had food warmers. When I asked again to another waiter he just said that they are for inside only and we asked to sit outside....??? As for the food it was OK but nothing special but the main issue is that the place lacks any sort of atmosphere whatsoever, the waiters lack any sort of spark and there is not even any background music or anything. In summary too many frills and no substance, won't be returning!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    134
    51
    41
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stylish and cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A great looking, stylish, and reasonably priced chinese restaurant. Lots of stairs up to restaurant. Unfortunately our evening was spoilt by some diners allowing their children to run wild amongst other diners. Standard chinese type food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roydon, Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chinese & Thai Food & Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our first visit was 18th July 2014. Restaurant had been recommended by other guests staying at the Annabelle Hotel. The restaurant has great decor and is very clean. We ordered Chinese. They don't do a sharing platter for starters (which we recommend they do) but agreed to do smaller portions of prawn toasts, honey Ribs & spring rolls. Then we had duck/pancakes followed by Beef in Black Bean, Sweet/Sour chicken, Rice and Singapore Noodles all of which were fantastic. To accompany this we had 2 lovely bottles of Pinot Grigio. All the staff where extremely friendly and helpful. Having had such a good meal and in Paphos for 2 weeks we returned on the 23rd July and tried the Thai dishes again we were not disappointed and the satay sauce is the best I have ever had.
I would highly recommend this restaurant and if ever back in Paphos would definitely dine there again.

Note to RestaurantRover71- Chop Suey is beanprouts, Chow mein is noodles

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We had a take away twice from the Imperial during our recent stay in Paphos.
The portions are large and very tasty and good value.
The free delivery service is fast.
When we return to Paphos next summer the Imperial is a must

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SlaterFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Least authentic Chinese restaurant EVER !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just experienced the worst excuse for a Chinese restaurant ever. For this restaurant to even try to pass itself off as Chineses is criminal.
The exterior is quite impressive with marble (fake) and glass which gives the impression of quality. Alas no. This place has concentrated on being pleasing on the eye and not the palette.
The place was full however we were shown almost immediately to a table on the outside balcony overlooking the busy through fair.
As we ordered our meal the waiter enthusiastically told us we would soon find out why they were so busy.
The starters of spring rolls and Szechuan spare ribs came very promptly and were fine. After eating spare ribs with a sticky sauce you would normally expect to given a dish of water to clean your fingers. Not here. Small point but important if you are trying to pass yourself off as a quality restaurant.
Next the main courses arrived. Chop Suey in every Chinese restaurant I have every eaten in consists of noodles being one of the main constituent parts of Chop Suey. Not in the Imperial. You need to order noodles to go with your Chop Suey. Now if the waiter had even advised us of this fact we would have realized that they were just ripping us off and we would have ordered the noodles.
My main course of crispy beef arrived. This dish came dry and shrivelled as the desert and without the word of a lie I would not have feed this to a dog! The meat ? was grey and looked like the chew sticks you would feed to a cat or dog. I have attached a photography separately of this abomination as I do not think people could realistically imagine how bad this could be.

Be warned. All that glitters is not gold. A lesson that I have learned to my cost tonight.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RestaurantRover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imperial Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Imperial Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing