We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run restuarant in Paphos”
Review of Melania Restaurant

Melania Restaurant
Ranked #144 of 552 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Melania Restaurant is a family restaurant owned by Kannavias family from the 80s. Situated 600 meters after the “Tombs Of The Kings” on the way to Coral Bay on the write side.Public transport to Melania: Bus from harbor to coral bay beach every 20 minutes. For Melania stop at Ajip petrol station or Ikaria tourist village (both 150m from Melania Restaurant). You can also ask the driver for Melania.What’s going on at the Melania Restaurant?-Meals cooked by the owners Elli and Matthew!-Chips coming from organically homegrown potatoes and vegetables from the garden!-Great moussaka!-LARGE meze - only eat if very hungry!-Fresh meat every day supplied by local market!-Pick grapes straight from the vines in the garden - homegrown grapes produce the village wine served!-Homemade desserts, fresh fruits, plus village yogurt with honey!If you don’t like junk food this is the best place to eat every day!
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent family run restuarant in Paphos”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have been visiting the Melania restaurant for over 13 years and continue to return due to the high quality of the food, all of which is locally sourced, and the warm welcome from Mattheos and family. The moussaka is a particular favourite with my husband. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    26
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Once again another brilliant Taverna right in the middle of the village with excellent and very helpful staff and also great food to go with it do try it you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovely s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant ! lovely freshy food and friendly service”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Once again visited this restaurant who usually closes on a Sunday but opened especially for us as we had just arrived in Cyprus. The family run restaurant is so traditional - all the food is fresh and a lot of it organic as is the local wine. The meze just keeps coming and coming - excellent value for the money. We truly feel we are on holiday with this lovely traditional restaurant - cant wait for next year ! As previous people have mentioned the Moussaka is fabulous - so light and not at all stodgy. Please do try this restaurant, believe me you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pricilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Please make time to try this wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My hubby and I stopped her by chance when on holiday a few weeks ago. We had hired a buggy and were looking for somewhere to stop for lunch. What a find! It's a large restaurant but at 3pm we were the only people in there - but the friendly atmosphere and wonderful welcome was the same had they been packed out. Mattheos (owner) was a lovely guy - so friendly and genuinally pleased you were there. The food was wonderful - I had the tuna salad - a huge affair and so fresh. Hubby had a cheese and mushroom omelette and a side of chips - again a very generous portion. The potatoes are home grown and the chips were scrummy. At the end of the meal we were given a free sweet - a Cyprian dish (the name of which I unfortunately can't remember) and a plate of fresh fruit. Unfortunately we didn't get chance to go back again before our holiday ended but will head straight there next time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We visit melania every year and it never disappoints. It is a lovely family run business and all the food is grown in the fields just outside the restaurant. The food is always lovely and the moussaka is one of the best around!! Matthew and Georgios are always very welcoming and friendly. Would definatley recommend melania for a lovely authentic Cypriot meal under the vines.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank r c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melania Restaurant also viewed

Chlorakas, Paphos District
 
Kato Akourdalia, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Melania Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing