We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Head waiter fantastic"”
Review of Porto Bello

Porto Bello
Ranked #17 of 572 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Me and my gf visited porto bello 5 times this holiday as we had 4 great meals here last year.In my opinion it is the best restaurant in paphos and we've been to all the top ones. We came in June last year and it was not as busy as this year but the service was stil fantastic. A special mention to the head waiter/ manager (not 100% sure what his job role is) but anyone who has visited will know who I mean. We have been to many restaurants and hotels all over the world however he is right up there with the best, he is very welcoming and always takes time to talk to people and make them feel relaxed, he is the heart and soul of the restaurant. He makes a very good restaurant fantastic. Ive been to many restaurants before where the food is brilliant but service is not, this has both and much more.

    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nufctraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 810 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We were seeking an Italian whilst on holiday in Paphos and after reading great reviews decided to try Porto Bellos. From start to finish great friendly service, very nice cocktails and fabulous food. I would go as far as saying it was the best Spaghetti Bolognese I've had and my husband had a prawn dish and also enjoyed it. Although it is a pricey restaurant, if you are after some great flavours with good hospitality this is the place to come.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Wicktilleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Visited this restaurant with friends who had been there before. We were greeted warmly and shown to our reserved table. The decor is pleasing and all looked good for the evening. The restaurant was very busy but the staff did not look stressed - another good sign. The drinks order was brought to the table quickly along with the menus. We all placed our orders and after a relatively short space of time our starters arrived. These were OK - not excellent like some reviewers had said but quite edible. The main course arrived shortly afterwards - so no criticism there. However one of our party ordered the prawns. The menu stated 6 king prawns but he received only 5. When he complained he was told that his prawns were bigger than the ones they normally served. When he said that he wasn't a tourist and lived in Cyprus he was given 2 more prawns!! Others in the party ordered lamb and the menu stated that this would be served with mash potato. This did not arrive. When it was queried, we were told that the kitchen was busy. However after a short while the potato did arrive. I must point out that the main course food was very good. Most did not have dessert but those that did said they were good. After our coffee, we were offered a complimentary drink. The bill was a bit of a shock as it was an expensive meal. A pleasant place nicely furnished, the staff attentive and attractive - both males and female. I would suggest dining early when it is not so busy and then perhaps you would get what the menu states.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto B, Manager at Porto Bello, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

To start with we thank you for your visit but i can't say the same for your criticism. Yes you where right that the menu states that there are (6) prawns on that dish, but in the market to find fresh ingredients isn't that easy so this last week we couldn't find the right size that we used to put so we had bigger prawns instead. But anyway that wasn't your problem you had right.First of all we prepared two more prawns to please you before you even asked for them. During that you asked for the waitress and you demanded to have two more prawns for the "cheat" as you said. You said that you are not British tourists but you live in Cyprus,with that you where trying to say that we treat the Tourists differently. Its not by accident that we have been the best Italian restaurant in TripAdvisor for six years that's because we treat all of our visitors with same equal hospitality and the same way. You also assumed that you ordered the Al'Pacino lamb that its the only lamb dish that comes with mush potatoes and is cooked in peppery sauce but instead you ordered the lamb that comes with mint sauce or garlic sauce and when I approached your table in response to your complain with the food you ordered the Al'Pacino but with mint sauce and that is impossible because it comes only with peppery sauce. You say that you got shocked from the check but this i can not understand as our menus state clearly our prices. You ordered starters, our most expensive main course and deserts. As you say in England you get what you pay for. We thank you and the next time you make a review for another restaurant we would like to politely ask you to be more objective. Manager and staff of Porto Bello. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Porto Bello is one of the best restaurants that we have visited in Paphos.
Lovely food and freshly cooked.
Service is quick but not rushed. Reasonably priced, very welcoming and good local wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iwona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Food was ACE and real Italian. Service was fun and real not false. The owner is a delight to meet and his approach to quality and his hands-on approach is great. Keep it up Porto Bello we will return!

Thank Eddieja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto Bello also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Porto Bello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing