We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only thing I can say is EXCELLENT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's Tavern

Michael's Tavern
Ranked #50 of 537 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A family owned restaurant serving Greek and Cypriot dishes. Telephone +357 26964236
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only thing I can say is EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We visited Pafos this year and went self catering. On the first day we went and ordered the fish meze from Michael's...only to be greated by "good luck"....George was right..the food was amazing and the atmosphere was relaxed, exactly what you want from a holiday in Pafos. The sheer amount of food was stagering, and delicious. Not one serving was even worse than the one before, in fact it only got better! The only thing better than the food was the welcome of the staff (George and Alexandra; I hope I spelt that right) they spent a long time socialising and chatting to the customers which made you feel very welcome, almost one of the family. (we had been there 3 hours!) We had to go unfortunately, as our taxi for our return flight was booked.....7 days there, 3 visits to Michael's.....WELL RECOMENDED!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanAndRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    58
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST RESTAURANT IN PAPHOS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

As if the wonderful food wasn't enough (and we tried most dishes on the menu) the warm, friendly welcome made you feel like you were with an extended family. Me, my husband and daughter visited this restaurant approx 9 nights of our 13 night stay. We tried other restaurants on other nights and at lunchtimes, but nowhere came close to this fantastic find. We all have favourite dishes (although they were all good) we have to mention the Suckling Pig (best my husband ever tasted), Grandmas Stuffed Chicken (I would love the recipe), Kleftiko (Yummy), and the Meze which seemed to include all their other dishes. The other thing about this welcoming restaurant is even when we had finished our meal, we felt we could stay all night chatting with Demetri, Giorgi, Alexandra and of course Mum and Dad. So thank you, and you will definately see us again when we return to Paphos, Nikki, Michael, & Jessica :-)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic food, warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I was over in Pathos in July visiting friends and went for a meal at Michaels, right away we felt extremely welcome by a friendly atmosphere. I had one of the chefs specials and it was fantastic really nice fresh food and the best meal I had all week and would recommend anyone else who is over there to go and try it out thank you for a great night,

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank speimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overated and dissappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Party of 5 adults and 1 child visited on 4th Aug. All adults in the party went for the Meze. It seemed that the staff were in a race against time to serve the courses as quickly as possible. As a previous reviewer commented, The quality of cooking deterioted as each dish was served. The final dishes of lamb cutlets and chicken were overcooked and dry.

Upon receiving the bill all adults in the party received a complimentary drink. Unfortunately the child did not, leaving him to ask questions and you could clearly see the dissappointment in his eyes!

There so many better places to eat in Paphos

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WFCsupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a family run business and has been going for may years. We have been coming to Paphos for 15 years and has spent many an evening at Michael's Taverna.
Michael has now retired or does not work quite as hard and Demetri and his brother are looking after the customers very well.
We went home on Wednesday 3rd Aug but our friends are still there and spent a Birthday at the restaurant this evening with one of the famous Meze, try it .
I had the Sea Bass caught that day it was beautiful, try the traditional dishes as they are superb.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rileyposse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Tavern also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos District, Cyprus
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Michael's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing