We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”
Review of Aliceland

Aliceland
Ranked #255 of 548 Restaurants in Paphos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We visited for an afternoon drink only. I have eaten there quite a few years ago and the food was good then.

The view from the patio is beautiful looking straight out to sea.
Prices are average and the coffee and tea very acceptable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cypriotpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steer Clear”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I was glad to read the review which said the earlier reviews were misleading. We totally agree. Having just got back from lunch there with a group of about 15 people we can honestly say that we have eaten one of the worst meals we have had in Pafos. We have lived here for 12 years and came on holiday for 2 years before that so we have experienced a lot of restaurant food. We drive past Aliceland quite often although had never visited until today. Whenever we pass, we are surprised at how few, if any, customers there are. Now the mystery is solved. The food and
drink are very expensive but the food quality is awful. I had kalamari which was quite tough and I thought it had probably been cooked earlier and re-heated. It came without a slice of lemon but with chips which were dripping in oil. My wife had asked for baked/jacket potato which she wanted with three dips shown on the menu. Initially she was told that she could only have boiled potatoes but was then advised that the cook could bake a potato. She was given two potatoes, a medium sized one which was so shrivelled as to be inedible and a bigger one which was hard. She got one dip of tzatziki and it was the worst dip she had ever had.
I had a Cyprus coffee which is always served with a glass of water. Not this time. it cost 2 euros whereas the maximum price I have ever seen is 1 euro and I had too ask for the water, which was warm. Had I wanted a cappuccino, that would have cost me the incredible price of 6.95 euros, usually about 3 euros even at the front in Pafos. As for the service, the woman who we think is the owner was chatty but seemed surprised when a table of 15 people expected more than 1 bottle of mayonnaise between them. A few in the party were late but she insisted on putting their meals down at empty seats saying that she had been told we would be there between 12-15 and 12-30.This comment was made at 1234. All in all, not a good eating experience

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We first discovered AliceLand back in 1996 when we stayed in the apartments directly opposite. We have been going back to paphos for many years and always head out on the bus to visit Vaso and her mum.
The Menu isn't big but you'll always find something on there you'd like. The owners make you very welcome and are happy to chat. They don't rush you and you could sit there for hours admiring the views.
If you want a relaxing meal and don't have to rush away for anything..head out to Aliceland

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishsuzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food at the Right Price”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have visited Cyprus many times over the last 30 years & whenever we stay in the Paphos area we visit Aliceland. This family run Greek restaurant serves traditional & English food, they don't pretend to be a gourmet restaurant but they provide good value well cooked fresh food. They welcome you, are happy to chat with you, provide. A fabulous sunset view & if you're lucky, you leave with the present of a bag of fresh oranges picked from their own trees

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NellBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales. U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Chips and Egg !”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

After handing our hire car back, my wife and I stopped off at the Aliceland restaurant. Purely by chance we selected the egg and chips from the menu. We had not read any reviews of the restaurant.

We both agreed that they were the best egg and chips we had ever experienced.

On complimenting Alice on both the quality of the chips and the eggs, she told us that the eggs has come from her own hens 2 hours earlier.

Forget the sea view, or the new buildings going up in the area, sit on the terrace and treat yourselves to a "Shirley Valentine Chips and Egg" meal you will never forget!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gillanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aliceland also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Aliceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing