We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing & Poor - Not recommended”
Review of Laura Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laura Beach Hotel
Ranked #36 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Fremington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing & Poor - Not recommended”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This hotel is definitely not a 4 Star as described by their own brochures and the tour operators. We stayed for 14 nights and like some of the other reviews I would say that this hotel is in a very poor state of repair. The rooms are the worst and are in desperate need of updating. A very small bathroom consisted of a stained toilet seat, dirty grouting, rust on the ceiling and tiles which were dating back to the 60s! Carpets in the hallways are filthy and stained. Cleanliness of the rooms did depend on the maid if she was Cypriot then it was spotless, but most of the staff are of eastern european origin and they did not care, therefore most days the floor was cleaned with a diry mop. Food was good although the restaurant did not open for dinner until 7pm which is rather late when you have little ones. Most of the other hotels start dinner at 6pm which would have been much better.

The entertainment in the hotel was very poor and sometimes non-existent. We were tired of the same old routine in the evening, there was no caberet or local entertainment which is unacceptable. The pool bar at the top pool was never opened so if you were sat there and needed a drink you had to walk down to the bottom pool or go into the hotel's Nero's Bar in the Reception Area which if you're wet you wouldn't do!

One of the worst aspects was the invasion of Russians in the hotel, there were hardly any English visitors and the Russians were rude, arrogant and never waited their turn in the restaurants when obtaining their meals, they pushed, shoved and intimidated others.

We were more than ready to leave and would never go to this hotel again - I know you get what you pay for but I would expect clean, working standard equipment and would not expect to have to clean the floors myself when on holiday and have no decent entertainment.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior or a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue110571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    347
    199
    82
    52
See reviews for
720
249
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The location is excellent, local buses regular and cheap. Golf driving range walkable.
All inclusive was ok but only lasted 2 days before breaking out for variety in nearby restaurants. A little bit busy in the self service restaurant but carvery most nights, its just lacking lots in atmosphere, intimacy and is very much a school dinner type experience.
The entertainment grates after a few nights especially the reading of quiz questions in 10 different languages. Large Russian attendance

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prince0ffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

this hotel is a litttle bit outside paphos but is only a 5 minnute ride on bus to center which is only a £1 each the food and managment are top quality and they cant do enough for you . the pool side bar is top you can sit in the pool and have a drink.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We paid what I would consider to be top prices for our 12 night all inclusive stay so expected 4 star facilities. In the taxi transfer to the hotel the taxi driver remarked that it was a 3 star hotel and not 4 star as advertised so alarm bells started to ring, however the reception area was large, grand and very nice so was a little less concerened, however this all changed when we were shown to our rooms and to say we were dissapointed would be an understatement. We were on the first floor at the end of a fairly long, tired looking corridor. The rooms were standard sea view, however not to what I would class as 4 star quality. The bedroom fixtures and fittings were failrly old and battered, the bath room was in need of a refit or at least a re-tile as the grouting was black with mould in quite a few places. We complained and were given the opportunity to upgrade to studio rooms at the cost of 15 euro per night. Considering we had already paid £1600 we did not feel that paying another 180 euros would be worth it, they did move us to new rooms the next day and although they were almost identical, they were a little less battered and the bathrooms had been re-tiled at some point so at least there was no mould!
The remainder of the hotel was fine but the impression we got throughout our stay is that this must have been a very worthy 4 star hotel when it opened but is now in need of refurbing and modernising in places.
The food was fine, very good and poor all at the same time. The breakfast never changed and was the same selection every day, the other meals were pretty much a variation on a theme. The main complaint was that nothing ever seemed that hot and was luke warm and sometimes cold no matter what time you went to dine.
The day time snacks on offer were basically fries, bread, ham and cheese along with either fish fingers, pizza, crab claw things and pasta. In the evening it was mainly left overs from the evening meal.
The hotel facilities were adequate, two decent sized pool areas, although it was quiet when we stayed so could imagine it getting quite cramped and busy during peak season.
There is a private beach area too but it is fairly small for a hotel of this size.
The staff were on the whole friendly and accomodating, some were very friendly and others were polite but didn't make much of an effort to even attempt a smile at times.
The hotel is located between Paphos & Coral Bay and is about 5km from both, there are one or two restaurants and supermarkets in the vicinity but that is it so if you are not all inclusive finding close by eating and drinking establishments would be limited with little other things to see or do.The local bus service is easy enough and runs every 20 - 30 min in both directions so easy enough to hop on to go into Paphos it's self or in to Coral Bay for a change in scienery.
All in all the holiday was good but not worth the £1600 we paid so we left feeling a little dissapinted.
I would consider going back again but only if the price was much more in line with a 3 star rated hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xvikingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

15 of us stayed at the Laura Beach for a family wedding last summer, the best hotel I have ever stayed in. It was spotless, decorated and maintained to a very high standard with all communal areas spacious and grand in theme.

I can only presume some of the reviews on here are about another hotel, but the Cyprotel Laura Beach hotel, Paphos is amazing- I will be booking my next stay this evening,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davey1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Unfortunately I cannot say much positive on our holiday at the Laura. I had read the reviews before flying and I was slightly worried, but never realised how bad the situation was.

The hotel feels very old, looks really like a seventies hotel, and has a smell and look that is not very pleasant.

The worst problem was with the bedrooms. Apparently only about a douzen of rooms have been ever renovated in the last 20 years, and even those we found out, not renovated completely.

We were unlucky to be given one of the majority of the old rooms in the beginning. Disgusting carpet and things around the bedroom and bathroom kept breaking constantly e.g. the lampshade, the toliet flash handle, the shower stand. They always fixed them but really it was not fun to be calling and wating for them to fix ....almost constantly. A bit of a joke to see everything falling apart but it was not fun that they tried to charge us for some damages when we were leaving.

Although we ended up getting a different room, the wiring of the 'new room' was damaged (looked probably eaten by a rat really) and the tv kept switching off. The chair was very wobbly and it smelt of dump and humidity. The smell was so bad that even with the balcony door to the balcon always left open, it was still there.

The pipes were also very noisy at times during the night. The food quite dated and uninspiring but not that bad.... but again a lot of the serving equipment did not look very clean.

The whole stay was a little depressing and extremely disappointing. If I had our children with us, I would be worried of the half eaten wires in the room and the comments I heard from one of the waiters that there was 'an issue' with hygene and safety with the local authorities (not sure what it was, but was shrugged off)

It feels that noone has tried to fix anything for many, many years in the Laura. Many things are added on to existing equipment and facilities on the spot where and when necessary and not very professionally.

A real pity really as it has quite a lot of nice areas for lounging around the pool and outdoors and the location has some nice views and lovely walks.

This is supposed to be 4 stars but a 2 star rating would really be more fair I am afraid.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylv-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Maybe not the very best hotel but absolutely not the worst!!!
Some people want to pay good value prices & receive top class quality ~ get a grip ~ if u pay for a good quality, reliable and very pleasant family saloon u get one! If u want a ferrari buy one!!!!!
This hotel has seen better days in part but it is well positioned, well run, has great facilities, great food & very pleasant & helpful staff ~ which overall gave us another holiday ~ if you are unsure & want brand new modern & absolutely top notch accom, michelin star food & luxury beyond bounds go somewhete else & pay for it!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrissyGLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
1.2 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#13 of 88 in Paphos
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#1 of 2 in Chlorakas
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#45 of 88 in Paphos
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George Gardens Hotel Suites
1.3 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Beach Hotel

Property: Laura Beach Hotel
Address: Chlorakas Ave, Paphos 8220, Cyprus (Formerly Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel)
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Paphos
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#19 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#24 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#34 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of the Laura Beach Hotel, an oasis of tranquility and relaxation on the South coast of Cyprus, in Paphos. The Hotel is situated on the sea front of Paphos, a few kilometers from Paphos city center and is privileged to share close proximity to the finest locations and treasures of the island such as the famous Tombs of the Kings, an Ancient Archaeological Heritage site. The Laura Beach Hotel is one of the few Paphos hotels with a west-facing outlook that provides guests with a sublime view of blazing indescribable sunsets. Amongst several other Paphos Hotels, Laura Beach Hotel in Paphos, is a leading Hotel which can meet the needs of all travelers--families, couples and business people. During the winter period 12/13 the hotel has gone through major renovations in the public areas and guests' rooms and the latest addition of 2014 our full size splash water park which is one of the biggest water park situated within a hotel's ground. Moreover, all restaurants and bars have been renovated giving them a modern look with frameless windows for the amazing views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookcyprus.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Laura Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyprotel Laura Beach Paphos
Laura Beach Hotel Paphos
Hotel Cyprotel Laura Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing