We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average... needs some improvements to really stand out!”
Review of Laura Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laura Beach Hotel
Ranked #40 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2011

So me and my family and a few friends stayed at the hotel for a friend's wedding. When walking into the hotel the reception/lobby is beautifully designed and very nicely laid out, welcoming furniture and tables to wait while checking in if there is a cue and also nice to have a drink in. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful as well as all the staff around the hotel.

The room itself and the corridors leading up to the room were not as great as the lobby area. The room didn't have much space and was very cramped. We stayed in our room with two adults & two children. The double bed took up most the space of the room and it was a bit of a squeeze for all four of us once we had unpacked. Speaking of which, there isn't many storage facilities. The air conditioning facility works brilliantly and is very handy for getting the room nice and cool for when you come back from the pool. The balcony was a nice little addition to the room overlooking the Ocean. The bathroom facilities were very good, average bath with a very good power shower and obviously a sink and a toilet. Only bad thing being the bathroom was not a big friend of space. The main fault I personally found with the room is the floor becomes very hazardous when it has even the tiniest piece of water on it and the children found it very easy to end up on their backsides!

The pool facilities were good with dedicated staff to make sure the areas were clean in the morning and to make sure the pool had been checked before it was opened. As well as this, the entertainment program for the day was very good and it varied a lot. Things like Aqua Aerobics, Water Polo, Table Tennis, Darts & Shuffle Board were included in the entertainment and these were ran by very friendly staff. The kids club was also good for the kids but it could do with a little refurbishing and maybe some new ideas to really let the kids have a fun time.

The food was very nice and it was a fine cuisine each night with a very good choice of food including a kid's menu.

The health club which has the gym was very good with many up to facilities however the amusement center does need some serious attention.

The hotel overall was nice to stay at but little things could be done to really make it stand out, I would say the best thing about the hotel is the staff who always seem happy to help and the worse thing was the quality of the amusement center with the arcade games in and the pool tables.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graaannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

Having just returned, literally from this hotel, I felt I had to voice an opinion in favour of the hotel after some of the reviews I have read.

Yes parts of the hotel are tried and in need of an update, yes the bunk beds looked something out of Cell Block H, but the children slept all night every night and that was good enough for me.

They said they were comfy!!

The coridors again were a bit bland and grubby looking, but when do you spend time in the corridor, lol.

However, the staff, service, pool area and food were exceptional. I did feel what we paid was a touch on the steep side, but it was half term and the children were well catered for in food and entertainment. 2 kids clubs per day and a kids disco.

The food was good, not sure what other people expect, but breakfast, (then snacks) lunch (then snacks) dinner (then snack again!!) Loads of choice, hot and tasty. No delli belly experienced by any of us.

The swim up bar was closed :-(((, but the bar at the bottom pool was in full swing and this is where most of the entertainment goes on as well. Drinks were not watered down, as stated by previous reviews and plentiful.

Would I go again, in the school holidays and with the children..... YES!!!!

However if you are a couple and want to relax, without kids under your feet or maybe a touch on the older side, maybe not for you.

All in all, a good holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room, much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim580414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This hotel is definitely not a 4 Star as described by their own brochures and the tour operators. We stayed for 14 nights and like some of the other reviews I would say that this hotel is in a very poor state of repair. The rooms are the worst and are in desperate need of updating. A very small bathroom consisted of a stained toilet seat, dirty grouting, rust on the ceiling and tiles which were dating back to the 60s! Carpets in the hallways are filthy and stained. Cleanliness of the rooms did depend on the maid if she was Cypriot then it was spotless, but most of the staff are of eastern european origin and they did not care, therefore most days the floor was cleaned with a diry mop. Food was good although the restaurant did not open for dinner until 7pm which is rather late when you have little ones. Most of the other hotels start dinner at 6pm which would have been much better.

The entertainment in the hotel was very poor and sometimes non-existent. We were tired of the same old routine in the evening, there was no caberet or local entertainment which is unacceptable. The pool bar at the top pool was never opened so if you were sat there and needed a drink you had to walk down to the bottom pool or go into the hotel's Nero's Bar in the Reception Area which if you're wet you wouldn't do!

One of the worst aspects was the invasion of Russians in the hotel, there were hardly any English visitors and the Russians were rude, arrogant and never waited their turn in the restaurants when obtaining their meals, they pushed, shoved and intimidated others.

We were more than ready to leave and would never go to this hotel again - I know you get what you pay for but I would expect clean, working standard equipment and would not expect to have to clean the floors myself when on holiday and have no decent entertainment.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior or a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue110571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The location is excellent, local buses regular and cheap. Golf driving range walkable.
All inclusive was ok but only lasted 2 days before breaking out for variety in nearby restaurants. A little bit busy in the self service restaurant but carvery most nights, its just lacking lots in atmosphere, intimacy and is very much a school dinner type experience.
The entertainment grates after a few nights especially the reading of quiz questions in 10 different languages. Large Russian attendance

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prince0ffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

this hotel is a litttle bit outside paphos but is only a 5 minnute ride on bus to center which is only a £1 each the food and managment are top quality and they cant do enough for you . the pool side bar is top you can sit in the pool and have a drink.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We paid what I would consider to be top prices for our 12 night all inclusive stay so expected 4 star facilities. In the taxi transfer to the hotel the taxi driver remarked that it was a 3 star hotel and not 4 star as advertised so alarm bells started to ring, however the reception area was large, grand and very nice so was a little less concerened, however this all changed when we were shown to our rooms and to say we were dissapointed would be an understatement. We were on the first floor at the end of a fairly long, tired looking corridor. The rooms were standard sea view, however not to what I would class as 4 star quality. The bedroom fixtures and fittings were failrly old and battered, the bath room was in need of a refit or at least a re-tile as the grouting was black with mould in quite a few places. We complained and were given the opportunity to upgrade to studio rooms at the cost of 15 euro per night. Considering we had already paid £1600 we did not feel that paying another 180 euros would be worth it, they did move us to new rooms the next day and although they were almost identical, they were a little less battered and the bathrooms had been re-tiled at some point so at least there was no mould!
The remainder of the hotel was fine but the impression we got throughout our stay is that this must have been a very worthy 4 star hotel when it opened but is now in need of refurbing and modernising in places.
The food was fine, very good and poor all at the same time. The breakfast never changed and was the same selection every day, the other meals were pretty much a variation on a theme. The main complaint was that nothing ever seemed that hot and was luke warm and sometimes cold no matter what time you went to dine.
The day time snacks on offer were basically fries, bread, ham and cheese along with either fish fingers, pizza, crab claw things and pasta. In the evening it was mainly left overs from the evening meal.
The hotel facilities were adequate, two decent sized pool areas, although it was quiet when we stayed so could imagine it getting quite cramped and busy during peak season.
There is a private beach area too but it is fairly small for a hotel of this size.
The staff were on the whole friendly and accomodating, some were very friendly and others were polite but didn't make much of an effort to even attempt a smile at times.
The hotel is located between Paphos & Coral Bay and is about 5km from both, there are one or two restaurants and supermarkets in the vicinity but that is it so if you are not all inclusive finding close by eating and drinking establishments would be limited with little other things to see or do.The local bus service is easy enough and runs every 20 - 30 min in both directions so easy enough to hop on to go into Paphos it's self or in to Coral Bay for a change in scienery.
All in all the holiday was good but not worth the £1600 we paid so we left feeling a little dissapinted.
I would consider going back again but only if the price was much more in line with a 3 star rated hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xvikingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

15 of us stayed at the Laura Beach for a family wedding last summer, the best hotel I have ever stayed in. It was spotless, decorated and maintained to a very high standard with all communal areas spacious and grand in theme.

I can only presume some of the reviews on here are about another hotel, but the Cyprotel Laura Beach hotel, Paphos is amazing- I will be booking my next stay this evening,

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davey1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
1.2 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#28 of 85 in Paphos
754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#1 of 2 in Chlorakas
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George Gardens Hotel Suites
1.3 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
992 reviews
1.5 mi away
Queen's Bay Hotel
Queen's Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kissonerga
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Beach Hotel

Address: Chlorakas Ave, Paphos 8220, Cyprus (Formerly Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel)
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Paphos
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#22 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#25 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#33 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £93 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of the Laura Beach Hotel, an oasis of tranquility and relaxation on the South coast of Cyprus, in Paphos. The Hotel is situated on the sea front of Paphos, a few kilometers from Paphos city center and is privileged to share close proximity to the finest locations and treasures of the island such as the famous Tombs of the Kings, an Ancient Archaeological Heritage site. The Laura Beach Hotel is one of the few Paphos hotels with a west-facing outlook that provides guests with a sublime view of blazing indescribable sunsets. Amongst several other Paphos Hotels, Laura Beach Hotel in Paphos, is a leading Hotel which can meet the needs of all travelers--families, couples and business people. During the winter period 12/13 the hotel has gone through major renovations in the public areas and guests' rooms and the latest addition of 2014 our full size splash water park which is one of the biggest water park situated within a hotel's ground. Moreover, all restaurants and bars have been renovated giving them a modern look with frameless windows for the amazing views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookcyprus.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotelopia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Laura Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyprotel Laura Beach Paphos
Laura Beach Hotel Paphos
Hotel Cyprotel Laura Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing