We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on what kind of holiday you are looking for.”
Review of Laura Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laura Beach Hotel
Ranked #36 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Depends on what kind of holiday you are looking for.”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in July 2011. It was myself with my hubby, daughters 14 years and 22 and daughters partner 23 years.

We stayed in this hotel approximately 10 years ago and were regular visits for 3 concurrent years.

We had some very happy memories at this hotel in the past and still really enjoyed out stay, however, if you are going for good entertainment, you will not find it here. The entertainment for the younger children was very good and had them dancing and singing, however the adult entertainment started very late and was not the best.

The food was very samey in the daytime and in the evening, the adults seemed to eat the childrens choices more. But might have been better outside of our two weeks as they were experiencing power problems following the explosion.

We therefore gave them them benefit of the doubt.

The staff are really helpful and given the problems the hotel were experiencing with power cuts it must have been very challenging.

Someone stole our camera off our poolside chairs whilst we had a dip, but it was our fault for not zipping the bag properly. Not everyone is as honest as ourselves.

I am not wanting to bad mouth this hotel too much as once it has been renovated and back to its former glory, I am sure it will be fantastic. Ideal location for travel and the travel reps very helpful.

It was a cheap holiday and for the price it is not too bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet_Searson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    347
    199
    82
    52
See reviews for
720
249
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I had read previous reviews and was dreading our stay, but it was not as bad as I had thought.

Bad points - the hotel is being closed at the end of October and they are spending 3 million euros revamping it, so it was looking tired in places - carpets needed renewing, the lifts were old and shaky, the curtains needed a wash in the corridors, tiles in the bathroom needed replacing. The room was ok, but was cleaned with a dirty mop which you could smell when you walked in after the cleaner had finished. The aircon was very noisy. When we first arrived the lady on reception was not welcoming at all, not even a smile or a greeting. There were loads of Russians there, who are the most rudest, ignorant people I have met. Someone said the hotel was owned by Russians. The entertainment was awful at night, there was bingo in 5 different languages so it took forever . There were hardly any street lights by the hotel so we got the bus into Pathos and Coral Bay a couple of times (dont go on the mini golf in Coral Bay - it was in an awful state of repair). I am glad we didnt have a bungalow that led out to the pool as there was no privacy. We went half board and they charged 2 euros for a small glass of "juice" in the restaurant which was ridiculous. We ended up buying drinks from the bar and taking them in with us.

On the plus side the porter was fantastic, worked very hard and very informative. The bus stops were close to the hotel, you could get a day ticket for 2 euros. There were plenty of sun loungers round the pools. We found there was plenty of choice of food. The room was satisfactory, in need of updating, but someone told us that it was one of the original hotels along there and was about 25 years old.The main pool was lovely and big and kept clean, the smaller pool was used mainly by children.

Look out for the cute kitten on his own in the area behind where the animation team's sound system is.

All in all we did enjoy the stay and would like to go back once it is refurbished.

Room Tip: Try to get in the main hotel and not in a bungalow by the pool unless you want everyone looking into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

we arrived at the hotel on 31st august 23-50 not a good response no food for us. If it had not been for Arther the porter who went and got us a roll and cheese we would have gone to bed tierd and hungry (THANKS ARTHER) We went to our room on the top floor only to find we were below the genorator for the building. My partner went to complain he was told "we will make a note of this and move you tomorrow" we went down next morning and we had to complain again. We were given a room over the car park (EVEN WORSE) when we were leaving on the14th Sep we asked for a room to get changed in our flight was 11-10pm there was none available.My partner and myself paid £2,300 fully inclusive for our holiday Rating we would give this hotel1 will not be going there again Chris and Roy Blackpool

Room Tip: don,t go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northamtonshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

staff at reception just going through the motions
bar staff in neros only liza nice
outside bar staff great
kids entertainment needs to be kept in seperate area altogether
restaurant more like joes cafe down the road
food ok first couple days standard then fell to all time lows went out to eat instead
room size more like a 2 star
bed and mattress if there was a dump outside that is where it should have been
swimming pool algea all around the pool island
there was never any deep cleans of swimming pool area
so therefore flys pain in **** and army's of ants everywhere
entertainment i think there budget was 0 euros per night
will never be back but got a good tan

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My friend and I have just returned from a week at the Laura Beach. We arrived and the reception area seemed OK. The reception staff were on auto pilot and didn't even offer for someone to take our bags to the room. So we took them ourselves in the lift. When the lift opened into the general corridor, we were shocked! It was something out of the sixties! Yellow walls and wooden doors - it actually looked to us like a prison block! We got to the room which was OK but had damp patches and not of the cleanliness level you would expect of a 4* hotel and again the wooden doors and wardrobes. We were really disappointed and angry. We decided to explore and went down to the outside bar area around 6pm. We were told the outside bar didn't open until later so had to walk inside to take a drink outside to sit in the sun. We asked for a beer and were given pints - despite being ladies - and not even asked if we wanted a small or large beer! The evening went from bad to worse! The restaurant area is right by the side of the kids club, which starts at 7.30pm and goes on until 9pm. Just what you want for a relaxing meal. This is then followed at 9.15pm by bingo, then there is entertainment at 10pm. This happens every night except Tuesdays! There is also the kids club, aerobics etc round the pool everyday except Tuesdays so again not a relaxing place to be.

The all inclusive food is poor and monotonous. You get the next day for lunch what was on for the previous day's evening meal with a slight adaptation!

The quality of the all inclusive drinks are again very poor. The bar staff in the inside bar are not at all friendly.

This hotel is at best a 3* hotel if that and certainly not a relaxing break because of the noise of kids club, activities etc that are not kept away from the main areas.

The beach is a small strip of sand and the current is very dangerous here so not at all suitable for bathing.

All in all, a very disappointing experience when you have saved up all year and paid extra for a 4* experience.

Don't go!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idisrealpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have been to this area since 1985 as my father lives in chloraka and have stayed in numerous hotels up and down tomb of the kings road and coral bay and further on than the port such as venus beach,st georges,alvida,horizon,alex the great,and i can say honestly t hat laura beach is one of ,if not best hotels in this area,for cleanliness,friendliness and meals choice and price that we have come across when i think of the money we have spent over the last 26yrs here in cyprus i wish i had i listened to my old man when he used you to say you should stay at the laura beach but i instead followed reveiws on websites and now am eating humble pie,its being done up over winter 2011 in readiness for 2012 season i will be there so should you!!

Room Tip: 2078 overlooking lagoon pool and straight veiw to sea and gardens great for couple bit tight for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avgorou
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed for 2 nights really enjoyed our stay. The entertainment was good. Food excellent the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel shop was very reasonably priced and well stocked not the usual hotel shop where everything is overpriced. The hotel was a bit dated but it is being refurbished in time for the 2012 season. We will defininately be going back next year. There is plenty of entertainment for families throughout the day. Didnt use the spa so cannot comment on it. I dont have small children so cannot really give a genuine view of the activities.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaraAvgorou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
1.2 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#13 of 88 in Paphos
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#1 of 2 in Chlorakas
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#45 of 88 in Paphos
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. George Gardens Hotel Suites
1.3 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Beach Hotel

Property: Laura Beach Hotel
Address: Chlorakas Ave, Paphos 8220, Cyprus (Formerly Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel)
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Paphos
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#19 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#24 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#34 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of the Laura Beach Hotel, an oasis of tranquility and relaxation on the South coast of Cyprus, in Paphos. The Hotel is situated on the sea front of Paphos, a few kilometers from Paphos city center and is privileged to share close proximity to the finest locations and treasures of the island such as the famous Tombs of the Kings, an Ancient Archaeological Heritage site. The Laura Beach Hotel is one of the few Paphos hotels with a west-facing outlook that provides guests with a sublime view of blazing indescribable sunsets. Amongst several other Paphos Hotels, Laura Beach Hotel in Paphos, is a leading Hotel which can meet the needs of all travelers--families, couples and business people. During the winter period 12/13 the hotel has gone through major renovations in the public areas and guests' rooms and the latest addition of 2014 our full size splash water park which is one of the biggest water park situated within a hotel's ground. Moreover, all restaurants and bars have been renovated giving them a modern look with frameless windows for the amazing views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookcyprus.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laura Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyprotel Laura Beach Paphos
Laura Beach Hotel Paphos
Hotel Cyprotel Laura Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing