We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing 3*”
Review of Laura Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laura Beach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing 3*”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Disappointing 3*
Just returned on 21st August 2013 from a 10 night family holiday (Ages 42, 39, 9, 7) at the Laura Beach Hotel.
Let’s begin with the positives, nice pools, especially great for the children played in them all day long, warmest outdoor pool ever. New kids splash area was fantastic.
Pool attendants cleaned everyday but inconsiderate people who smoke leave nub ends everywhere which young children love picking up. Glad ours are past that stage.
Poolside bar staff very friendly made you feel welcome.
The bedroom was clean but very basic; children’s room was white washed with no pictures or furniture just 2 steel framed beds, like army camp.
Sea views are stunning.
Our son is a very fussy eater, like’s fish fingers, pizza and fresh fruit, and after speaking to the Assistant Manager who was very accommodating providing this for us every night.
Now the negatives. Ants everywhere, I have never seen so many ants, ants and more ants.
We booked and paid for a Executive Family Garden View Suite with corner Jacuzzi bath, our kids were so excited to get a Jacuzzi bath every night, I even telephoned to confirm this room and was the correct one we were booking but upon arrival was told this wasn’t available and got stuck on the second floor in another room which they called a luxury suite. Believe me there is nothing luxury about the whole hotel never mind our room. Upon hearing the nightmare stories about the rooms on floor one, we were lucky we got what we received.
This hotel is never a 4*, 3* at best, there is no greeter at the restaurant, you have to seat yourself and the majority of the time clean and lay the table’s yourself. Dress code is really casual men in shorts every evening and women straight from pool into dinner, was like being at a holiday camp.
The drinks are of a very poor quality, and the food is cheap and repetitive, if you are used to 4* you are going to be disappointed.
Every member of staff other than the poolside bar is miserable.
They charge for certain children’s drinks, milkshakes and bottles of water. The internet is 30 Euros per week and the quality is poor unless you sit in reception. You have to pay for the fridge and safe.
The hallways on floor 2 leading to the rooms are filthy, never hovered the whole of our stay.
You can only get BBC world news in English.
What little entertainment we saw was very poor and on a shoe string budget, I understand there was an animation team in the day but never saw anyone during our stay.
After all the comments I have read about other nationalities, there was a good mix and all with good and bad points no different to us Brits.
Overall a good rest was had as the weather was fantastic and the pool was lovely, but everything else was a disappointment.
Certainly wouldn’t recommend or return unless great efforts were made to improve the standards.

Room Tip: Recommend Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Laura Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
It is a privilege when our customers dedicate some of their time to inform us about various incidents regarding positive or negative experiences during their accommodation with Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts.

We will make sure that your comments will be examined and also any areas that are in need of improvement will be improved.

We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.


Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    364
    209
    88
    54
See reviews for
773
252
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home from this hotel after two very disappointing weeks with my husband,son,daughter-in-law and granddaughter.The first rooms allocated to us were awful to say the least they looked very tired and worn,holes in the wall,scuffed doors,yellow stained toilet,dirty tiled bathroom where tiles had no grouting,couldn't even open the door it was so small,the room had a communal balcony and when we asked to be moved they tried to charge us a supplement !! Food was repetitive,meat balls 4 times in our first 6 days,beef you could sole your shoes with,children's menu was the same food day in,day out no good at all for babies they didn't even have a microwave for you to warm milk or baby food which was purchased from the supermarket,if you wanted water you had to pay for,when you think how hot it is there surely it should be on the all inclusive,wi-fi 30 euros per week we were led to believe it was free.no al a carte restraunt ,no use of indoor pool,half measures of drinks which by the way you are only allowed 2 per person at 10 o'clock of evening,ants crawling on the dining tables,cigarette butts all over the pool side area which isn't good when there are small children crawling around,mostly this hotel only caters for Russians or Greek/Cypriots,Russians are so incredibly rude,Russian music in the Ocean Bar all of the time very little music for British,TV is in Russian.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone,definitely not a 4+ more like a 3 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Laura Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
It is sad to read through your response and we feel responsible for the fact that you didn’t get what you were expecting. Since this happened, we will examine what we can do in order not to experience similar incidents again.

We will make sure that your comments will be examined and also any areas that are in need of improvement will be improved.

We would like to thank you for your feedback.

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.


Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Recently returned from 2 amazing weeks at this hotel. Myself, my husband and 2 children ( aged 10 and 12) travelled with 11 of our friends. This was our belated honeymoon so when booking we decided to upgrade our room so we could have a seperate bedroom from the kids, which is what we were told by Thomas Cook we would get. After a 7 hour flight delay we arrived in the early hours of the morning. When shown our room it was nothing like we'd been told. We had been put in one of their Bungalows which are away from the main hotel near the beach.It was lovely but not what we'd been told we would get. We spoke to the duty manager, Nikos, and it became clear that we had got what was on our booking form and that Thomas Cook had missold us!! Nikos was amazing and although he didn't have to he ensured we got the room we had been told we would get. It was amazing and we can't thank him enough for all he did for us.
The hotel itself is Beautiful and very well maintained and all the facilities are excellent. The kids loved the cinema and playroom downstairs. All the staff we met were very friendly. Special mentions to Rita ,Chris,Tatiana and Haque,always up for a chat,and of course Nikos.
The food was good, always plenty of choice and all freshly prepared. Was always a shame to see the amount of waste the Russian visitors left on their tables, especially the Chocolate Pie that I really wanted to try but was all gone!!!!
The swimming pools were always clean and you would often see a little man checking the chlorine levels during the day. Sunbeds plentiful and the views amazing especially at sunset.
We didn't really go in for the entertainment in the evening, prefering to sit at the Ocean Bar. The kids did go and watch the magician which they really enjoyed.
What else can I say about this wonderful hotel other than I would definately go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel0674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Laura Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination. We are committed to customer satisfaction and we are glad that your experiences with us are positive and memorable. We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime you can be updated about our news through our social channels.

We are also pleased to announce, more like excited, that from next year the Cyprotel Laura will have a full scale water park for adults and children alike. The new water park will be part of the TUI Splash world umbrella and along with it we will be upgrading our existing restaurants, adding an a-la-carte restaurant, a new terrace bar and a snack bar for our guests in the water!
We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We've just arrive home from a week at the Laura Beach and are gutted to be home! As many of the other reviews have said we had a slight hiccup on arrival when the 'terrace' we had paid extra for was literally in the car park. However we were moved the next day to a pool view room which was perfect.

The hotel was very family oriented with lots going on for adults and kids all day and evening. We didn't join in but it looked like everyone was enjoying themselves. The entertainment was in English and Russian and at no point did we feel that anything in the hotel was aimed solely towards either.

The hotel is spotless and our cleaner was great, fresh towels every day and even arranged our tooth brushes nicely! We found all the staff to be lovely and pleasant. Especially our porter who made sure we knew the all inclusive drink times! As we couldn't get a late check out they arranged for us to have a courtesy room for half an hour to freshen up before we left.

The food was good but not great. Every night there was soup, a meat dish, pasta dish, fish dish and a chef special aswell as plenty of salad and desserts. There was chicken nuggets and sausages on the kids buffet. Dinner was constantly busy from 7-10 however there is constant fresh food and a large overspill area. We never struggled to get a table and if we stood for more that 2 minutes a member of staff offered us helps to find a table. The only negative from dinner was having to queue for drinks.

Location wise we would have liked it to be slightly more central for night time but that's just us. There are a couple of pubs, restaurants and shops within walking distance and there's a bus stop right outside. The excursions we went on offered transfers so we never had any issues getting places.

Overall we had an amazing stay and would gladly go back tomorrow :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kwota22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Laura Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination. We are committed to customer satisfaction and we are glad that your experiences with us are positive and memorable. We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime you can be updated about our news through our social channels.

We are also pleased to announce, more like excited, that from next year the Cyprotel Laura will have a full scale water park for adults and children alike. The new water park will be part of the TUI Splash world umbrella and along with it we will be upgrading our existing restaurants, adding an a-la-carte restaurant, a new terrace bar and a snack bar for our guests in the water!
We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Recently came back from a weeks holiday. Hotel was nice and friendly staff. A lot of Russian's there which have no manners!! The water park was great for the kids. Food was ok but need to do more of a children's menu. But overall had a great holiday and would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Laura Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing us as your Holiday Destination. We are committed to customer satisfaction and we are glad that your experiences with us are positive and memorable. We hope to see you again soon and in the meantime you can be updated about our news through our social channels.

We are also pleased to announce, more like excited, that from next year the Cyprotel Laura will have a full scale water park for adults and children alike. The new water park will be part of the TUI Splash world umbrella and along with it we will be upgrading our existing restaurants, adding an a-la-carte restaurant, a new terrace bar and a snack bar for our guests in the water!
We would like to thank you for your kind words, and remember that we have hotels in both Cyprus & Greece across multiple cities and islands so we would love to welcome you soon!

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.

Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Fantastic hotel, deco very stylish with a decent gym, shop and spa. Very quiet around the hotel. Two pool areas are great with lots of sunbeds and plenty of space always cleaned. The view is amazing! Reception and bar staff were very efficient, friendly, pleasant and helpful. Location - we were a little disappointed as there was no where to walk in the evening except along the sea front which took all of 15 minutes, best during the day. Paphos centre and harbour is a taxi or bus ride away - don't attempt to walk!

I am really sorry to say that the food was a big disappointment and everyone was always fighting for a table, too crowded (lots were 'reserved') - breakfast was ok except the butter was margarine, lunch was downstairs in what resembled a cheap smelly café. Evening meal back in the restaurant - no one greeted and seated us? so again wandering around for a table and many times waiting for plates etc to be cleaned away and re set, this did not happen as you collected your own cutlery. Then to queue to order a drink, which seemed to take forever! No dress code in the evening as anything goes, men wearing short shorts is a NO NO!!!! What happened to getting dressed up? Food very poor, lack of selection and amount, you wont starve but you wont be looking forward to mealtimes. One evening there was a BBQ downstairs we were unaware of this? this night was shocking with more tables crowed together in this smelly small café!

Evening entertainment was a big let down, as there was no place to go at night you counted on this to be good. Well the six animation team tried hard to pull off the entertainment but bingo and poorly organised shows is certainly not what we look for in the evening. The ocean bar was lovely where you could enjoy a drink from a glass and it outside area was great too.

Music around the pool was repetitive, very old and boring. Please change the playlist! But then again who asks for music as many people listen to their own. After a few days the only English channel - BBC world news did not work...lots of German channels though?

Overall this is a fantastic stylish hotel with great features and views but is let down hugely by the food selection and the 'stampede' at mealtimes. The three of us had a wonderful time and a week stay was just right!

We would not return to this hotel as meal times are not personal, just rushed, food is a disappointment, restaurant is over crowded and there is no dress code for guests. - Sorry.

We normally stay in Iberostar hotels with little extras - I guess we've been spoilt

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Laura Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
It is sad to read through your response and we feel responsible for the fact that you didn’t get what you were expecting. Since this happened, we will examine what we can do in order not to experience similar incidents again.

We will make sure that your comments will be examined and also any areas that are in need of improvement will be improved.

We would like to thank you for your feedback.

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.


Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

could not fault hotel for cleanliness,food,facilities or entertainment.the hotel even the island is overrun by russians,who should not be allowed out until they learn some manners.I was summoned to see the manageress like a naughty schoolboy after putting in a written complaint about the terrible administraition.four groups of our party had to change rooms day after arrival,one room never existed and did not appear at all.the bar staff started one drink one person at 10-30.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeophytosN, e-marketing at Laura Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
It is sad to read through your response and we feel responsible for the fact that you didn’t get what you were expecting. Since this happened, we will examine what we can do in order not to experience similar incidents again.

We will make sure that your comments will be examined and also any areas that are in need of improvement will be improved.

We would like to thank you for your feedback.

Please feel free to contact us directly on our website form if you feel there is more we can do in regards to your review.


Best Regards,

Cyprotels Hotels & Resorts

E-Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
1.2 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#38 of 86 in Paphos
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#1 of 2 in Chlorakas
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George Gardens Hotel Suites
0.3 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#14 of 86 in Paphos
668 reviews
5.0 mi away
SENTIDO Cypria Bay
SENTIDO Cypria Bay
#13 of 86 in Paphos
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Beach Hotel

Property: Laura Beach Hotel
Address: Chlorakas Ave, Paphos 8220, Cyprus (Formerly Cyprotel Laura Beach Hotel)
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Paphos
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#20 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#24 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#33 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the world of the Laura Beach Hotel, an oasis of tranquility and relaxation on the South coast of Cyprus, in Paphos. The Hotel is situated on the sea front of Paphos, a few kilometers from Paphos city center and is privileged to share close proximity to the finest locations and treasures of the island such as the famous Tombs of the Kings, an Ancient Archaeological Heritage site. The Laura Beach Hotel is one of the few Paphos hotels with a west-facing outlook that provides guests with a sublime view of blazing indescribable sunsets. Amongst several other Paphos Hotels, Laura Beach Hotel in Paphos, is a leading Hotel which can meet the needs of all travelers--families, couples and business people. During the winter period 12/13 the hotel has gone through major renovations in the public areas and guests' rooms and the latest addition of 2014 our full size splash water park which is one of the biggest water park situated within a hotel's ground. Moreover, all restaurants and bars have been renovated giving them a modern look with frameless windows for the amazing views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laura Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyprotel Laura Beach Paphos
Laura Beach Hotel Paphos
Hotel Cyprotel Laura Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing