We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely holiday with a couple of negatives” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Annabelle

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Annabelle
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday with a couple of negatives”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here with extended family for a weeks holiday. The hotels public areas are most def five star but sadly, some of the rooms are not and are in need of a refurbish. Drinks prices may appear a bit high but this is a hotel and it's to be expected

Plus points
The food in the hotel is wonderful, the salads and desserts deserve a special mention as they are out of this world
Nearly all of the staff we came across were wonderful - there was just the one who wasn't but then there always is! The staff are the hotels best asset and i think that management already know this
The location is brilliant and is easy for guests to access the prom - even those who have problems walking.

Bad points
As previously mentioned - the rooms are not 5 star and are looking old and tired which is a shame.
The steps to the pool are lethal - more than once we saw guests nearly losing their footing on the tiles - guests using the steps to enter and exit the pool - please make sure you use the handrail
This hotel doesnt have many children staying which is a huge plus point for us but twice we noticed that two young children that were staying at the hotel didn't have swim nappies on in the pool - we even saw one of these "little angels" wee on the pool steps which their parents thought entertaining! I went to reception and was assured that something would be done - well, we waited and waited and nothing was said. Considering this hotel has mostly elderly guests then surely for their health, management should ensure the swim nappy rule?We noticed other pool rules not being enforced either! Hence the reason for only giving you three star rating

Now, sunbeds! There are plenty of beds but they may not be where you want to them to be - if you want a bed by the main pool then you'll have to be quick in the morning. The hotel say that they wont let people have them till 8am - dont listen because they start handing out the towels 7.40 ish and by 8 am all the best beds have already gone!

Nice hotel that we will prob return to and hope that they have refurb the rooms and supplied tea and coffee in the rooms by then :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outoftowngirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,516
    585
    203
    57
    14
See reviews for
455
1,475
76
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We returned from the Annabelle last week after 2 weeks of total relaxation. The reviews on this site overall accurately reflect my own opinion that the accomodation is a bit dated and probably not 5 star. However - this in no way detracts from the fact that for a relaxing holiday in a superb setting this hotel cannot be beaten.
The food is very good and plentiful, although the drinks are expensive which does make guests leave the hotel for the many bars in the Paphos area. The Pinguino across the road is especially lovely and very good value for money.
A special mention should be given to the entire staff who are the heart and soul of this welcoming home from home in the sun. This is where the hotel excels and I have never found anywhere else.
Finally, to the people who complained on this site whilst actually still in the hotel - would you rather sort the issues out with the management or do you get more pleasure from complaining to others?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I had an amazing holiday at the Annabelle with my mum and sister. I could not fault the hotel. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and you were greeted every day with the same enthusiasm and friendliness. I have never rated hotel food that much abroad and normally go for bed and breakfast but this year we went for half board and after tasting the food I had no inclination to eat anywhere else. The breakfasts were amazing (especially the poached eggs which were cooked to perfection) and the evening meals had a different theme every night (Asian, french, italian etc) The salads were to die for and were different every night. There was also so much variety on the main courses too and everything was labelled so that you knew exactly what you were eating (anyone who says the food isn't good here doesn't know what good food is!!). Our room had the most perfect view overlooking the grounds and sea and was immaculately clean.
The two pools were lovely. The swim up pool bar was lovely but the boom boom music got a bit much and it was much more peaceful at the other pool.
As always the weather was perfect (not a cloud in the sky all week) and I will definitely be returning to Cyprus (and hopefully the Annabelle) in the not too distant future.
Lynn, Eastbourne, East Sussex

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dickerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Absolutely enchanted by the whole Cyprus experience but the Hotel Annabelle was just perfect. Staff wonderful, food excellent, pools great and weather - well 32 degrees every day and cloudless skies. Also able to use the facilities of the sister hotel next door - the Almyra. Lovely spa and pool + a pool covered with a billowing white fabric cover to keep the sun off while you swim.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana56Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

To be blunt this is not a 5 star Hotel, I have read a number of reviews that are frankly quite amazing, clearly not from people who are used to the best quality. It is obvious that in it's early days this would have been a very special Hotel, but today it is so far behind the standards expected for the title of 5 stars. Everything about the hotel is dated, The rooms are small and noisy with clear signs of ware. The lifts are old and very slow and when we stayed broke down twice. The pool area is filled with dated sun beds that need two people to lift, it was very annoying listening to these old wooden benches been dragged around all day. The main pool is very large and the othsr pool area very small. Our first day was spent by the smaller pool but without an exit from the water on our side, and the amount of people smoking and drinking in the pool by the bar it was not a relaxing area. I believe the saddest part of our stay was the need to return to Benidorm standards when at 8.00 am there was not a sun bed not pre booked with a towel. Not what you would expect from a 5 star Hotel. The showers around the pool were difficult to find and I saw no bather using them before entering the water, prehaps that was due to the fact they were so well hidden. On the plus side most of the staff were polite and very friendly. The breakfast was superb and and the staff very helpful, however it is a concern when decaff is is served with 2 satchets on the side of the saucer. I will not return to this Hotel and I hope things change soon, I felt that 165 euros per night was a great deal of money for a tired establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank turfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a week in mid June. We just wanted to relax and enjoy the hotels many facilities and service. We did just that relaxing on our sunbeds overlooking the sea or pool with a nice breeze to stay cool, if you wanted to. The public areas, reception and bar were very well appointed, spacious and a perfect place to relax before or after dinner. The food at both breakfast and dinner was plentiful, delicious and good choices. There is a restaurant or bar to suit most people's desires. From the time we arrived and were shown to our comfortable room to when we left, the level of care, service and interest in our well being by the hotel staff was excellent, and every effort was made by them to try and make sure we had an enjoyable and memorable stay. Many of the guests we met were returning for the umpteenth time which is testament to the high standards and quality of service the hotel provides for them and new guests like us. No doubt we will be joining this group in the future. Cyprus is a lovely country to visit. London UK

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Cyprus
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just stayed at the Annabelle for two nights to attend a wedding. Room was very noisy on the ground floor and right next to the main restaurant. We had requested a quiet room. The cleaning staff were also noisy in the corridoors.

No tea/coffee making facilities.

Air con leaked a brown fluid all night all over the shelves and our bags. We did not realise the latter until after our departure. Room was clean. Breakfast was good but not 5*. Our waiter was brilliant and looked after us well each morning. He remembered that Brits like their tea made in a pot, not a plate with a tea bag and some warm water! Reception and pool area staff were also very good and nothing was too much trouble for them. Not enough sun shades and loungers for number of guests. Many guests put towels out from early am, a habit I detest! It should not be necessary if there are adequate supplies.

Hotel in need of some love and attention and a refurb.

Room Tip: Spa was in hotel next door. Do not choose a ground floor room by the restaurant! We were in room 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KazNorthernCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#21 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
0.5 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Property: The Annabelle
Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Paphos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#17 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome awaits at Annabelle, a family-run oasis set within six acres of lush gardens on Paphos' Mediterranean sea front. Cool, peaceful interiors, understated design and warm, caring service combined with 5 star luxury to create a distinct atmosphere of unpretentious elegance. Four restaurants and five bars showcase seasonal produce, delicate local wines and traditional Cypriot charm, with live music almost every night of the week. Glittering waterfalls reflect the tantalising blue of the Mediterranean; swaying palms slow life to a blissful pace and languid days roll into leisurely nights with impeccable ease... Welcome to Annabelle: luxury for the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing