We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas revisited”
Review of The Annabelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Annabelle
Ranked #10 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Christmas revisited”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just returned from our second Christmas and New Year visit to this hotel. Just as last year the service and staff in general were fantastic. Will certainly be going back next year. Food was plentiful with sufficient choices at each meal. Drinks were actually cheaper than last year and there were early evening deals on a lot of drinks. Location is perfect for walking into the harbour or along the coastal path. We had a garden terrace room which was spacious and cleaned every day. Night time turn down was a nice little touch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at the Annabelle. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated.

I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, and experienced the genuinely warm, welcoming and attentive service from the team, which everyone is very happy about.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Please do let us know when that will be by contacting our guest services team directly on gserv.annabelle@thanoshotels.com and to let us know if we can assist with your future stay.

Best regards
George Kassianos
Duty Manager
mod.annabelle@thanoshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,672
    614
    207
    57
    14
See reviews for
498
1,598
82
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,085)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devizes
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Had a fabulous Christmas Lunch in the Amorosa Restaurant and booked to stay for 3 nights over New Year. Room comfortable and breakfasts OK (need to learn how to cook scrambled eggs), the New Years Eve Gala Dinner in the Ballroom was expensive and a bit of a disappointment. Champers in the lobby bar beforehand and they started to seat (300 people or so we were told) at 7:30, 8:45 and 5 tables still empty but bits and drabs were still arrivin; eventually around 9:00 they started to feed us. Food must have been sitting plated up for ages (supposed to have eaten at 8:00) as there was skin on most of the hot dishes we were served, left my main course and told the waiter why – big shrug and that’s it. I wanted to eat in the Amorosa Restaurant but we were told it was booked and was really for early eaters with children– looked in at 9ish, no children (they were in the ballroom with us- behaving very well Imust add) and people were still eating – don’t like being fibbed to end of story.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enlightened48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, 7 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay at the Annabelle. I am pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, such as the friendliness and helpfulness of the team and your clean and comfortable room.

I disappointed that we did not entirely meet your expectations. It is our priority to resolve any concerns as soon as possible, so that our guests can enjoy every aspect of their well deserved holiday. I sincerely apologise that we did not accomplish this for you. This does not meet with our usually attentive and helpful service culture

I hope that you do consider returning to Annabelle in the future as we would like to have the opportunity to ensure your next stay is much more comfortable and enjoyable

Best regards
George Kassianos
Duty Manager
mod.annabelle@thanoshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st ives
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I list below the reasons why I don't think the Annabelle should be allowed to advertise itself as 5 star.
# Our room: had a tiny balcony with barely enough room for two chairs and tiny table.
one bedside lamp didn't work. (this was rectified after we reported it.)
bathroom: no walk-in shower. extractor fan not working. (this was rectified after we
reported it.) drain plugs for basin and bath didn't fit properly so it took ages for
water to drain away. Very frustrating if somebody was waiting to use basin or bath.
# Dining: no waiter service. No table linen. (Paper napkins 5 star????) The food was very
disappointing. Very little variety from day to day. Same old unappetising fare. On
our first night I spotted a cockroach on the cheeseboard!!!!

# Entertainment:
non-existent, except for a lady who played the piano for an hour or so in the evening.
Very samey repertoire, which was repeated each night.
There was a film shown (advertised anyway) every day at 5.30. On two occasions
we attended the film stalled, started, stalled, didn't start, was abandoned.
# Indoor swimming pool:
non-existent. When we complained we were told we could use the pool at a
neighbouring hotel. You don't really want to walk down the street in your dressing-
gown, do you!!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Annabelle won't fail to delight the discerning traveller .This 5 star property is situated right on the seashore with lovely walkways on flat promenades along the coast in each direction. From the front entrance you can access all manner of shops restaurants and services within minutes,on foot. There is an excellent bus service and a free car park if you prefer the convenience of a car.
The luxurious public areas and grounds provide a relaxing environment in which to chill out and catch up with new found friends. Drinks can be purchased at reasonable cost.
Although winter season we stayed for 3 weeks and only encountered cold weather for 3 days-the rest of the time was absolutely glorious
Our superior sea view room was practically on the beach overlooking mature palms and we woke up each morning to the gentle sound of the waves lapping the sea shore and local fisherman going about their work. A large balcony afforded beautiful views and cooling breezes . The services of the housekeeping staff are outstanding and reflect the standards of all the other staff who maintain the highest level of customer service.
Generally the food was plentiful and varied with full buffets available at breakfast lunch and dinner .However the standard of the food in presentation and quality was a little disappointing but still represented excellent value for money given that we had benefitted from a really good package deal with Mercury Direct. If you keep to the house wine for meals it need not cost a lot.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior/luxury seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, 15 February 2015
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Duty Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My husband and me visited this hotel at the beginning of 2013 and could not report anything detrimental so we decided to visit again to check that we had not been mistaken on the first visit. We were not disappointed, once again everything was first rate. the staff, without exception, were friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Food was excellent, we did miss the chef cooking the eggs at front of restaurant and the waiters bringing the pots of tea and coffee to our breakfast table, these were just minor observations. The room was excellent, with a sea view, kept very clean and change of linen on a regular basis. Well done to our room lady who went out of her way to respond to our requests for any extra items we needed. Thank you to the maintenance man who replaced light bulbs within the hour of us making the request. Another excellent holiday a the Annabelle.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view and it was well worth it. Suggest that you request a third or fourth fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 660Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, 15 February 2015
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Duty Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Yes it was a place for the over 60's but so much care and attention was very welcome. Not an English 5star but the staff couldn't do more for you. Nice rooms clean and tidy, food good if a little unco-ordinated but always beautifully presented ,fresh and hot.
When I asked if moussaka was ever on the menu, the next night we had our own personal dish of moussaka cooked especially for us, beautiful,
Yes an older persons hotel but it's nice to be cared for by kind and thoughtfyl staff

Room Tip: We were over the swimming pool, we had upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOJO_1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, 7 March 2015
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.

On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Duty Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

All the other reviews are accurate, nice place, good location, food is fine and we had a good time. However, this is not a great hotel for the under 60's. If you're not a pensioner, you should probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George K, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
I am delighted to inform you that since your stay with us in 2013, we have newly renovated our sea view rooms: the final phase in our property-wide upgrade. It’s a source of enormous pride for us to have been working with the same artisans since Annabelle’s inception: an inspirational team of local craftsmen based here in Cyprus, who custom-build all furniture to our bespoke designs. The new rooms respect Annabelle’s classical colonial style, yet infuse a fresh modernity with cool white walls, updated wooden furnishings and traditional shuttered doors.
On another note, we would love if you could join us for the 30th Anniversary of Annabelle this year. A full programme of events will take place in 2015 to mark 30 years of wonderful memories! #30yearsofmemories . Annabelle may be celebrating her 30th anniversary in 2015, but she is looking better than ever! We do hope you will visit us for our celebrations this year and that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon to

Georgios Kassianos
Operations Manager
Annabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 88 in Paphos
1,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.7 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Property: The Annabelle
Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#11 Business Hotel in Paphos
#17 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome awaits at Annabelle, a family-run oasis set within six acres of lush gardens on Paphos' Mediterranean sea front. Cool, peaceful interiors, understated design and warm, caring service combined with 5 star luxury to create a distinct atmosphere of unpretentious elegance. Four restaurants and five bars showcase seasonal produce, delicate local wines and traditional Cypriot charm, with live music almost every night of the week. Glittering waterfalls reflect the tantalising blue of the Mediterranean; swaying palms slow life to a blissful pace and languid days roll into leisurely nights with impeccable ease... Welcome to Annabelle: luxury for the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Preferred Hotels, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing