We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CYPRUS Memory lane ANNABELLE HOTEL PHAPOS”
Review of The Annabelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Annabelle
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A trip down memory lane. I lived in Cyprus in the late 60s and was unsure what I would find in 2014.After much research we decided on the Annabelle Hotel in Paphos(Pafos Greek spelling) for our holiday. The hotel is located in the Greek Cypriot part of the island a stones throw from the crystal clear blue mediteranean ,This southern coastal part of the island from Ayia Napa through the towns of Larnaka / Limassol and eventually Pafos is connected by a modern motorway network ,important if you intend visiting the many historical sites on this beautiful historic island.

This Greek part of the island is modern upmarket ,with quality accomodation readily available
.
To visit old , less developed Cyprus you need to travel into the north over the border into the Turkish controlled area and there are a number of crossing points to choose from .

Cyprus became independent in 1960 but the 1974 war split the island across a line from Famagusta through Nicosia (the capital)to the coast ,the north is of course less developed but worth a visit by car or hotel organised tour, if by car ensure your car hire terms allow a visit to the Turkish area.

We travelled on a British airways package flights and hotel. Our only mistake was flying to Larnaka instead of Paphos, it's a journey of one and a half hours from Larnaka to the hotel , not ideal if a late or delayed flight. fly to Paphos so much less hassle as you are only ten miles or so from the Annabelle hotel.and it saves the hefty cost of transfer from Larnaka,

Rooms vary , so choose very very carefull , ensure a full sea view, not a partial side view. The cost of rooms stretch from ,(depending on time of year,) under 100 euros to 1000 euros per night for a penthouse suite ,spend a little more for a room it's worth it Sea view? Terrace sea view ? Deluxe sea view? Huge choice ,wide cost spread
It's often cheaper to buy an all inclusive package through an airline or specialist travel agent that covers room and food.
The hotel has good FREE wifi

Medical facilities are readily available ,nearest hospital 15 minutes by car, chemists/ drugstores in all the major tourist areas. I'm not aware of any medical issues with the island ,no special precautions but check with your doctor , carry your E111 European health insurance card or it's equivalent if you live in an EU country and ensure its in date they do expire ,this gets you access to the same treatment as a local and Cyprus is in the EU.

Dining is allocated to the package you choose ,in our case breakfast and dinner in the Fontana terrace self service restaurant, this is a very high class of food albeit you serve yourself salad bar ,meat / fish bar and sweet bar, wine list is extensive but can be a bit pricey and lacks ABV ratings which can be helpfull particularly for the ladies.

You can, if on a food included package ( I would recommend it) visit the Amorosa A LA CARTE restaurant for that special meal , you are given a small contribution to the meal as you are not eating on the terrace but still in the hotel. Clearly you cannot be credited with meals you do not take in the restaurant if you are dining in any other establishment ,plain good sense.
dress for dinner is smart casual many of the ladies and very young ladies setting a classy designer parade.

The two swimming / relaxing pool areas are of a high standard ,they are set in a 6 acre garden with palm trees and flowers of all hues ,excellent loungers and huge sun shades are set out for your comfort. The web pictures are accurate. The pools are maintained to a very high standard.

We stayed most days in the lower terraced pool area which had a river like appearance with a number of waterfalls and a bar in the pool. You can order lunch at your lounger and they are excellent lunches.
Children loved this area. And I can highly recommend the hotel for families with children.

Two young ladies in the main ,ran this pool area during our stay Joanna and Alina two multi lingual proffesionals who were very impressive, nothing was to much trouble for them ,above and beyond the call of duty, hotel staff can make or break an establishment and in my view the staff at the Annabelle whether the dining manager George and his slick team or the reception staff, as a unit they set this hotel apart, very impressive people.

The hotel has themed nights ,we went to the Cypriot music and dancing event it was great ZORBA THE GREEK where everyone got on the floor or more accurately on the grass as its held on the water front a few steps from the hotel ,the children were the best uninhibited dancers.
A pianist plays nightly in the main reception area.

For the older visitors (yup I'm older) the hotel has 2 lifts.

There are so many places of interest to visit that you need to seek advice at the hotel or look on the web and draw up a list ,a word of caution, Stavrovouni the famous hill top monastery is male only ,ladies are not permitted and men must be dresses appropriately and that includes long trousers not shorts.
If you go with a lady there is an amazing viewing area just short of the monastery that is a pleasant wait whilst the men visit, the monastery is closed daily from midday until 1500 hrs

car hire is available at the front desk of the hotel and it could therefore be more cost effective hiring a car for a couple of days instead of the full period and paying for a vehicle to sit in the car park, there is secure parking in the hotel. A car is not a must, you could happily spend your holiday in the hotel walking into phaphos as necessary ,the town has shops and quality restaurants.

In summary ,a great hotel, suitable for families, young couples, older couples or on your own ,you will soon make friends.
Good food and lots of it. Could not fault it neither did other guests.
Great staff and set in a fabulous location.
Rooms of a high standard which are cleaned and made up fresh daily.
Lots of historical places to visit.
On the waters edge.
Beauty Parlour type of facilities that the ladies love.
I did not hear any negative comments from fellow guests.
And finally , Fantastic weather
WOULD I GO AGAIN ??? TOMORROW

Room Tip: Be very carefull choosing your room ,it will say a sea view but that's not as clear as it sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Grandad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We are delighted that you decided to stay at the Annabelle for your return to Cyprus. Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review about your experience at our Hotel, and Cyprus in general.

I am very happy to know you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and your positive comments are gratefully received by the team,

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Annabelle in the near future, and if we can assist with your future reservation in any way please do not hesitate to contact us directly at gserv.annabelle@thanoshotels.com

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,844 - 1,850 of 2,903 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Annabelle in July and had a fantastic time.
Food: A highlight of the hotel for me. We had chosen the half board option as we intended to eat out of the hotel on some evenings, however at the Annabelle there was simply no need. The food was to a very high standard, varying in theme every night, expertly orchestrated by the head chef who was frequently seen in the dining area.
Staff: All staff were extremely polite, courteous and helpful throughout the hotel
Rooms: We had booked an inland view room and to our delight upgraded to a room with a sea view. I do not understand why people feel the rooms are old fashioned and out of date. Admittedly the rooms are not furnished like those of a 5 star hotel in London but i felt the decor was in keeping with Cypriot charm and perfectly fine.
Entertainment: Low key as expected which made the lobby bar a lovely relaxing place to sit of an evening. If you want anything livelier then set foot out of the hotel and there is a plethora of bars.
Pool: A lovely pool, yes you did need to be up early (7/730am) to get a lounger but this is normal for many hotels. Plenty of sun loungers on the grass area in front of the sea promenade if you fancied a lay in. Only criticism would be that the temp of the pool (32c) was higher than the air temperature (31c) and not as refreshing as it could be. Preferred to sunbathe on the grass area in front of the sea as it was much cooler there.
All in all a fantastic holiday, i will return!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
8  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at the Annabelle. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated.

I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, and experienced the genuinely warm, welcoming and attentive service from the team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Please do let us know when that will be by contacting our guest services team directly on gserv.annabelle@thanoshotels.com

Best regards
George Kassianos
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our stay at the hotel was simply delightful!

The staff were very professional, friendly and highly efficient.
Food was top quality and varied, catered for all dietary requirements. Chief was always on hand and ready to say hello - reminded us of Gordon Ramsey :)

Only criticism was that the pool was always too warm at 32 degrees sometimes hotter than the climate so one could never cool down. Would be great if the 2nd smaller pool by the waterfall was for adults only. Pool towels were large and fluffy and always available. Hair Dryers in the rooms with complimentary slippers and dressing gowns to relax in after sunbathing.

Hotel location is close enough to take a taxi to the airport to miss the coach loads and is near to many shops, restaurants and bars.

Fantastic relaxing time would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexJaneFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your recent stay at Annabelle. I am very happy to know you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Your compliments about the David our chef, and the quality of food in addition to the friendliness and efficiency of the team are especially appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to Annabelle in the near future. Please do contact our Guest services team if we can assist you with your future reservation requirements on gserv.annabelle@thanoshotels.com

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Knowing Cyprus very well, we had yet to stay in Paphos and I'm so glad we did and also so glad to have chosen the Annabelle. From the Managers to the waiters to the cleaning staff, the service is exceptional. Chrystalla in Guest Services, Stylian in the restaurant, Joanna at the pool bar, and George and Antonis who made sure every meal was perfect... Cypriots are the most amazing and generous of hosts and everybody needs to go find this out for themselves. Guest services at the Annabelle is second to none and the hotel itself is beautiful.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it, go for a suite as you then have your own plunge pool which is gorgeous alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your recent stay at Annabelle. I am very pleased to know you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Your compliments about the quality of food in addition to the friendliness of the team are especially appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to Annabelle in the near future. Please do contact our Guest services team if we can assist you with your future reservation requirements on gserv.annabelle@thanoshotels.com

Kind Regards
George Kassianos
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned from a super relaxing week here - just what I needed! The deluxe sea view rooms are fantastic, but saying that, all rooms are good. The buffet restaurant had an excellent choice with something for everyone each night. If you can't find something you like here, then I would be amazed. David the Chef, came out into the restaurant each night and was happy to answer questions about the food and how he had prepared various dishes, which was really welcome

The staff were lovely - friendly and most helpful, even getting us a bowl of dry rice to try and mend our iPad which got a soaking!!

The pools are lovely - it was 34c when we were there, so the lower pools were cooler. The main pool was so warm - 33c!! Perhaps a chiller would be nice in there!

The whole hotel was very, very clean.

The only slight criticism i have is that the pool bar service was a bit slow. I think it may be that they need a system as various people were trying to serve, prepare and be at the till, so it did get a bit confusing! Perhaps a bar manager/supervisor is the answer. However, i was on holiday and not in a hurry, so no real problem. The wifi was intermittent - didn't bother me too much, but teenagers obviously have issues with this! There is a Business Centre here or go to the beach where the signal is better!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are lovely. Don't expect brilliant wifi though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your recent stay at Annabelle. I am very pleased to know you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Your compliments about the quality of food in addition to the friendliness of the team are especially appreciated.

I apologise that there were some aspects of your stay which did not quite meet your expectations, your feedback has been valuable and helpful for us to make improvements for our guests complete comfort and enjoyment.

We hope to welcome you back to Annabelle in the near future. Please do contact our Guest services team if we can assist you with your future reservation requirements on gserv.annabelle@thanoshotels.com

Kind Regards
George Kassianos
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We enjoyed a free upgrade to half board. The food is 5 star and quite exceptional. Each evening was themed with an international cuisine. There were plenty of choices and the desserts were simply divine. Many many compliments to David and his team of chefs. The hotel is very well maintained and our standard room was way above average and had a sea view. All the staff particularly the waiters were quiet and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. The evening entertainment was somewhat lacking with either a classical pianist or singing duet. There wasnt opportunity for any dancing. After dinner there was very little to do in the hotel and so we found our evenings entertainment elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Julia537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments about your stay at Annabelle. I am delighted to know you had a wonderful stay, and enjoyed the wonderful view from your room, in addition to the variety and quality of our themed buffets. Your comments have been communicated to David, and the entire team which is very grateful.

We apologise that we did not quite meet your expectations with regard to evening entertainment. Your comments have been helpful with regard to enhancing the entertainment programme in the following months

We ar elooking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel: great location 2 minutes walk from all the lively bars and resturaunts at the harbour/marina area although we went half board and the food was exceptional hats off to the chefs food was definately 5 star and lots of variety, we did the cypriot dinner night with authentic cypriot food and entertainment we even got pulled up for the greek dancing which I went a bit over board with (getting in the spirit of things) as you do, with lazy rivers and swim up bar Alina made the best cocktails I have ever had although a bit pricy they are definately worth it.
With reading some less positive reviews I really must say that the staff at the hotel were fantastic very attentive, friendly and sooo welcoming pat on the back to all staff (and maria in the fontana restuarant) with still another 3 a la carte restuarants to chose from.

Entertainment at night is a bit bland but with so much on the doorstep there is plenty to keep you entertained outside the hotel.

I would advise of a sea view room as side view rooms have little to look out on and plenty of people to see in

Being our 1st visit to the island I would definately visit again and definately stay at the annabelle

Room Tip: choose a sea view room or if you choose a land view ask for one on higher level so no one can see in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wobblyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at The Annabelle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2015

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your recent stay at Annabelle. I am very pleased to know you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Your compliments about the quality of food in addition to the friendliness of the team are especially appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to Annabelle in the near future. Please do contact our Guest services team if we can assist you with your future reservation requirements on gserv.annabelle@thanoshotels.com

Kind Regards
George Kassianos
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#13 of 85 in Paphos
2,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#11 Business Hotel in Paphos
#14 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £119 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome awaits at Annabelle, a family-run oasis set within six acres of lush gardens on Paphos' Mediterranean sea front. Cool, peaceful interiors, understated design and warm, caring service combined with 5 star luxury to create a distinct atmosphere of unpretentious elegance. Four restaurants and five bars showcase seasonal produce, delicate local wines and traditional Cypriot charm, with live music almost every night of the week. Glittering waterfalls reflect the tantalising blue of the Mediterranean; swaying palms slow life to a blissful pace and languid days roll into leisurely nights with impeccable ease... Welcome to Annabelle: luxury for the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing