We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel, beware of the prices for food and drinks though”
Review of The Annabelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Annabelle
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A great hotel, beware of the prices for food and drinks though”
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We have just returned from the Annabelle, where our fiends were getting married
We had a very enjoyable stay and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Very hot 35 degrees every day.
We stayed on the 'Aphrodite ' wing room 405 on the top floor with great views over Paphos harbour and the sunset at night. Probably some of the best hotel staff I have encountered, even the pool boys were smiling! We were pleasantly surprised to be invited for a 'repeaters' lunch ( we had stayed there 4 years ago). A delicious four course meal with free flowing wine ..fabulous
My top tips
1. Take your own booze. Prices are high even for water! Reception will send up a bucket of ice
2. Take the footpath along the seafront, as it takes you past all the other hotels and you can take a sneaky look in them
3. Gourmet Taverna and Seagull restaurants I can definately recommend. Open for lunch and dinner. Both are within 5 mins walking. Turn left out the front of the hotel
4. Go to the Managers welcome meeting. Nice to mingle and enjoy a couple of drinks as the sun goes down.

The hotel will be upgrading the bedrooms in the next year or so

Please contact me with any questions..Kaye

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank katiecrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,755
    638
    215
    58
    14
See reviews for
526
1,662
87
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We have just come back from our Honeymoon and we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The hotel was wonderful, the staff extremely friendly and helpful and the food was delicious - the chocolate puddings are to die for!!! Having read some of the reviews we were a bit worried about the hotel been dated, however we did not feel it was dated at all. Yes, they were doing small maintenance work whilst we were there (eg. paiting some of the door frames etc, nothing of which made any noise or disturbed our relaxation) and yes the TVs are small and the older style, however they worked perfectly well and to be honest who wants to watch tv when you are in a lovely hotel in a hot country and the sun is shining. We had upgraded to a delxue suite as it was our honeymoon which had a large balcony overlooking the pool and sea beyond, the room was lovely and spacious and felt like home. We did visit the sister hotel next door to have a look, i have to say it was not our cup of tea and we were glad we weren't staying there as yes it is modern, but ultra modern with black and white interior which results in no character, which you get with the Annabelle. Plus, the pool at the Annabelle is far nicer with the inviting blue water whereas next door have black tiling in it, so it looks very murky! Anyway, we cannot recommend the Annabelle highly enough - it was lovely and we had a wonderful time and came back very relaxed. Also, we would like to mention Gina's Place just over the road behind the tourist information centre if you fancy a gorgeous salad or sandwich for lunch (plus pud for afters - they are yummy)!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cap0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

The hotel is very nice and beutifully designed. The cascading pools are the best and in the heat the most refreshing place to be. The rooms were as expected, clean and confortable. May be of a 4 star standard rather then 5 stars. Breakfast was adequate and lunch by the beach very nice but very expensive ! the only negative point is the price of snacks, coffee and drinks by the pool ! Then again prices in Cyprus have really gone up since converting to the euro. The service was always very good. On the way back we got stuck at the airport and delayed for over 24 hours. We call the hotel to see if our room was still available for an extra night. They said of course. When we got back there they had actually got a large and lovely suite ready for us for the price of a normal room whcih was a nice touch. Did not like Paphos at all. Went there a few years ago and it was quite nice, now it is quite awful. Sports bars everywhere, awful restaurants, neon lights... all very cheap and spoiled.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmdUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

i visited this hotel in 2003 on business wheni worked for a tour operator and was very impressed. this secured it as my hotel choice in paphos and returned from my week at the Annabelle yesterday. now, i can see what people mean about the hotel being a little dated. it opened in 1985 and i aggree that things such as the TV sets and the decor in the rooms could do with updating so that they reflect the standards we have come to expect from a 5 star hotel today. persoanally, i found it quite charming and certainly there was a feeling of hight quality thoughout.
That said everything worked perfectly, was in a very good condition and of a very comfortable standard. the bed was ultra comfortable!! for the week i was there , every day there were staff around carring out general mainatnce. make no bones about it , this place is not shabby or in a state of dis repair. the cleanliness in the hotel is superb.

The location is excellent, right on the water, and 5 mins walk from the harbour with restuarants etc around and a bus stop 5 mins walk and the tourist information centre practically opposite.
The hotel grounds are beautiful and give the option of more secluded sunbathing.
Staff at the hotel were perfect, all had a smile for you.
We stayed B&B, and the breakfast selection was fab, cakes, cerials, fruits, meats, cheeses, pancakes, bacon etc. all food of a great standard. we didnt eat in the hotel in the evenings so i cant coment on that. however looking at the reviews most people seem to rave about the food here.
the sister hotel, Almyra is a lovley residence with a more modern contemporay feel. and Annabelle guests can use the faciitys there too. Great spa at Almyra, although no jacuzzi, which was a shame.
all in all i thought it was great. thoughoughy enjoyed my stay her and would certainy recomend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kfckernaldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lots of Different Places
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I spent the Valentines weekend here with my partner. Although the hotel lobby and general areas are very nice and relaxing the rooms are a little jaded. As a 5* hotel I would have expected a fair few facilites but apart from the outdoor pool (heated) there was little else. The Sauna, Jazcuzzi, indoor pool and other treatments were shared with an adjacent hotel (not next door adjacent but a 20metre walk along the main road).

Location is good as it is 5mins form the port and pretty much on the seafront of Paphos. The Valentines dinner was very nice but spoiled somewhat by the refusal of the Hotel to enforce no smoking in dining areas.

In summary there are better hotels, with better facilites for less price.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boswellovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2009

I have literally just returned from The Annabelle after staying there for my wedding and honeymoon and feel that I have to write a review to counter the slightly negative ones I read before I left. The hotel was stunningly beautiful both inside and out with gardens which provided an exceptional backdrop to my wedding photos. I found nothing to fault with eithe the cleanliness or comfort of the room and my upgraded seaview room was beautifully located.
The food in all of the restaurants was faultless and I like the fact that with a half board option you had the option of either the buffet restaurant or the a'la carte restaurant at no additional cost.
For myself and my husband thought he real jewel of this hotel were the staff who were prepared to go to any length to ensure our stay was special, this hospitality did not just extend to ourselves as a wedding couple as during our stay we witness staff dealing with shall we say awkward customers with nothing less that complete politeness and poise.
I cannot praise this hotel higher and shall definitely be returning

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vixen80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2009

The welcome to the hotel was excellent, and we were shown around, which we have never had at any other hotel we have stayed in before, however when we got to the room I felt that it did indeed need updating, the bathroom mostly. The pillows were like rock, but the fold down service on a night was a nice touch. We thought we had paid nearly £600.00 extra for an up-graded room, but found out that was only for a sea-view!! Also the buffett restaurant was closed for 3 of the 7 days we were there, so had to either eat out or pay extra for the la a carte restaurant which was about £70.00 extra a night. When we had already paid £2,700.00 for 7 days I thought that was a cheek!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heldrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 85 in Paphos
2,080 reviews
0.5 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.7 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
0.9 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Annabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Annabelle

Property: The Annabelle
Address: 10, Poseidonos Avenue | 10 Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#11 Business Hotel in Paphos
#17 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Annabelle 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincere welcome awaits at Annabelle, a family-run oasis set within six acres of lush gardens on Paphos' Mediterranean sea front. Cool, peaceful interiors, understated design and warm, caring service combined with 5 star luxury to create a distinct atmosphere of unpretentious elegance. Four restaurants and five bars showcase seasonal produce, delicate local wines and traditional Cypriot charm, with live music almost every night of the week. Glittering waterfalls reflect the tantalising blue of the Mediterranean; swaying palms slow life to a blissful pace and languid days roll into leisurely nights with impeccable ease... Welcome to Annabelle: luxury for the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Annabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Paphos
Annabelle Paphos
Hotel Annabelle Cyprus
Annabelle Cyprus Hotel Paphos
The Annabelle Paphos
Annabelle Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing