We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4star no maybe 3star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aloe Hotel
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“4star no maybe 3star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We thought that we would return to the Aloe again but disappointed this time. 4star no maybe 3star ! Public areas are ok but dated. Bedrooms ok but not enough wardrobe space for a 2 week stay. Sheets could do with renewing also towels in bathroom need renewing as so thin and stiff they do not dry you. Also rooms need redecorating as stains and marks.

Room Tip: Side sea view rooms 200 - 228 or 300 - 338
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb-Trev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    332
    242
    154
    77
See reviews for
228
449
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Dates of Travel 31st August to 8th September 2013
Travellers - Couple in their 40's

Good Points,

Close to the harbour, about a 20 minute stroll.
plenty of bars, restaurants, shops and cafes within a 10 minute walking distance.
5 minute stroll to the beach, which is quite clean, although very crowded at weekend.
public areas of the hotel are lovely, the reception, bar and restaurant are great areas and very well presented and very clean.

Bad Points

Breakfast - advertised as full English, the bacon is thinly sliced spam, the sausages are grilled hot dogs and the scrambled eggs are made from powdered eggs and taste like cold egg custard, all of the hot items are lukewarm at best and at worst stone cold.
cereals were available but these were soggy and stale and the milk wasn't the freshest. had to make do with toast on most days as this was the most palatable of the items offered.
the fruit juice from the machines was watered down so much that it looked and tasted like cheap cordial.

Rooms - we stayed on the 3rd floor and our room was dirty and worn out.
The bed was hard and lumpy with springs sticking up no matter where you laid.

The bathroom was mouldy and all the fittings were covered in thick soap scum and lime scale so bad that trying to remove it was impossible. I did buy cleaning products and attempted to do this myself.

The bath was tiny and unless you are 5ft tall or underand no more than about 7 stone you don't stand a chance of being able to take a bath, and you have to stand sideways in it to take a shower, that's if you can take a shower without the water switching from freezing cold to scalding hot in seconds, on a few occasions I had to physically jump out of the way to avoid being burned. The shower head was just about clogged shut with lime scale and I had to scrap at it with a nail brush before I could attempt to take a shower.

we stayed on a bed and breakfast basic and were disgusted to find that we would be charged 5 euros per day for tea and coffee facilities, and 3 euros per day for the use of a fridge.

this hotel is advertised as having a gym and spa, these are services that are charged for on top of the room price and to be frank are not at all worth it, the indoor pool area and games room are dank and dreary and the majority of the electronic games in the games room are broken.

the towels were actually crispy and although they were supposed to be white there were actually a dirty grey colour.

The curtains, voile and blackout curtain were all torn, stained and generally scruffy.
The patio table and chairs were absolutely filthy and very worn out.

the air conditioning in the rooms is an total joke and even on the coldest setting it didn't cool the room at all.

The pool area was a mess with missing tiles and areas that looked to have been filled in with cement and left unpainted so there were great big grey patches all over the white painted areas giving a very run down and neglected appearance. lots of tiles missing around the pool area making lots of sharp edges to get cut/injured on if you weren't careful and most of the tiles at water level had think black areas of mould.

most of the covers were missing from the pool filters, and those that were in place were clogged with what appeared to be either mushed toilet roll or serviettes, we never saw anyone cleaning the pool in the 8 days we stayed there.

But even considering all of the above the worst aspect of this hotel is the staff, apart from the tall thin lady on reception and one bar man in the main bar, all the other members of staff we encountered with totally unhelpful, miserable and down right rude.

the hotel had employed about 8 very young polish girls who wore trainee badges, these girls do not speak one word of English and actually shook from head to foot if you asked them anything or just said "no" and walked away.

The restaurant/bar manager was so rude and ignorant, and seemed to take great pleasure in dressing down the staff in front of any guests who were within ear shot. after our 1st experience of him we avoided him at all costs.

The staff on the pool bar café were the worst I have ever encountered in years of travelling overseas and disgustingly rude and obnoxious, to us it seems as if serving holiday makers was an total chore to them and they just couldn't be bothered.

This hotel is not a 4* hotel and in my experience it would struggle to reach a 2* at best, I would avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carolekenny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paphos hotels

merseyside
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We recently booked our honeymoon at the Aloe Hotel (Cyprus) only to discover a less than standard hotel which was overpriced, dirty and facilities not available. Also a representative that was never to be seen. We booked eleven nights in the four star Aloe Hotel, Cyprus which is described on the Jet2 website as ‘an impressive array of facilities coupled with a good standard of accommodation’.
Upon checking into the hotel the staff and lobby seemed up to standard. When the lift actually made it to the 3rd floor we were greeted with a dark and musty corridor. We found our room but only to discover an array of disgusting surprises. There was a bottle of red wine with two glasses one of which had a massive lipstick mark on the top; holes and stains on the curtains; the bath wouldn't drain due to fifteen years of hair blocking the plug hole; dirty shower curtain; bed sheets were not changed for the whole stay; rotting fruit in the room that the cleaners did not remove. REMEMBER THIS WAS OUR HONEYMOON!. To top the ‘good standard of accommodation’ (as it states on the Jet2 website) off was our room was above the kitchen extraction vent making it unbearable to sit on the balcony.
Apart from the room being disappointing the pool area and facilities were even worse. The poolside bar closed ridiculously early and stopped serving food at 16:00. I went for a swim only to discover toilet roll wrapped around my feet. Sun loungers and umbrellas were filthy and broken and tiles were missing or cracked on the pool side. When we managed to get some breakfast due to the hordes of people it was a surprise we didn't end up with food poisoning, cereals were not changed and put out the next day and the ‘bacon’ can only be described as processed cheap meat.
Why is this hotel classed as four star.. Our honeymoon was ruined. This hotel is not as described and we are surprised that it had advertised by a reputable company.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just come back from our 3rd visit in a row to the Aloe and have to refute the criticisms people make about the place. Breakfast- there is a very large selection of food and moaning because the bacon is not what you would get at home is quite honestly pathetic. there is something for everyone plus they have replaced the Coffee/Tea machines that used to play up a lot. As for evening meals there is no point in going half board as there are many great restaurants in the area that are excellent. The staff being miserable- this is utter rubbish as we have always found them really helpful and friendly, especially Christoph (sp?) who seems to do virtually every job in the pool area and always had a smile on his face. The only person who never seems to be customer friendly is the restaurant manager who doesn't seem to serve any purpose but making his staff's lives difficult.
Also why do people keep on comparing the Aloe with the Alexander the Great? The Aloe isn't really a 4 star and that is reflected in the price. We got the Aloe for roughly £56 a night whereas the Alexander is 100E per person per night- in others words almost 4 times the price. That should give you a clue when booking! its an ok hotel in a very good location and it is cheap.
The only drawback is the same as in other hotels in Cyprus and the rest of the world - a great of ill-mannered, arrogant people from a certain country in the East who don't seem to realise the whole world does not revolve around them!

Room Tip: Avoid room 340 as the Air con is knackered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardsonnigel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is worst hotel I have stayed in in Paphos. The hotel is set in a good location as it is not to far out and across the road to the beach. The problem is nobody seems to care about the guests. I have never met such miserable staff who found it really hard to speak. Our first room was right over the ventilation pipes for the kitchen and they were on all night. After one night of no sleep we asked to move. After several requests we did get moved and the room was 100% better. If you like a hotel with evening entertainment find somewhere else as there isn't any. Sorry for all the bads points but there were very few good ones. I won't continue as could go on and on about the bad things. Sorry Aloe someone needs to take you into the right direction as this could be a fantastic hotel if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our hotel room looked very clean on arrival and we had no problem with the room during our stay.

Food. The food was not up to our standard. Breakfast, the bacon was we thought was more like spam. Fruit juice tasted as though it had been watered down. Better if you have a piece of toast or croussants. Cereal didn't taste fresh.

Evening meal, very plain, not much taste and same things appeared for a few evenings.
Pool bar,this food seemed better. We have decided if and when return to eat out , so we can choose places and standard of food.

Entertainment. Nothing for children at night. We found some bars which we enjoyed to visit and have a drink. Also tried other hotels for entertainment.

Computers in reception advise people not to use. Had to purchase a card and enter code in computer for credit. After doing this , computer very slow and freezing. When trying to get euros back , all I can say is you would be lucky to get euros back from reception!

Approximately half hour walk to harbour, one way.

First time at this hotel and really doubt be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We just return from our holidays there .We visit this hotel with all my family,6 rooms for 16 persons in full board basis . For a 4 star hotel it was nothing special.It was very poor in everything.Food, entertainment,etc.Only the location was very good and the pool area also.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ANDRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#8 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
2.2 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#73 of 90 in Paphos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#36 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#28 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Hotel

Property: Aloe Hotel
Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60190, Paphos 08101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Aloe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphos Hotel Aloe
Aloe Hotel Cyprus
Hotel Aloe Paphos
Aloe Hotel Paphos Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing