We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“aloe worth what you pay for it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aloe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloe Hotel
Ranked #68 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“aloe worth what you pay for it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

we stayed in june and after reading the reviews put on for this hotel some of the comments just arnt fair.There was a few people in the hotel over 70 but my self and my wife arnt and we sat with a lot of other people round the pool that was no were near there was a lot of people in 20s 30s 40sas well as us 50s. We stayed on b+b and found the breakfast fine choice of cooked ,cereal ,fruit etc. the public areas are clean and smart. The bedrooms and corridor carpets do want replacing and redecorating but the bedrooms are clean and comfortable we have stayed there several times and not had a lumpy bed.We had asked this time for a room on the 3rd floor was given the room we wanted ut on getting there building was taking place right out side a quick word with reception next morning and we was moved to another room in 20mins. Going on to the cats yes there are cats every where in cyprus and people will feed them at meal times so that will bring them around but if the waiters see them being fed they do ask people not to feed them also you have the choice to eat in side where the cats dont go. Pool towel cards on the first morning take your card down to the hut and collect your towels just change your towels the same day after you have finished round the keep them in your room for the next day and on your last day hand them back in and collect your card.We spoke to 2 couples that had read the reviews and were worried about staying there and they both said they would return to the aloe as for us we have rebooked for 3 weeks in oct 2010 . It has a lovely pool area and also a garden area for sun bathing.The only done side that we found was that in the summer there are a lot of local weddings there and they ask you to leave the pool area at 4 pm and use the garden area so they can set up for the wedding.There are a lot worse hotels to stay in the paphos area we know.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusky10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    334
    244
    155
    77
See reviews for
229
451
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Was attending a wedding so had no choice in booking this hotel but personally I wouldn't have chosen it .
Having read the reviews, I wasn't expecting much and the hotel was much as expected.
Certainly not a 4 star (maybe it was many years ago). The common areas are OK and clean but our room certainly hadn't been hoovered for some time - there was a hair grip on the floor when we arrived & still there when we left!!
The bathroom was very small and the floor was LETHAL if even the smallest amount of water fell onto it
Thankfully, we were only bed & breakfast. I personally thought the food was terrible- one morning I only had toast. Everything was open to the elements & the fruit & cake etc had flies all over it. Loads of cats everywhere & people fedding them at the tables.
The staff were miserable and the most unfreindly I've come across for sometime.
The pool area was OK but the pools were disgusting in the morning, the surfaces absolutely covered in dead flies & bugs - wouldn't have take much effort for the top of them to have been gone over with a net to get rid of them.
We were all unwell on return & the doctor said the children had caught a virus from the pool & I can well beleive it.
Seemed to be a lot of older people at this hotel & many had stayed before so I guess it's just a matter of taste.
Whilst nothing in particular was absolutely dreadful, I certainly wouldn't stay at this hotel again even if it was free. Probably the worst I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paphos hotels

North Lincs
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Having read previous reports I was concerned that the hotel would be horrendous, but it wasn't that bad. First things first - to be honest the hotel is not 4 star standard, so don't expect 4 stars. The rooms were clean enough, beds were comfortable and bathroom was clean, although it was dated and could do with an update. The air con was very smelly, until my husband complained. They came while we were out and cleaned it, and it was ok for the rest of the holiday. Breakfast was adequate, although he sausages were not very appealing and the bacon was very fatty. The omelette type eggs were very bland, and there was no other choice of eggs unless they cooked fried eggs on a few occasions in the restaurant. The public areas were very airy although the air con was not put on in the lobby and reception area until the afternoon. With temps in the high 30s, this was a real problem if you wanted to sit and chill out. The pool area is excellent with a bar and eating area where you could get snacks and drinks throughout the day. There were always sun loungers if you were prepared to look around. What is it with people who think that putting a towel on a sun lounger and then leaving, gives them a right of ownership?? I was so tempted to take the towels off, and would have done if there had been no loungers available. The Moonlight Bar needs a serious case of thinking about. It is a very comfortable area, but has no atmosphere. The waiters and waitresses need to be given a lesson in how to attract custom, and smile. This is the main trouble with all the staff. They do not look or sound as if they care about guests. There are some who are sullen, unfriendly and even rude. A smile and welcome goes a long way. The staff need to take this into account. Oh - and the cats. They are everywhere. Not just round this hotel, but everywhere. Guests feed them at breakfast, by the pool area and all round the hotel. This leads to fights between the cats and guests being pestered for food. It is no use telling them to go away because they will be back. The position of the hotel is fine. About 10-15 minutes stroll to the harbour. Beware of anyone who wants to give you a scratch card - it is timeshare and they are rude and obnoxious if you tell them to leave you alone, so be warned. Every bar and restaurant that you pass will want you to go in and eat and that gets a bit annoying. Top tips for eating - Romantica next to the hotel. fantastic food fantastic service and Tyrimos fish restaurant, although do not have the mezze unless you area very very hungry - 30 dishes for 19 euros. If you want to go to Northern Cyprus - go on an organised trip. We drove and it was the day from hell. The Troodos mountains are well worth the visit. Everything to do with Aphrodite is a bit of a tourist con. All I can say is that as far as a Goddess goes - she got around!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_SNorthLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

Wasn't sure what to expect, after reading the mixed reviews, but our stay here was OK. Room was reasonably clean, and air-conditioning very effective (although we heard from other guests who weren't so lucky). The in-room safe was big enough for our 2 cameras & camcorder, although being at floor level made it difficult to see inside it. The only real problem was the shower, which has a strange setup whereby the coldest setting results in the lowest water pressure. If you try to increase the water flow, the water heats up very quickly, and can easily reach temperatures hot enough to badly scald you.

Our room (182) was the furthest away from the lift, but we found a nearer exit with stairs leading down to the pool and another leading to the restaurant. The hotel pools were really nice; the free form pool starts at a child-friendly 0.8m and gradually deepens to 1.6m. The other pool is much deeper - 2.8m at its' deepest, and is sometimes used by the local scuba diving school (Cydive) for try dives. There's also a small toddlers' paddling pool with a safety rail around it. Unless you needed a particular spot (e.g. for extra shade from the palm trees), it was still possible to find an empty set of beds (with umbrella) at lunch time. The hotel give you a card which you exchange for a towel (after 9am). You can swap it for a clean towel during the day, or hand in the towel and get the card back again. Make sure you don't lose it - a 20 euro charge is put on your hotel bill the start of your stay, which is then taken off again when you hand it in when you check out.

For breakfast, fruit, cereals or a cooked breakfast (& fresh crusty bread) could be selected, although fried and scrambled eggs weren't always available. We were less impressed with the evening meals, although the barbecue night was quite good. We found out later on that you could use your evening meal allocation in the poolside restaurant for lunch, which would have suited us more, as you could have chips with your meal and ice cream as a dessert (neither were a choice in the evening).

The hotel is nicely located, with a 15 minute walk to the harbour & most of the nightlife, and a 10 minute walk to some other bars & restaurants in the other direction. There is a sandy beach just across the road, and a water park a 5 min drive away.. The only noise nuisance is from the only neighbouring hotel, The Paphos Gardens, which backs onto the tennis courts. It seems to have a late night open-air karaoke every night. It does quiet down after midnight, however. There is also some low key entertainment in the hotel bar in the evening.

All in all, this hotel is not too bad, especially if you are on a bed & breakfast deal.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sahbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

just got back from the aloe and would not rush back in fact will never go back to that hotel. the only thing going for it is that its clean. everything about the hotel is tired and in desperate need of refurbishment. we stayed on a half board basis and that was probably our second mistake after choosing the aloe because the food was terrible where else would roast marrow be available at breakfast !! it is very well located but less than 3 mins walk away towards the harbour is the alexander the great hotel which is a 4 star having spent some time there attending a family wedding and would recommend you look at staying there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smudgerSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

we stayed at the aloe as we were attending a family wedding in paphos.The hotel was fairly basic but clean,the pool was nice and big with plenty of beds and umbrellas.We werent impressed at all with the food , there was hardly any choice and what there was wasnt good ,we ended up eating out most days.There were no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms and you had to pay to use the fridge.We had our 8 year old with us and there was nothing for her to do here it was a hotel mainly for older people also although we were in a good location paphos itself had very little to offer on the entertainment front we struggled to find any .This holiday wasnt cheap and we were looking forward to getting a bit extra as we havent been to a 4 star before, unfortunately we didnt get it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

after reading lots of reviews on this website, me and my bf were wary about staying at the aloe, however, after just getting home from a weeks holiday there, we have decided that it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in! the cleaning standard is so high, at one point we saw 5 maids cleaning table legs with toothbrushes!! the rooms may be basic but so what?! who spends their holidays sitting in their hotel room?? there were a good mix of different ages staying at the hotel, both old and young and also families. the hotel is in a brilliant location, and although the staff werent overly friendly, they were polite and helpful enough! personally, i didnt like the breakfast, but im very fussy...my bf had the biggest breakfast everyday and loved it!! i think a lot of people dont realise that a holiday is what you make it, if your going to spend all week contemplating the hotel decorations then yes, it probably wont be that great!! me and my bf had an amazing holiday and our stay at the aloe was brilliant!! dont be put off by others!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
0.3 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
2.2 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#78 of 90 in Paphos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#36 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
5.7 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Hotel

Property: Aloe Hotel
Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60190, Paphos 08101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphos Hotel Aloe
Aloe Hotel Cyprus
Hotel Aloe Paphos
Aloe Hotel Paphos Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing