We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”
Review of Captains Bistro

Captains Bistro
Ranked #206 of 557 Restaurants in Paphos
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Boston, Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We came across this restaurant as it is set in a good location at the harbour. However having eaten so many wonderful meals over the last 2 weeks, we felt this restaurant was lacking slightly on quality, presentation and choice. If you want a cheap basic meal then this is a good choice, but it wasn't for us. Service was good though, and the live music was a nice touch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tassia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    83
    40
    30
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value drinks...and great to watch the world go by!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

As frequent visitors to Paphos we visit the Captain's Bistro on a regular basis. Reading some of the reviews I think some people may be confusing this place with the restaurant above (Captain's View)?

This is a lovely bar/restaurant right on the sea front in Paphos overlooking the harbour. Drinks are very reasonable and we often sit here and watch the world go by having a relaxing drink in the afternoon or early evening.

The food is of an average price and standard...but remember where you are...this isn't some back street!

Efficient and friendly staff...certainly recommended for a relaxing drink!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Do not go”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

recently returned froma lovely all inclusive week in pathos with my gf. we stayed at an all inclusive resort the food was good and couldn't be faulted but we thought we would enjoy ourself and eat out few nights see the harbour etc.

after walking along for a while trying to decide we chose the captains bistro as it had an upstairs with a nice view of the harbour. we sat down and a man "head waiter apparently" took our order my girlfriend ordered the out of shell prawns in batter for starter, when it arrived she started to tuck in to it and realised the shell was on isaid to her don't be silly try another one this was also in the shell. we called a young girl over and asked if they could be changed she took them back without issue. however the "head waiter" returned and tried to tell us that the shell was the head of the prawn and could not be removed we disagreed and he decided to dissect all of them in front of us I which when my girlfriend pointed out that the body's of the prawns and asked why they were in a shell he agreed and took them away.

me and my gf are 23 and 22 we don't ever complain but I just found this disgusting service to be honest, it may be that he thought we were were young and he could get away with it or mayb he's like it all the time who knows!! I just thought after dissecting it would he expect her to now eat it after he cut into pieces??

also as we eat 3 tables came inside then decided to leave this is when we realised we had made a mistake!

definetly save yourself the hassle and choose somewhere else!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try the moussaka”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I both wanted to eat a moussaka for lunch whilst in the port in Paphos. Tried the Captains Bistro and were not disappointed. Large bowl of piping hot traditional moussaka washed down with a cold Keo beer whilst watching the world go by with a good view over the bay. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap set menu”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We ate here on an evening at arround 20:30 was very busy but we were seated and served quickly, chose to have the set menu for 12 euros a head, we both picked the same dishes prawn cocktail followed by steak followed by creme caramel, starters were ok though the thousand island sauce was still ketchup and mayo in places, steaks were excellent both a good size mine cooked perfectly rare my wife's perfectly medium served with chips which were crispy but not to fatty a sauté mushroom salad which was delicious, desert was a massive let down was not good had sort of curdled, had coffee after meal and wine with meal all in around 35 euro bargain

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robgullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captains Bistro also viewed

Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Captains Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing