We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very moving to be here”

Panagia Chrysopolitissa Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$379.38*
and up
3-Night Cyprus Tour from Paphos or Limassol Including Paphos and Nicosia
More Info
US$580.92*
and up
4-Night Cyprus Tour from Paphos and Limassol Including Paphos, Nicosia and...
More Info
US$699.48*
and up
5-Night Cyprus Tour from Limassol Including Paphos, Nicosia, Troodos Mountains...
Ranked #10 of 117 things to do in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very moving to be here”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

With interests in in the early church and the apostles it was amazing to see the detail which still stood, the columns, mosaics and remnants of the early 3rd century church. It was truly a moving experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    124
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Why did they do this?”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I'm lucky enough to remember this site from before they put up the irredeemably ugly concrete and steel walkways. It had a certain peace and was rather beautiful in it's way. Now, as a site it's rather nasty. Apparently all the locals hate what has been done too

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Plingsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pangagia Chrysopolitissa Church”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A lovely location with so much to offer the visitor.We are so glad we found thus church. It offer a sense of calm and history.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden away gem”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I happened across this little gem of an archaeological site having left Kato Paphos by the side exit. What an interesting find. Lovely carved pillars and mosaics from circa 4c AD and a pretty little later church - not open at my time of visiting unfortunately. Doesn't take long to wander around, probably 30 minutes at most. I also stopped for delicious baklava at the cafe opposite and chatted with Chris the owner who told me lots of other little places to discover.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jegoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wedding Bells!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We attendied a wedding here in June, I thought we were going to roast inside but there is a lovely cool feel about. A very small and quanit place next to Paul's Pillar.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panagia Chrysopolitissa Church also viewed

 

Been to Panagia Chrysopolitissa Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing