We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, but not 5star, unsuitable for business”
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2011

It has been a few months since I stayed here, but The Elyssium is a beautiful Hotel, clean and with friendly efficient staff. The breakfast is good, However all this comes a t a price and really I found many services far too expensive.\First of all how can they claim to be a 5 star Hotel when they dont even have internet in the rooms!! There is a pathetically slow wifi service in the reception area for which you need to pay 10 Euro per day. Only a few rooms close to reception can receive internet.So if you are a business person avoid this Hotel.
Some of teh prices are ridiculous. My wife had 2 martini Biancos and we were charged 66 Euro for these. The reason was that the portions were so small that we had to order triples. Even a triple was hardly the equivalent of half a glass of wine. With a 1 litre bottle selling in Paphos for typically about 7 euro that was something like a 4000%markup.
Another disappointing fact is the really small sandy beach. If you want to sunbathe there is areas away from the beach plenty, but if you want to swim from a sandy beach it just is too small and as soon as you wander out a little the surface is stony and unplesant to your feet.

Room Tip: If you want internet get a room adjoining the reception, otherwise go for those with a seaview. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travellerfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecEly, Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member travellerfs,
Thank you for taking some time to post your first review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

Constructive guest comments greatly assist us in constantly evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities and therefore all comments of both positive, as well as negative nature, are being thoroughly looked into.

In regards to travellerfs’s comments, we would like to make a comment on the following:

1) The hotel has internet access in all rooms after the upgrade of our internet network was completed in September 2010. The speed of the network is the fastest available in the market.

Additionally we have 3 computers with complimentary internet access for all our guests, in our multimedia room.

2) We consider that the comment about the price and portions of the Martini Bianco are slightly exaggerated, since the single portion is of 60ml (a worldwide acceptable measure) and is charged at €5,30.

3) We find the review rather disconcerting due firstly to the lapse of minimum 14 months between the stay and the review (and not “a few months” as suggested in the review) and secondly there is also some confusion about the purpose of stay of the guest who mentions that he is a solo traveler, but in the review he confirms that he was accompanied by his wife.

Thank you

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,345 - 2,351 of 3,391 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

My bf and I had a garden side room in this very extravagant and luxurious hotel.
The hotel itself is very impressive, reminiscent of a Las Vegas style hotel. It has spa facilities, beautiful outdoor space leading on to it's own private beach and a good breakfast buffet service that serves a variety of foods including champagne! In particular, the library area was very nice in the winter December month to snuggle on the sofa with a coffee or glass of amaretto.
However, the room we stayed in was unbearably hot in the evening, there were no facilities to air condition the upstairs bedroom area, as this was separate from the living area downstairs. We ended up having a very restless nights sleep trying to fan ourselves (bear in mind this was december!) and called reception at 3am to try and sort it out but only to be told the problem could not be fixed. I cannot imagine what this would've been like in the summer 40 degrees heat but I sure would not have expected this for a 5 star hotel. Also, my only other gripe is that the breakfast buffet was rather cold and some foods had been left out for a long time.
Aside from these issues, it's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We decided to spend my Husband's 70th Birthday at this lovely Hotel, we had a 2 night stay
and some spa treatments, which was a good decision indeed. We both enjoyed the spa and the staff were very good and attentive, (especially Fay). We found the rest of the staff also very helpful and pleasant, and we had a very nice supprise of a Birthday cake delivered to our room from the hotel management, and very nice it was too. Mmmm. The room was very nice we had a Delux seaview room, the only downside for us was that we would have preffered a walk in shower and there is only one over the bath. But all in all we enjoyed our stay and cannot wait for the next occasion to to celebrate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My daughter and I stayed in this wonderful place Elysium Hotel for 3 days. We fell in love with it and start planning our next vacation. Our room (2230) is very good with a fantastic sea view. The staff are very friendly and helpful.Breakfast buffet is very good, the SPA is great. We went around the hotel and there is a place for kids entertainment( electronic games) aside from pool & a playground. We really enjoy walking in the sea shore ( good place for walking exercise or yoga) to reach the harbour and some archaeological place.In short the place is close to tourist spots. You will never ask for more. I even went to Etihad agent to thank them for suggesting this great place Elysium Hotel. Definitely, I will take my whole family and I will promote it to all my friends. Keep it UP!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laila318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a recommendation from our son and his wife who honeymooned here. We have stayed at the other 5 star hotels in the area but the service, variety and quality of food, room cleanliness and friendly atmosphere was far superior to any other. We are quite demanding with regard to standards but never once had to complain, far from it, we were full of praise for all the staff and management, especially the receptionists and restaurant staff/chefs. The food was quite exceptional in both taste and presentation. It is very hard to think of even one thing that was not up to our expectations. Well done Elysium in helping us to celebrate our wedding anniversary !

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea and overlooking the pools are far quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Just returned from our 4th visit to Elysium. Glorious place! Lovely clean hotel. Staff very attentive. Extensive buffet food delicious and lots of choice. Waiting Service in buffet dining room 5 star and very friendly. In fact all staff very friendly and efficient. The bedrooms are clean, well decorated, spacious and now have the added comfort of tea and coffee making facilities. The pool, pretty gardens and grass area kept immaculate. The many sun loungers are extremely comforable. We definitely hope to return in 2012 and highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountains are adequate as there is hardly any traffic on the approach road. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sudokufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Elysium Hotel. Undoubtedly one of the best hotels in Europe. A beautiful peaceful complex, friendly and efficient staff, excellent food, even free internet. Cannot recommend too highly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuckress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,779 reviews
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £111 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing