We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel with very attentive staff”
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2012

amazing grounds great place to relax however there are a few very minor pointers
that would truly elevate this hotel to full 5 star standardse.g. free wifi, walk in shower none of this over the bath stuff, bigger flat screens in room tv's fed up squinting at the little 19" samsung,indoor pool to cold to swim in inexcusable for a hotel of this calibre, some rooms to be
avoided with unpleasant outloook however hotel staff very accomodating when a move was requested last but not least price of a cup coffee can only be described as exorbitant but then
it is a 5 star hotel would come again

Room Tip: try to get a seaview and over the pool room. mountain view outback not good unless you like looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,393 - 2,399 of 3,457 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

Not much to say about this hotel. Just perfect....

This is probably the 10th time that we visit this hotel and each time becomes better!!!

Probably is, by far, the best hotel in Cyprus....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christiana_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We have just come back from a wonderful holiday at the Elysium. The hotel is by far the best that Paphos has to offer, both architecturally and in quality and service. The staff are superb, with every attention to their customers' needs and the rooms luxurious and comfortable.
We booked a family sea view suite, which for my husband and I and my young daughter was perfect. As another reviewer noted, we booked with Hotels 4 U and felt that we had been put into a room with only one balcony was due to the very reasonable price that we paid for our visit.
We booked half board which was a perfect arrangement. The food was excellent, with every choice available and themed menus in the evening, to add variety.
I agree that the hotel should really offer free wifi - in this day and age this should not be a chargeable luxury.
I found the spa prices to be too high to justify a little treat - a shame as the treatments on offer looked lovely.
The outdoor pools looked beautiful but were icy - not that it put off my daughter from using the children's' slide (on the one day it was switched on).
I would recommend a sea view room as the view over the back of the hotel isn't inspiring - shame the hotel can't buy the piece of land behind and do something with it really.
The bedroom was spacious and the bed comfortable with a choice of pillows on offer to suit all tastes. The toiletries were fab, don't bother packing shower gel etc. as theirs were superior.
The only thing we really didn't like were the rules and regulations that were posted up everywhere to remind customers of their expected standards of behaviour. Seemed to work though as it was all very civilised.
Don't expect lots of ghastly entertainment, there are plenty of other hotels in Paphos if that is your bag. We just basked in the calm peace and relaxed and soaked in the beauty of the place.
Thank you Elysium and special thanks to the jolly breakfast chef and Dimitri for his dry wit.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are the best. Ask for one that doesn't overlook the car park. 3014 did not get s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I travelled with my parents for a winter break at the beginning of December and from the moment we arrived we could not fault the service. The hotel is spectacular with stunning views from the sun terrace. You really feel as if you have arrived in a 5 star plus. The staff were very friendly, helpful and tended to every whim, (fixing our outdoor light, supplying a fan for the room, extra pillows and organising car hire). My mother is in a wheelchair but there were no problems accessing any areas as it is well catered for. Special thanks to Rita in guest relations for advising us on every aspect of the holiday and to all staff in the restaurants, they were all so friendly - as it was quite quiet they would come and chat to us. The food here was amazing. I struggled to select from the huge variety on offer at breakfast and dinner. I would highly recommend both O Shin - the sushi restaurant - and Bacco - the Italian restaurant. Both fabulous and memorable meals with the highest standard of service. You must try the cakes and pastries made here for afternoon tea at Cafe Occidental too! I thoroughly enjoyed a back of body hot stones massage so can recommend the ESPA treatments. I know I will struggle to go to other locations now as I will always compare to The Elysium. This is how it should be done! My parents and I are already wanting to book for next year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueTourScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

It has been a few months since I stayed here, but The Elyssium is a beautiful Hotel, clean and with friendly efficient staff. The breakfast is good, However all this comes a t a price and really I found many services far too expensive.\First of all how can they claim to be a 5 star Hotel when they dont even have internet in the rooms!! There is a pathetically slow wifi service in the reception area for which you need to pay 10 Euro per day. Only a few rooms close to reception can receive internet.So if you are a business person avoid this Hotel.
Some of teh prices are ridiculous. My wife had 2 martini Biancos and we were charged 66 Euro for these. The reason was that the portions were so small that we had to order triples. Even a triple was hardly the equivalent of half a glass of wine. With a 1 litre bottle selling in Paphos for typically about 7 euro that was something like a 4000%markup.
Another disappointing fact is the really small sandy beach. If you want to sunbathe there is areas away from the beach plenty, but if you want to swim from a sandy beach it just is too small and as soon as you wander out a little the surface is stony and unplesant to your feet.

Room Tip: If you want internet get a room adjoining the reception, otherwise go for those with a seaview. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travellerfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecEly, Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Dear Tripadvisor Member travellerfs,
Thank you for taking some time to post your first review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

Constructive guest comments greatly assist us in constantly evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities and therefore all comments of both positive, as well as negative nature, are being thoroughly looked into.

In regards to travellerfs’s comments, we would like to make a comment on the following:

1) The hotel has internet access in all rooms after the upgrade of our internet network was completed in September 2010. The speed of the network is the fastest available in the market.

Additionally we have 3 computers with complimentary internet access for all our guests, in our multimedia room.

2) We consider that the comment about the price and portions of the Martini Bianco are slightly exaggerated, since the single portion is of 60ml (a worldwide acceptable measure) and is charged at €5,30.

3) We find the review rather disconcerting due firstly to the lapse of minimum 14 months between the stay and the review (and not “a few months” as suggested in the review) and secondly there is also some confusion about the purpose of stay of the guest who mentions that he is a solo traveler, but in the review he confirms that he was accompanied by his wife.

Thank you

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My bf and I had a garden side room in this very extravagant and luxurious hotel.
The hotel itself is very impressive, reminiscent of a Las Vegas style hotel. It has spa facilities, beautiful outdoor space leading on to it's own private beach and a good breakfast buffet service that serves a variety of foods including champagne! In particular, the library area was very nice in the winter December month to snuggle on the sofa with a coffee or glass of amaretto.
However, the room we stayed in was unbearably hot in the evening, there were no facilities to air condition the upstairs bedroom area, as this was separate from the living area downstairs. We ended up having a very restless nights sleep trying to fan ourselves (bear in mind this was december!) and called reception at 3am to try and sort it out but only to be told the problem could not be fixed. I cannot imagine what this would've been like in the summer 40 degrees heat but I sure would not have expected this for a 5 star hotel. Also, my only other gripe is that the breakfast buffet was rather cold and some foods had been left out for a long time.
Aside from these issues, it's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We decided to spend my Husband's 70th Birthday at this lovely Hotel, we had a 2 night stay
and some spa treatments, which was a good decision indeed. We both enjoyed the spa and the staff were very good and attentive, (especially Fay). We found the rest of the staff also very helpful and pleasant, and we had a very nice supprise of a Birthday cake delivered to our room from the hotel management, and very nice it was too. Mmmm. The room was very nice we had a Delux seaview room, the only downside for us was that we would have preffered a walk in shower and there is only one over the bath. But all in all we enjoyed our stay and cannot wait for the next occasion to to celebrate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,877 reviews
2.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
2.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Family Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £109 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, TravelUp, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing