We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Holiday”
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Winter Holiday”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned back to the UK after a week away at this Hotel. A fantastic Hotel with very friendly staff. Great rooms which where exceptionally clean and comfortable. Outstanding food and service at all meals. Special Thanks to Astelios in the Restaurant who was extremely accommodating and nothing seemed to be to much trouble. A very relaxing Hotel with Fabulous outdoor and lobby area. The only slight negative was that the drinks are expensive.
Thanks to all the staff

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rod064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,637
    470
    108
    41
    25
See reviews for
973
1,710
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place which counts as one of the finest hotels I have ever stayed and believe me I have stayed at many many hotels for business and pleasure
The service food and maintenance is exceptional
I booked the winter special which really was full board taxi from airport and an excursion within the price for 5 nights of excellence luxury and real 5 star ratings .

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank pauljvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very nice room,large and comfy,great bathroom,fantastic sea view.Breakfast buffet of a huge variety,very good choices for dinner.The service was great,no complains.Helpful smiley staff.Bar with live music and reasonable prices every night.Spa,Gym,indoor pool,6-7 restaurants(Asian,Italian,International etc).A great overall experience,will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had room 3230 which had great sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drKyriakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Starting with the good points; this hotel is indeed very nice, the bedrooms are very well furnished and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are well appointed with nice toiletries and towels and everything is kept spotlessly clean. It has fabulous outside pools and lovely grounds, a nice but small private beach with a jetty and the public areas inside are beautiful. In fact, it is one of the quietest I have ever stayed in as there was hardly any determinable noise from the rooms on either side of us. All that lives up to its 5 star rating.
Now for a reality check. To us what let it down was the service. We arrived late at night due to a delayed flight. We booked and paid in full some 2 months prior for 14 night’s accommodation over Xmas and New Year in a side-sea view room on a half board basis. On arrival we had been pre-allocated room 3107. When we got to the room I immediately went to the balcony to check the view whereupon I could see that looking towards the sea all that was visible to us were palm trees and a large conifer. No sea. So I returned to reception and asked to be moved. I was told that there were two types of seaview, side and full and we had booked side. I advised that I realised all of that, but the issue with the words “side sea view” was that one expected to actually be able to see the sea. After much deliberation and reluctantly consulting the computer screen the receptionist eventually declared he was “upgrading” us to a room they normally sold as a full sea view at no charge. It was room 3114. Whilst we were happy with this room as it actually had a side sea view, anyone who elects to pay for a full seaview and is allocated this room should insist on being moved to one that actually has one. If indeed they sell 3114 as a full seaview then its incorrect as it looks out over a roof terrace towards the Royal block of suites and you have to walk the length of its own terrace (as big as the room itself) to get a good view of the sea. Even more interestingly, in the morning we took a walk around and realised that had we accepted the original room allocated we would actually have also been overlooking a building plot with two JCB diggers working all day long, 7 days a week! So this was the room they had chosen for a full-rate guest staying 14 days over Xmas and New Year in a hotel that was only one third full at the time we checked in.
Now to the food buffet. It’s lovely and yes there is loads to choose from, but the real shame is that it not kept hot and the plates are very often stone cold. So it lessens the experience and could so easily be fixed. Breakfast is best as you can have things cooked to order at the servery and the chef there is quite a character. However, we were there for Xmas and the New Year Gala dinner dances and whilst there was a lot to choose from, it was served in a marquee attached to the side of the hotel and thus was cold.
Also, re these events; we contacted the hotel in advance to ask what the dress code was and were told it was definitely formal. So after packing husband’s dress suit etc,, and cocktail dresses, imagine our surprise, embarrassment and disappointment at the Xmas gala event to find ourselves the only ones dressed this way and sat next to someone (and many others) wearing jeans and a grandad shirt. When we questioned this we were told that they used to be strict about dress code, but nowadays they are relaxed about it. No problem with that, but don’t tell anyone who bothers to check that the dress code is formal! Needless to say come the New Year event, we didn’t bother either.
I have been fortunate in my job in the travel industry to have stayed in many 5 star hotels all over the world during the past 30 years and I am sorry to say that this one did not match up. Perhaps the best in Paphos, yes, but there are many others in the world that would easily knock it for six.

Room Tip: Don't accept less than you paid for - if its full sea view make sure it is! Same for side sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Itchycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecEly, General Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member Itchycoo,

Let us thank you for choosing the Elysium for your recent stay and for taking some time to share your experience with other reviewers on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you have found our facilities and amenities to your satisfaction and that you have enjoyed quiet and relaxation during your stay at the Elysium
In regards to your comment about the room type, we would like to advise you that within the Deluxe Bedrooms there are 3 different categories, depending on the view choice: Deluxe Bedrooms with Inland View with views over the city, Deluxe Bedrooms with Side Sea View with partial view of the sea and Deluxe Bedrooms with Sea View.
According to our records and your review you opted for a Deluxe Bedrooom with Side Sea View, which you were allocated. Since you have expressed the wish to move to a room with better move we have offered you with our compliments a Deluxe Bedroom with Sea View which is officially considered and sold as a Deluxe Bedroom with Sea View to our guests, travel agents and tour operators.
All other issues mentioned in your review that have not met your expectations, have been noted and rest assured that we will be looking in implementing corrective measures.
Once again we thank you for having taken the time to review your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon, giving us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards
Christos Papamiltiadous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Elysium is a beautifully furnished hotel with large, spacious rooms that pay attention to detail. The staff at the hotel are helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Food is of a high standard, particularly in the main dining restaurant for dinner. A great hotel that is worth the money you pay for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We made our third visit to the Elysium during the October half term holiday. We travelled with Easy Jet a Holidays instead of our usually tour operator Thomson.

The first year that we visited the hotel was the best year and the best value for money. The Epicuraen terrace was all al a carte and the food was exquisite. It was also included in the half board.

On the last two visits there has been buffet food only on on the epicurean terrace included in the half board package. The quality of the buffet food is excellent but not the fine dining experience of the Bacco Restaurante or our first experience of the Epicurean Restaurant.

On our second visit we attended the 10th anniversary celebration which was the highlight of the holiday. The food was amazing.

The bedrooms are lovely and the hotel is a well designed and spectacular building. The views from the sunset terrace are beautiful, especially the sunset. Unfortunately on our third visit our room was above the Astria bar which was noisy!

The staff are excellent. They are efficient and very friendly.

The hotel is still my favourite hotel and I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Not above the Astria bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just returned from brilliant holiday. Rooms so spacious and clean. All Staff were so friendly and helpful. Would love to go back. The spa offers fantastic treatments. Christmas Eve & New Year's Eve meal and entertainment were out of this world

Room Tip: Sea view brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Itchy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,680 reviews
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 85 in Paphos
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
2.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Property: Elysium Hotel
Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#5 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing