We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elysium Fantastic”
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Arrived last night. Immediately left our troubles on the doorstep. Our hosts took our bags, sat us down with a lovely refreshing cool mint cocktail. Aware of the time they kept the restaurant open to allow us to pop down for a wonderful medittaranean buffet...every element of it was gorgeous and nothing was to much trouble for our hosts. Woke up this morning to be introduced to members of the breakfast staff who doted on our children and placed us in the best spot in the restaurant. Great breakfast, varied choice I decided on porridge, don't think I have ever enjoyed porridge more.
Lovely weather, great architecture and outstanding pools/views.
Can't wait for the next 9 days.
Happy patron.

Room Tip: Side sea view interconnecting rooms great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renato R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,601 - 1,607 of 3,391 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just spent a week at this superb hotel, the staff are amazing, hotel maintained to high standard, beautiful spacious bedroom & en suite with plenty of fluffy towels, towelling robes and quality toiletries. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, any enquiry is met with courtesy and a smile. I have never encountered such excellent customer service from any staff in any hotel anywhere in the world. The Epicurean restaurant is run on a carvery/buffet service each evening with food suitable for all tastes, we also ate in the Italian restaurant which was top quality for food & service. Breakfasts were also great with plenty of choice. The only problem was at weekend when they seem to do special weekend deals and the breakfast restaurant was packed, the staff again were wonderful but finding a table was difficult, thankfully this wasn't the case in the evening when the hotel seemed to return to it's lovely calm atmosphere. Just be aware that the Elysium is a paradise but the area behind the hotel and the main road into Paphos is very shabby which is such a shame as you couldn't wish to stay in a better hotel. Far better to take the beach road to the harbour, either walking or hiring bikes as we did. We would definitely return though as we loved the history and amazing sights in Paphos and the pretty villages. AND ONLY ONE PLACE TO STAY 'THE ELYSIUM'

Room Tip: We were in room 1209 which was lovely and quiet but the side sea view is only visible if you lean ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I had a 3 nights stay there with my family. Rooms are great, especially connecting rooms are what u need when u have kids. All was wonderful apart from no free wi-fi in the rooms, you could use wi-fi just in the main public areas, and the connection was not good at all... Great indoor pool and spa facilities. Best breakfast i have ever had in a hotel! Food was great!
Very kind and friendly stuff!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had a weekend in this hotel with group of friends at the end of March.
The grounds are excellent: well maintained, green and clean.
The rooms are perfect: spacious, light, with good furniture, very comfortable large bed, fluffy towels, quality toiletries, etc.
Service is exceptional. Everyone and anyone from the hotel receptionists, bar attendants to the room service staff were attentive, fast and willing to accommodate. Hotel management clearly pays attention to constant improving of customer service. Bravo!
The breakfast was 5***** and unfortunately we didn't have a chance to dine in the hotel. The Asian restaurant was closed and Italian-full.
My advice would be to book a day in advance, especially Italian, as the restaurant is very small.

Again want to mention how clean and well maintained this hotel is.
I stayed in many hotels in Cyprus and attention to details with regard to cleanliness is often sad. Considering how big Elysium is I want to thank the management and the staff to keep it in such a wonderful shape.

As to me, Elysium is the best hotel in Paphos and one of the best on the entire island.

Staying here off season is a bonus: the occupancy rate is relatively low ( no screaming kids, loud talking, crowds at breakfast, etc) and so is the price.

10 out of 10.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lisiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived exhausted for a week's stay away from all the stresses of our daily lives, first week of December. This hotel is wonderful and the staff are its biggest asset-friendly, courteous, helpful, nothing too much trouble, not intrusive.We have stayed in hotels all over the world Singapore, Sydney, Texas and Claridges in London and this has been our favourite. We are normally independent travellers but booked this through a travel agent for the first time. Food was excellent. We walked or caught the bus into Paphos. If you were there at the same time I was the one asleep in the coffee area ( very comfy sofas!) or on the double beds on the beach! We stayed in a Maisonette at the back of the hotel. Although no real view it was very private and quiet which suited us. Plenty of room to relax in the evening after supper and very comfortable bed. Shower room and bathroom so plenty of space for us both and lovely Molton Brown toiletries, Room cleaned daily, towels changed twice a day, we are planning to return in November. As there were so many wonderful staff I would have liked to have made a contribution to a shared staff system of tipping.

Room Tip: The maisonette was lovely and you can have one facing the sea but we liked the privacy of one at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMF06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

In the 14 years interval since our last visit to Paphos, there has been so much new development in the district that we barely recognised the place. Sadly, the once peaceful and pretty harbour village that was is now a sprawling, ugly 'concrete' commercial strip, quite 'tourist tatty' and devoid of any obvious local cultural style or architectural merit.
Fortunately the recently built (2004) Elysium was designed in the style of a grand 'Mediterannean' Villa or Forum and standing alone next to the Tombs of the Kings protected seafront area, retains an air of serenity and grandeur (though definitely not opulent or brash). We had stayed in Larnaca and Limassol en route here and were pleased to see these two cities had both retained a 'Cypriot' feel and their pleasant seafront promenades had not been sacrificed to the tourist shabby 'one size fits all' look that now haunts Paphos.
The Elysium has established quite a good reputation as one of the 'Leading Hotels' in Cyprus and after we had drove past and "called in" on the few other 4 and 5 star hotels that were open this early in the season (we toured Cyprus through the last week of March) and scattered along the entire coastal strip from the harbour/ old town along to Coral Bay, we concluded that Yes, this probably is the best Paphos and district coast has the best to offer.
The Valet was slow to meet us from the car park so we had already entered the lobby carrying our own luggage, nonetheless his sincere apologies and warm welcome was courteous and we were efficiently checked in by a pleasant young man at reception who briefed us on restaurant timings and general facilities and then directed to our seaview room on the 2cnd floor. The public areas are quite spacious, all designed in the same muted natural colour sceme, simply but elegantly furnished and decorated with Grecian style busts and sculptures, murals artwork and the central lobby with its understated sweeping staircase and low-key attractive water features. The complete absence of shiny marble (which pervades every other 5 star hotel anywhere in the world that we have previously stayed) anywhere in the hotel - instead local polished sandstone / flagstone, tile and in corridors and bedrooms a muted beige carpet - we felt actually enhanced the overall calm and cool ambience whilst projecting a distinct 'local' feel and retaining an image of how an upmarket hotel should look.
Our bedroom was of a typical size with a very comfortable double bed, good quality cotton linens and heavy drapes, heavy wooden furniture and wardrobes and a range of subdues lighting helped create a 'homely' feel. The bathroom was however quite small, with only a bathtub/ overhead shower, vanity wash unit and wc / bidet - no stand alone shower and a very poor lighting and dark colour scheme. The overall effect was probably more akin to a 3 or 4 star chain hotel in facilities. The Molton Brown toiletries and fluffy dressing gowns and towels did compensate somewhat and the water heat and pressure worked fine throughout our stay.
Judging by the sunset our room faced due West however because of the overhang from floor above the balcony was permanently in the shade, perhaps it is a seasonal factor with the sun being low in the sky. Nonetheless the view across the beautifully landscaped grounds to the seafront (approx 200 meters away) was fabulous at any time of the day. The multi-tiered pool area with a 'Rotunda Hydro' pool at the centre and surrounded by mature Pine, Cypress and Palm trees, cascading fountains and sculpted walkways and bridges and all of the Spring flower beds in full bloom made this one of the best pool-views we have experienced anywhere on our travels around the world.
We were on a half-board package, the breakfasts were taken in the pleasantly airy and fresh Lemonia dining room. They were expertly overseen and managed by the delightful Maitre 'D, Ms. Alla and her very efficient team, most of these members also served in the evening buffets which were held in the banqueting room called the 'Epicurean'. This huge room we felt lacked any atmosphere on each of our 3 visits due partly to the styling and weak lighting arrangement (we felt more often seen in Medieval Banquet theme - type environments) however the service by the predominently Eastern European teams was highly efficient, courteous and friendly whilst understated in their familiarity.

The food quality was good, fresh fruit, vegetables and salad at all times, nicely presented and all displays constantly replenished and 'tidied'. The themed buffet meals (average 40 Euro per head for dinner) were possibly a tad expensive (compared to the cost of other buffets we've enjoyed in similar Tourist-grade 5-star hotels) and we felt were too bland and apart from the Saturday night 'All Nations' richer selection, had a very "samey" flavour and lacked originality.

Drinks prices throughout the hotel were fair for a 5 star property and our only criticism is the wine list which we felt offered a poor selection with only a medium-grade quality compared to the higher-end pricing (e.g Western Cape Nederburg Rose 2012 at 28 Euros a bottle, a wine that would be priced around £20 normally in any decent restaurant).

In summary, this hotel is a haven of tranquility (certailny out of season anyway), charm and understated elegance. Overall taking room size and facilities, hotel amenities, restaurants, food quality and service levels experienced, we would rate this hotel at the top end of what we would personally define as 'Tourist-grade' five star. We paid £550 for 4 nights on half board which we consider is excellent value all things considered and would highly recommend the place as a 'getaway' retreat for a leisurely comfortable stay away from the downtrodden and 'shanty' feel of the Kato Pafos strip. But as in all the TA online reviews, this is our subjective opinion based on a comparison with our experiences in many high-end hotels and resorts and is not meant to offend so should not be taken personally.

Room Tip: Higher pool view rooms on west wing get sun through to sunset in afternoons, most other pool/seaview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MickandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I don't usually say it, but I'm very happy I listen to my wife's advice. This hotel is beautiful and the service is great. The prices for food and spa are in line with 5* ranking so no complaints there. It is within walking distance from an array of bars and restaurants of all kind for those who like staying in 5* hotels but reluctant to pay 5* prices for food and drinks whilst there. The location is fantastic for those who like visit the famous sights of Paphos. It is suitable for families and couples of all ages as well as people that travel on their own. I have been in a few hotels that claim 5* rating in Cyprus and Elysium is my favourite so far. Compliments to the management and staff - well done guys.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,781 reviews
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
#3 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £111 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing