We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The best hotel in the cyprus. It's Amazing and wonderful. Near in the city of Paphos and close to more facilities. Have excellent food and sweets. The price who be paid is cheaper than quality who give you back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariosWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,639
    470
    108
    41
    24
See reviews for
973
1,710
66
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from staying at the Elysium Hotel for 7 nights with our three children aged 19,16 and 13 and must say that all the staff where so helpful and friendly, on our first night a dog was barking outside the Hotel from 9.30pm till gone midnight so I called reception to let them know that we we're not very happy and they said that they would get security to check it out and would deal with it in the morning. I went to reception in the morning and the receptionist knew about it and called her manager and he said that it was possible to move our rooms together and if we had hung our clothes up not to worry as the porter would take it for us on the hangers, I must admit the children did complain as didn't really want the hassle of moving rooms but didn't want 7 nights with a barking dog, so the porter came straight to our rooms and helped us with no fuss at all!
We were also upgraded to a sea view at no extra charge, well done to the Hotel for dealing with the problem straight away and making the situation better!
We had a half board option and ate at the buffet every night, the food was really good and the staff again were very attentive, the Asian night was the best although the Cypriot night was also good with the singing Omelette Maker(the Chef making omelettes at breakfast) doing traditional dancing and getting people up to enjoy the evening!
We had no problem getting Poolside sunbeds, only on one day when we didn't get down till 11.30am and got a sun bed on the grass which was located nearer to the beach with a nice breeze!
We found Kings New shopping centre just a 10 minute walk from the hotel with some great shops and restaurants, certainly worth a visit!
Went to Coral Bay to Para-glide,Jetski, as no watersports offered at the Hotel beach!
On our departure date we were leaving at 6.30pm and needed to check out at 12 midday so was offered a complementary room to shower and get ready in before we departed!
Overall a thoroughly relaxing Hotel which was clean and friendly and would definitely recommend it to friends!!

Room Tip: worth paying the extra for a sea view, don't go to an inland room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the Elysium for 10 days in July and I can not fault the place! The staff are friendly and attentive. The food selection was amazing and so delicious we only ventured down to the harbour for one meal which wasn't a patch on the quality back at the hotel!

We stayed in a garden villa with plunge pool. These rooms were adults only accommodation and had the added bonus of an large adult only pool which was lovely... (sorry kids! lol).

On arrival we were given a welcome drink and as our flight arrived late in the evening the hotel had kindly laid on plates of cold meats, cheeses and bread in our room. By the pool, we were given complimentary fruit smoothies each morning with cold lemon scented towels to mop our brows!:) And plates of fresh fruit in the afternoon. Back in our room each day petit fours were delivered...yummy!

We loved the place so much we are going back next year to get married there!

Ok just one downside, drinks were expensive but I think that's representative of all 5* star hotel around the world.

Great place for a honeymoon!

Enjoy....I know we did!:)))

Room Tip: If travelling as a couple go for the Garden Villa with plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LollyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned form 14 days at the Elysium with our 6 year old daughter and with a couple of exceptions what a fantastic hotel and experience. Some people who we spoke to have been there year in year out.

Firstly the good parts ....and there really were some great things. We stayed in the Royal Villa Garden suite with our own plunge pool. The room was lovely and the pool was great late in the afternoon when it was in the shade which meant our daughter could play in the water but out of the sun. ( This is only the case with the garden view side as the sea view would still be in the sun until sunset ) One thing which we knew about but is dissapointing is the fact that although we had the use of the large Royal pool children are not allowed so it was not really practicle for us to visit there more than a couple of times.
I guess they want to keep this pool peaceful but I do think that well behaved children who are with their parents and staying in the royal accommodation area would not cause a problem and if they were then security would have to ask them to move to the main pool.

The hotel is clean throughout and the ambience is wonderful. 99% of the staff are wonderful . They will greet you with a smile and a hello whenever you pass by from the reception staff to the great man Fontas at the entrance.
A few are worth an extra mention and if you visit this hotel keep an eye out for them as they will help make the stay so much better.

Rachel in the kids club - We bow to your patience with what must be such a difficult job keeping hot and tired children happy and you really do keep them happy. Our daughter has never been one for kids clubs in the past but almost every day it was the first thing she would ask about. Also Larrianna in the kids club again fantastic with children and last but not least for the children the lovely Christina who sits almost every night face painting in the hot buffett area with sometimes a que of eager kids. Patience I think is the word again!

The waiters around the pool are great (More about the pool area later in the not so goods). Special mention to Michael. Natalie and Maria who are always efficient in what they do friendly and attentive.

The food in the most part was very good. Breakfast has just about anything you could possibly want including the fantastic omellete chef who always loves to have a chat and turns making an omelette into a show and an experience. Most evenings we went to the half board buffet restaurant. The food is excellent ( even the desserts were fantastic and these we have found are sometimes a let down abroad ) and there is usually something for everyone from cold meats to the BBQ area. i would have to say on both the Cypriot themed nights we found the food to be poor. We also visted the Italian Bacco's which was very good and worth a try and the Mediteraneo over looking the sea where we had lobster, prawns and fish with friends. This was very average at best despite the best efforts of the staff. The staff in the restaraunts are great especially Alla and Cedric who meet you and take you to your table in the buffett and breakfast areas always pleased to see you and smiling and chatting away which makes you feel very much at home and looked after.

There are only two real problems that must be noted at this hotel......... Firstly the cost of drinks. Now I know the manager will probably say that it is a 5 star hotel and prices are in line with others etc etc etc and I totally get that, but how can it be right that a bottle of water around the pool is ( prices approx) €3.25 at the buffet restaraunt it is €4.85 yet 6 bottles for €6 euros brought to your room? Blackcurrant squash for the children €1.15 ( excluding water )! around the pool €3.50 in the buffet! I really do understand that if you go to a quality hotel then you have to expect to pay the prices but I hate being tucked up and that is what is happening here. An iced coffe around the pool €8 come on. Sort this problem out. People will I am sure still spend as much money on drinks in total if they are individually cheaper but feel less aggrieved at what is going on.

The other problem as others have mentioned is the sun beds. When we first arrived the reserving of sunbeds was already going on and however much you may say we are not going to do it, it is quite simple , if you don't you wont get one or certainly not one where you want it. We were lucky in that my wife goes running most mornings so on her way out she put out the towels at around 8 am but even by then a lot had already gone. Towards the end of last week the hotel was clearly becoming much busier ( I dred to think how it will be when the Schools break for summer ) any way on our last day my wife is strolling down to put our towels out when she notices a woman probably a 100M away who begins to sprint with her Li-Lo inflattable bed thing in her hands. Clearly she had decided that the beds we had been using SHE wanted from here on in. SO she runs and launcehes her Li-Lo across the beds of her choice. Unbelievable scene and there this Cyprot woman stood guarding her beds until my wife removed herself from the exclusion zone. Guess what ... she didnt return to those beds untill gone midday. We witnessed two or three heated moments over sunbeds and before long there will be one almighty puch up i'm sure!

I don't know the way over the bed situation. Certainly most people don't go on holiday to be up at 7.30 in the morning to reserve beds. The management need to put their thinking hats on and fast . I texted some friends who are still there this morning and by 7.30 all the beds were taken.

All in all this is a lovely hotel and the staff really do make the stay a pleasure. Until the last couple of days when the sunbed situation got beyond a joke we were ready to re-book for next year but now I doubt that we will. We paid a lot of money for the room we were in and the 5 star experience and that is exactly what we got except the two main points above.

So the question is management what are you going to do about it????

Room Tip: Royal Viila suite. Garden view for a shaded pool in the afternoon or seaview to stay in the sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Elysium where we had an amazing holiday.
On arrival we were checked in promptly and were given an ice cold fruit drink to have while out bags were taken to our room.
Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the tennis courts. The rooms are spacious and well kept; we had a king sized bed which was very comfortable and bedding is changed as requested.
There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a mini bar should you choose to use it.
The hotel offers a water delivery service; 6 x 1.5lt bottles for €6.
The only down side was that the air conditioning in the rooms were not the best and at times it felt quite warm through the night; corridors on the upper floors were also not air conditioned during our stay so very hot walking around.
The staff at this hotel are faultless, always very polite and professional and always there to help out.

The pool area is lovely and plenty of sunbeds always available throughout the day. The pool boys work very hard and are always on hand to find you a free sunbed and parasol.
There is a waiter service around the pool/beach which is lovely but easy to spend a fair bit of money if you're not careful. Ice cold flannels are brought around at 1pm by the pool staff; much needed in the 40 degree heat.
The outdoor pool is very warm and always very clean; depths of 1.2metres so ideal for children.

The indoor pool is lovely and cool and great for a proper swim; we didn't use the spa during our stay but it looked lovely.

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants for lunch or dinner as plenty of good restaurants less than 1km from the hotel. Breakfast buffet was lovely and plenty of variety to choose from; food was always hot and replenished regularly by the chefs.

The hotel offers free wifi for u to use throughout the holiday; wifi can be picked up in your rooms and all the way down to the beach.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would love to stay here again on our next trip to Cyprus.
When booking your holiday this hotel may seem a little more expensive than other hotels in the area, but when you arrive you will see that it was well worth the money.

Thank to all the staff at The Elysium for a fantastic holiday.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the Elysium for my birthday for 4 days. Firstly, I have to say what a wonderful hotel it was. The staff were absolutely wonderful throughout the hotel. Second, the breakfast selection was as good as you could get anywhere. Third, the location of the hotel was ideal. It's near to the harbour, shopping centre also close to some very reasonable drinking establishments.
What we did not like and found irritating was where the hotel used every conceivable opportunity to extract money from your pocket. Examples of this were the bottles of water suddenly appearing in our hotel room when we did not request any at a cost of six Euros. Although we didn't use them, they appeared on our final bill. Room service was misleading, when I purchased an orange juice to take up to the room only to be told someone would bring it up with no suggestion you had to pay for that service. The orange juice was 5 Euros, it appeared on our bill as 8.50 euros room service which we queried when checking out. We had to explain we did not ask for it because the waiter said it's the same as drinking it at the bar so we allowed the waiter to bring it up to our room.
The hotels policy states you cannot reserve sun loungers and towels would be removed if this was done. However, every single sun bed around the pool area was taken and only once did we get a sun lounger on the grass area.
The food on the Cypriot night, in our opinion only, was tasteless. There was only one fish and one pasta option and both of those were bland. The cost was almost 100 Euros, which was a special birthday meal for myself and we had no alcohol!
Finally, we have stayed at 5 star hotels in the past where water

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Browniepoints614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecEly, General Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member Browniepoints614,

Thank you for choosing the Elysium for your recent holiday and for taking the time to review your experience on Tripadvisor.
We would also like to thank you for your nice comments about our hotel, the facilities, the services and mostly our staff.
In regards to the issues mentioned in your review, which needless to mention that will be thoroughly looked into, we would like to comment the following:
1) The prices of the services offered are in line with 5 star properties of the island.
2) We do not reserve sunbeds and towels are removed after certain time which is advised to our guests by our Pool Attendants. However, even in the case that the swimming pool area is busy, there is plenty of space for sunbathing on the grass areas and the beach.
3) We are surprised to learn that you were not happy with the options and the quality of food at the Cyprus Night. The food options of the Cyprus Night include the cold buffet with a wide variety of local salads, appetizers and dips a wide selection of main dishes including a BBQ station and we even prepare on the spot fresh halloumi, the popular cheese of Cyprus. The dessert buffet includes a variety of all local sweets and fresh fruit. Additionally in case a guests asks for something which might not be included on the buffet selection out staff is always willing to accommodate such request and keep our guests happy. However, we would like to assure you that your comments about the Cyprus Night will be transferred to our Executive Chef and will be looked into.

We would like to thank you once again and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Thank you
Best regards

Christos Papamiltiadous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon at the magnificent Elysium Hotel hoping for a perfect, relaxing, romantic, luxury holiday and we were not disappointed. From the moment you walk into the stunningly beautiful reception area and lounge you know you are in for a treat. The decor and atmosphere are opulent without being intimidating, warm welcoming smiles are universal. In fact the only thing better than the hotel itself are the wonderful members of staff, from the cleaning and maintenance staff to the waiters, reception, bar staff and management everyone has a friendly smile and a genuine interest in making your stay truly memorable. The variety and quality of the food is fantastic, cooked to perfection and presented with care and flare. Other small details which make a difference are UK style 3 pin plug sockets, so no need for adapters and unusually for Greece toilets you can put loo paper down so no smelly bins!
The Elysium has got the blend of luxury hotel and family run hotel feel just right, never intrusive but you can tell they really care for their guests, not just going through the motions. This is without doubt the best 5 star resort hotel we have ever stayed in, and we are definable booking up for 2015 to celebrate our 1st anniversary in style.
Finally try the 3 berry daiquiri, prepared in the swim up pool bar by David and Elias - just perfect!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,683 reviews
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 85 in Paphos
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
2.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Property: Elysium Hotel
Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing