We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FINE HOTEL, BUT 5*?”
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Arranged by Fleetway via Sunday Times Secret Escapes. Hotel has unique, pleasant architecture, nice gardens and comparatively secluded location. Friendly, efficient staff except for reception who seemed always on the defensive. Rooms are actually slightly larger version of standard airport hotel pattern; passageway leading in, bathroom on one side and wardrobes on the other. First snag -- wardrobe doors are hinged not sliding so when open nobody can get in or out of bathroom! Aircon effective but stingy - only worked with roomcard in slot - no return to cool room after hot day out! Aircon also limited to bedrooms and main foyer, leaving some parts of hotel stifling hot. Now main grouse - in 5* hotel I don't expect to fetch my own food at dinner. Apart from 2 expensive (and almost deserted) a la carte facilities, the only provision for dinner was a buffet outside on the terrace (no aircon again). Dimly lit and easy to miss steps. Roaring barbeque some nights but no protection against accidental contact by wandering guests.
In our sea view room we had to look across the forecourt of the hotel and adjacent waste ground with rubbish skip in the middle to see said sea. Prices for extras seemed quite high. Shared transfers arranged with A2B were dreadful.

Room Tip: Choose between overlooking pool and restaurant area or outward facing - some views of surrounding ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 601NEMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecEly, General Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Trip advisor member 601NEMO,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write this review. We are very glad that you liked the hotel’s architecture, the landscape and the services provided by our staff.
Constructive guest comments greatly assist us in constantly evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities and therefore all comments of both positive, as well as negative nature, are being thoroughly looked into.
However, in regards to the comments mentioned in your review, we would like to comment as follows:
1. The air-condition in the room works with the room card in slot and this is part of our environmental policy. In an effort to contribute to less power consumption we are applying this measure together with some others in order to assist towards a better environment and less pollution.
2. In regards to the dining options we would like to comment that apart from the buffet dinners we have three a la carte restaurants at the Elysium which offer diners a full plated service; the O’Shin Restaurant serving Asian cuisine, the Ristorante Bacco which serves Italian Cuisine and the Mediterraneo Restaurant with serves local fresh fish and seafood. All three restaurants are well established. They are also highly appreciated and commented by guests through various means including social media and is acknowledged for offering both high standards of food quality and service too. Their prices are on line with other five star hotels. We would also like to add that we offer now the option of an indoor air-conditioned area for dining at the buffet dinner.

We would like to thank you once again and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards

Christos Papamiltiadous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,430 - 1,436 of 3,390 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Elysium is one of those resorts where you stay even for just a day and you leave completely refreshed. It surpassed my expectations. We visited on a Monday which was a chance to experience the 'Cyprus Night', held every Monday night. It was a real treat - the food was delicious and the hospitality was excellent. So was our breakfast - rich and plentiful. We took advantage of the recommended Spa facilities and relaxed by the pool before leaving. We had a very comfortable sleep during the night and overall felt that our stay was worth our time and money. We are planning to re-visit soon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kyriacos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecEly, General Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor member Kyriakos D,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Elysium and for taking the time to write this review. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and services and particularly the Cyprus Night.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Elysium in the future.

Thank you

Best regards

Christos Papamiltiadous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We enjoyed a fabulous 7-night stay at the Elysium and would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Paphos. The bedrooms were all well-equipped, spotlessly clean and well-maintained. We upgraded to a maisonette-style room with separate upstairs bedroom area, 2 bathrooms and a downstairs living area with outside patio. This was extremely spacious and comfortable.
The buffets at the Epicurean Restaurant each evening were of a very high standard and extremely varied, as were the breakfasts. The eating area outside is spacious and very attractive - good place to watch the sun setting while enjoying the local wine.
The staff were particularly helpful and friendly and cannot be praised highly enough.
Any negatives? Well, not really, but it would be helpful if the guest relations personnel were available early in the mornings and evenings; they tended to keep office hours which we found not particularly user-friendly. When we were around to use their services, however, they were courteous and helpful. An on-site ATM might also be useful.
The beverage prices were steep a you would expect in a hotel of this quality but service was always provided with a smile and free nibbles!
If staying at the Elysium you should take the chance to visit the Tombs of Kings; it is virtually next door and well worth a stroll.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecEly, General Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor member Gill B,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Elysium and for taking the time to write this review. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed staying in the Cyprian Maisonette and you were also satisfied with the food, the service and the friendliness of our staff.
In regards to your comment about the Guest Relations Services we would like to add that any time this service is not available our guests can be served through the reception desk.
We would like to thank you once again for your positive comments and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Elysium in the future.

Best regards

Christos Papamiltiadous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the Elysium for the first 10 days of August and had an amazing time. From the moment we arrived and received our welcome drinks to the moment the left we were treated fabulously by every single member of staff from the General Manager to the Maids who looked after our room. I had emailed ahead and asked if there was a chance of upgrading as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. As it we were arriving during the very peak of the season I did not really expect anything other than perhaps a bottle of champagne. However when we arrived we were told that we had been upgraded to a side sea view room and few days later we received an invitation from the General Manager to meet him where he offered us a complimentary meal at the Ristorante Bacco on our anniversary. The meal was lovely and the restaurants setting and ambience was perfect for us to celebrate 17 years together. Oh, and we got that bottle of champagne too!
The deluxe side sea view room we had was very nice and had everything you would expect, including all the usual quality toiletries in the bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities etc. As we had our daughter in the room with us cupboard space was a little at a premium but not a big problem. The beds were superb, with a memory foam topping which made them very comfortable. We were not too worried by the outlook from the balcony as we know the area around the hotel well and knew that unless we had a sea view room or villa we would have to look out on some vacant lots of land that are somewhat scruffy. This is not the hotels fault and as we spent most of our time out of the room was not a problem. We were there on a B&B basis and the breakfast choice was really good, with plenty of variety every day, and they even had a chef who made omelettes to order whilst singing and joking as you waited. We never had to wait for a table and as soon as we sat down a waiter would appear offering tea or coffee.
If you are worried by some of the other reviews on here mentioning issues over getting a place by the pool, don't be. As I've said, we were there until yesterday and usually went down for breakfast for 9.30am before going out to the pool. On no occasion did we struggle to get a sunbed, and there were three of us. Of course some of the prime spots were taken but there were still lots of free loungers near the pool or on the grassy area a few feet away - the Elysium is not one of those places where you cannot get a decent spot unless you leave your towel out at 3am! In addition, there were staff there who were on hand to help people find the right spot and to help with moving the loungers or parasols around - and others who came round to take drinks/food orders from you if you wanted that.
The pools were big enough for families to mess about in without causing inconvenience to others and were very safe - no sharp edges or poorly maintained areas, as well as having specific kids pools with a slide etc.
The grounds are spotless and beautifully laid out as are the communal areas such as the lobby. We often spent the late afternoon in the Café Occidental reading our books and sharing a pot of tea, which was bliss.
In case this is beginning to sound like a review written by a member of staff there were a few small disappointments. Firstly the WiFi is free but very slow and patchy unless you pay for faster service - something I know happens in other hotels but that I find somewhat mercenary and unbecoming of a place like the Elysium (we were given complimentary upgraded Wi-Fi as part of our holiday package so I'm not writng this out of annoyance at having to pay for it). Also, as has been mentioned in previous reviews, you are not allowed to bring your own items of food and drink into the hotel on spurious health and safety grounds and the cost of drinks and snacks on site are very high. That said, this is little different from similar premium hotels and the quality of food and drinks we had was superlative.
We have been to Paphos three times before and always said as we passed that we would love to some day stay at the Elysium. Having done so I can honestly say that it more than exceeded our expectations - the place is stunning and the staff are amazing - I cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJROxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family visited the Elysium for 2 weeks in July, having stayed in many 5 star hotels, this one stands head and shoulders above the rest, purely because of the staff employed to work there. They are a remarkable team. Offering excellent service, attention to detail and courtesy but with a smile and a level of friendliness rarely seen these days. It is difficult to pick out individuals as it is obvious that they all work extremely hard, but Marina was a true professional at breakfast and diner, her experience was obvious, chatting away to everyone but always alert, she was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. Eliana was a joy with our little girl, greeting her with a huge smile every morning and so very kind. Last (but never least), Marios the chef, produced wonderful breakfasts (& cheeses) and very happy faces with his pure enthusiasm. This is a team of people that make you feel as if you are returning home and never want to leave. I would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are very accessable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank matt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecEly, General Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor member Matt M,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Elysium and for taking the time to write this review. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We will pass your positive comments to our staff and especially to the ones that you have named; Marina, Marios and Eliana.
We would like to thank you once again for recommending our hotel and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Elysium in the future.

Best regards

Christos Papamiltiadous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent service from all staff. Super room with luxurious bed and bedding. Great toiletries and attention to detail with room cleanliness throughout hotel and surrounds. Restaurant food was brilliant. Breakfasts best I've ever had. So much to choose from and all fresh and plentiful. Even in the heat enjoyed the tennis courts early evening followed by cooling dip in the indoor pool -bliss. Only downsides were the costs of food and drink if not included in your plan - costly and a large addition to your holiday bill. Loved the holiday but disappointed with Cyprus. Nothing much surrounding the hotel so forget a scenic prom along the coast to pathos harbour. I'd love to return to the hotel but would need a small windfall to pay for my drinks bill! ( even water was five euros a bottle,)

Room Tip: Fourth floor full pool/sea view or over tennis courts ans mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dawnee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I have just completed a week here and have been very impressed with almost every aspect of this hotel. The service has been unbelievable as have been the facilities. The complex is grand as was our room. Staff are friendly and the grounds etc are clean. Breakfast is as good as any you'll get though the buffet dinner (we had half board) left a bit to be desired. The only other downside was the small black sand beach though the many pools more than made up for it.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mafaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecEly, General Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Mafaras,

Thank you for taking some time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
We would like to thank you for your comments in regards to our hotel facilities, the cleanliness, the breakfast and the service you have received from our staff. In regards to your comments about the evening buffet we would like to assure you that we will look into this matter with our kitchen team.

We would like to thank you once again for your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Elysium in the future.


Best regards

Christos Papamiltiadous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,776 reviews
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £111 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing