We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again exceeding expectations...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Once again exceeding expectations...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Elysium the very first week that it opened back in 2002, and although it had its teething problems then, it was still a very good holiday. Coming back twelve years later, it was always going to be a challenge for the hotel to match/exceed our expectations.

On arrival, the staff were friendly and we were greeted with a welcome drink. As a party of seven, I feel our arrival was handled exceptionally well and all three of our rooms were ready when we arrived. The concierge escorted us to our rooms which were made up, clean, had a plate of fresh fruit, water and most importantly, air-conditioning.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon, and although the hotel was apparently 95% full, it wasn't obvious at all as due to the nature of it's size, you always feel you have plenty of space and it doesn't feel over-crowded which is superb.

The buffet meal in the evening has a lot of variety to cater for all ages and the staff make a real effort to get to know you. After going to breakfast and dinner for a few days, it's always the same staff so they speak to you as if you've known them for years, it's very welcoming and much appreciated. The food is good, not too fancy and there's a variety of other restaurants to choose from if the buffet doesn't take your fancy.

I have to take this opportunity to thank a particular member of staff at the Elysium who exceeded every expectation of the hotel and is one of the sole reasons we will return in future. Vaneta, in the Occidental Cafe, is superb in every way - she spoke to us every night at length and is such a welcoming person to have working at the hotel. She always greeted us with a smile, and if anything was wrong she'd get it rectified immediately (even if it wasn't her problem - more about this shortly). The management at the Elysium really need to recognise the talent here, she's an asset to the hotel so thank you.

The hotel is great for entertainment. There are regular music nights in the bar and the Cypriot night buffet had great performances from a local group. One night that will remain one of the most memorable is the Summer Beach Party. Elysium has it's own private beach on the property which played host to the Summer Beach Party on Tuesday night, we paid $200 for seven of us to have a reserved area on the beach with a free bar all night. On this occasion it was free entry for those who didn't want to reserve an area so all guests were welcome between 9pm - 12.30am. This is where I really want to echo the point of if something goes wrong, they fix it and make sure it doesn't go wrong again.

We waited a long time for our first round of drinks and then for our second round it took over two hours and had to be ordered by three different people before the drinks finally came. Vaneta once again stepped in and ensured we were looked after all night, and we appreciate this a great deal - it wouldn't have been anywhere as near as enjoyable otherwise. Raj and the team quickly rectified the problems we were having and for the final couple of hours of the party we were treated exceptionally well, we even had the staff up and dancing the Macarena which was a highlight and something that was thoroughly enjoyed by all. It was a shame that the candle sticks that were on the beach had to be taken down due to children pulling one over and a child getting burnt - maybe they should have something separate for children in future, as this seemed more appropriate as a 14+ sort of event. Nonetheless, it was still a great evening.

Staff at the pool are generally great, catering for your every need, and the pool bar is lovely when you fancy a refreshment after sitting in the 35 degree heat!

The management team are really friendly from what we've seen. Raj (the F&B manager) always came over and shook hands with a firm handshake which is great to see and very welcoming. We also saw the GM walking around also which is good to see in a hotel.

Overall, the rooms are great and spacious with a balcony, most of the staff are exceptional and the Elysium is a fantastic hotel that is up there with the best in the world. Thank you Elysium, and see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,503
    440
    103
    39
    24
See reviews for
897
1,639
58
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Since my first review of this hotel in 2012, which outlined the service issues in the buffet restaurant as the only downside to my stay, I have visited the Elysium on two further occasions. I should have updated my review last September when I found that the restaurant service had greatly improved but the real test of improvement came on my latest visit in July with the hotel full at the start of the kids school holiday season. I'm glad to say that the improved service in the restaurant was maintained and even improved further. This is now my favourite place to be in Cyprus and I would be surprised at anyone who failed to have a great holiday at the Elysium. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 413JimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I have visited many hotels around Cyprus but the Elysium is unparalleled. If you're a mythology lover like me, you'll be inspired from the moment you walk in when you are greeted by the muses and it just keeps getting better. I adore the Elysium's attention to detail, be it the furniture, rooms, cleanliness, service, delicious food and that corridor that leads to the Epicurean dining room is a splendour to behold. I have always found the staff to be smiling and friendly but discreet - not that over chatty manner that can be irritating at other hotels I have stayed at. As for the grounds, those gardens around the hotel transport you to a Tuscan villa and the hidden nooks and crannies are beautied delight - and be sure to find the waters of Lethe that are snuggled on one side of the hotel! It's a also very family friendly hotel with room for children to roam about as well as their Angel Kids Club. Considering what you receive, their prices are very reasonable indeed. So don't forget your tiaras and crowns people because you are made to feel rightly royal at the Elysium!

Room Tip: I adore the rooms with a side sea view as you get to see the beautiful gardens too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erini L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

we have stayed at the Elysium many times this time with my 5year old Granson and my mum everything
about this Hotel ticks all the right boxes the staff as always are brilliant always come away feeling relaxed stress free and happy thank you as always.

Room Tip: All types are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel has excellent facilities and service. Rooms are well appointed. The grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept, plenty of room for all guests. Food served was always hot and varied. The hotel has all the amenities you would expect of a five star hotel; however in general I found Paphos to be over commercialised.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAEDAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, have been coming to Cyprus for over 20 years and I can say with confidence this is the best hotel in Paphos.

Service is fantastic, so many staff and so well trained they are incredibly obliging especially the grounds staff and waiters.

The hotel is exceptionally good value (we are on B&B) and the breakfast has a great selection with very happy staff (especially the head chef!)

Grounds are well kept and the pools and beach are great, always enough sunbeds even of you come down at 11:30!

Great for family's and adults too

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank rgoldblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The facilities of this hotel are excellent! The swimming pool is big enough for all the guests, the private beach is wonderful, and there are always enough sunbeds. The Spa is an extra gem too, with an inside pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna as well a relaxation room.

ALL of the staff were extremely friendly and very attentive to all your needs.

The breakfast was incredible, so much to choose from.

The bedroom was spacious and very clean. The bathroom could have more light as it was rather dark. The rooms had much needed AC which was great. The double glazed windows shut out the noise from outside but it was noisy from the corridors, especially in the mornings.

This is a lovely hotel, I would come here again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.7 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#17 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
2.9 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Property: Elysium Hotel
Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#3 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Destinology, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing