We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at its Best”
Review of Elysium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elysium Hotel
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed here for 7 days and enjoyed every minute.
What makes this place is the service the staff fantastic, from the chef at breakfast, to the
room stewardess and everyone else they really want to look after you.

The food is of top order in all the restuarants, we tried room service just as good and held in a hot box till you are ready to eat. Tried the BBQ buffet outside lovely watching the sunset and eating well. They do a dine around which we wished we had taken it up as it would be really worth it.

In the lounge is a display of cakes stunning in both taste and visual looks and coffee is made fresh great after walking around pafos.

Local dining is of good to indifferent or if you have hired a car go further out and get some nice tavernas and prices. Though there is a big Kentucky Fried Chicken joint at the top of the road!!

We both had a spa treatment really good and very professional loved it.

Ok the beach sand is black but they built a barrier so no really big waves and for the snorkelers plenty of fish all sizes to see and watch near the barrier and rocky edges.

We would love to come back and it will stay in our minds for a long time.

They have there own chapel on site and that would make this a great wedding venue.

Thankyou Elysium for such a great stay

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellymallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,691 - 2,697 of 3,456 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed at Elyseum for 4 days and was really sorry to leave. The hotel and its grounds are really nice but what is really outstanding is the service. Everyone is doing its best to serve or be helpful with a smile. Fantastic breakfast and a cheerful start of the day by the smiling people serving.
Drink prices not more expensive than other less fancy hotels in Cyprus.
The only minor comment I have is that pools are not more than 1.5 m deep and so water temperature under the August Cyprus sun gets too warm for comfort.
All in all a truly fantastic stay and will surely visit again

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Amazing hotel, amazing food, amazing staff. Will I ever go to Elysium again ? I will..again and again and again ! Hands down, Elysium is the best hotel in the island. Keep up the good work and the smile guys !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eminem66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Pros: The Elysium is a fabulous hotel and certainly lives up to its 5 star status - the gardens are spacious and beautiful. It is able to accommodate families and couples with ease and without upsetting either. We enjoyed watching a number of weddings whilst we were there!
The staff are excellent, courteous and very helpful - nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are reasonably spacious and comfortable - we had inter-connecting sea-view deluxe rooms on the third floor as my 10 year old occasionally sleep-walks - I love having a beer on the balcony watching the sunset directly in front of me every evening.
The breakfast buffet selection in the Lemonia restaurant is as good as I've had anywhere in the world. In the evening, we found that The Epicurean Terrace was superb - the best meals of the holiday were eaten here. Special mention to Luigi! Ristorante Bacco serves excellent speciality Tuscan food but I personally found the atmosphere a little claustrophobic and dreadfully hot and sweaty in the evening - it's in an enclosed courtyard with no air circulation - which rather spoilt the atmosphere.
We didn't really do the evening specialty buffets - its not our thing, so can't really comment but, talking to others I think they are very well received. The O'Shinns Sushi Bar was also left out of our itinerary as one of my children hates seafood!
The Elysium has plenty of space so you never feel claustrophobic despite the hotel being full to capacity whilst we were there - yes there is a certain amount of towel laying in the early morning - actually the British being the worst offenders! - but there are plenty of sun-loungers and umbrellas to go round and the helpful pool/beach staff will set everything up for you. The beach is small with black sand (watch your feet burn in the height of the day, remember your flip flops) but very pleasant for a refreshing dip in the sea.
The Martini Nights on the beach and promenade were excellent - indeed, I was surprised as, I had a feeling they would be a little tacky, but far from it.

Cons: The location can be difficult for some. We've been to Paphos 3 times before and had no great intention of going into town this time which is either a 30 to 40 minute walk away or a taxi ride. This can limit your evening dining options locally, but there are some great places nearby - yes, I know you have to walk past the Karoake bars and nightclubs, but I suggest you try Martelli (Pizza) Orveto (Italian), Chino (Chinese), Koh-i-noor (Indian) or any of the Authentic Greek Restaurants for excellent food in relaxing atmospheres.
Unfortunately, the biggest problem with the Elysium is the swimming pool. As an adult there are fantastic pools for swimming lengths - both outdoors and indoors. But is seemed that the main pool may have a problem with its filtration and chlorination. Whilst we were there, in the middle of August, it seemed that numerous children were coming down with external ear infections one after the other (including my 10 year old). Indeed, the local pharmacy was doing a roaring trade in antibiotic/steroid ear drops, antibiotics and ear plugs. I suspect the problem is the shallowness of the water - especially in the slide pool and in the baby pool, along with the heat (by the day's end the pool water was bath water temperature) and the fact that a lot of the children were shooting each other with water guns/pistols.
I brought-up my concerns regarding the cleanliness of the pool with the manager (I should know a thing or two as I am an Ear, Nose and Throat Consultant) at the weekly cocktail party and to his credit he promised to look into the situation, indeed, we noticed on the last day the pool staff adding extra chlorine). My advice - spend some money on good silicone type ear plugs for the kids before you travel.

Having said all this - we will be returning next year so the Elysium must be doing something right! It's a great place for a thoroughly relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HomeJames991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecEly, Manager at Elysium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Dear Tripadvisor Member harripg

Thank you for taking some time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us and for your wonderful comments regarding your holiday here at the Elysium.

Guest comments are our most important tool in evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities and they are therefore taking into serious consideration.

In regards to your comment about an “infected” pool, we would like to clarify that all our hotel areas, including sensitive areas like the pools, are under constant surveillance and maintenance in regards to safety and hazard. We abide by all regulations specified by the laws and within these regulations the pool water is chemically tested on a regular basis by a certified laboratory and the results, which are according to standards, are at the entire disposal for any person that would like to consult them.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Elysium in the near future,

Thank you

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This is a Stunning hotel from the moment you enter the grounds.
The staff are very helpful an will attend to your every need.
We Stayed in a Garden villa it was supurb and it was lovely having to plung pool and the sea view was amazing especially at sunset.It was serviced 3 times daily and they would leave a treet every afternoon.
The breakfast was one of the best i've had.
This is a truly 5 star hotel with service levels to match

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ONYER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We spent ten wonderfully relaxing days at the elysium and felt thoroughly spoilt by the staff who are exceptional in their desire to please. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in one of the Royal garden Villas, which I can highly recommend. There were two very minor difficulties with the garden parasol and the water fountain which were resolved promptly and with great consideration. Without exception every member of staff that we came into contact with were simply lovely, from the maid service, bar staff, concierge to the friendliness of the gardeners. Worthy of a special mention are Cynthia, who was delightful in ensuring that our stay was to our satisfaction.

Other reviews have commented on the price of the drinks, however what does need to be taken into consideration is the quality of the bar staff, their attention to detail, the setting in which the drinks are served. The cocktails are made generously and therefore we felt comfortable with the cost.

Those staying at the garden Villas have exclusive use of a beautiful pool, with individual waitress service. Complimentary fruit smoothies were bought to us at mid morning and a fruit platter in the afternoon. We were aware that it was possible for those not staying at Royal Villas to use the pool without the staff realizing this and this is unfair to those who have paid extra for the exclusivity. If we could make a suggestion to the management it would be to provide different coloured towels from the rest of the hotel, perhaps burgundy and this would clearly demonstrate to the staff who was eligible to bathe around the pool area and would be a cost effective way of maintaining the Royal Villa guests comfort.

Our stay was faultless, and we have the Elysium staff to thank for that.

Lucette Issartel and Daniel Wright.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucetteissartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Don't normally do reviews but we have returned from a different holiday destination wishing we had paid the extra and returned to the Elysium.
Yes the hotel is expensive but you get what you pay for and are rarely disappointed.
The half board option is a must as your choice of food is fantastic and of such a high standard its never worth going out. Our favourite is the terrace brasserie messina.
Our son is eight and loves the kids club where Roseleen is always there proving a big hit with the children and giving adults great piece of mind.
Service is fantastic and as repeat guests over six visits its great to see the same faces proving that this is a well managed hotel that can obviously keep their staff.
My advice would be don't hesitate to pay the extra it well worth it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triedandtested45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,874 reviews
2.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
2.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Hotel

Address: Queen Verenikis Street | PO Box 60701, Paphos 8107, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#1 Business Hotel in Paphos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#2 Family Hotel in Paphos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#3 Spa Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £110 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elysium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Elysium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Resort Paphos
Elysium Hotel Paphos
Elysium Paphos
Elysium Cyprus
Elysium Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing