We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week”
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #20 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great week”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Just back from our week at the Almyra - being a couple with no kids the Eauzone/Infinity Pool area was priceless as the rest of the hotel had a high number of very very young children when we stayed. We didn't spend any time at all by the other pool.

Our room was overlooking the sea and was just right for what we needed. Nothing over the top but nice and clean and comfortable.

Service wise we found the staff generally fantastic with no real negatives. A couple of staff members in the Eauzone and Mosaics Restaurant really made the week enjoyable for us both.

We were on half-board so apart from a couple of lunches at the Eauzone we ate solely in Mosaics for breakfast and dinner. Buffet style, we couldn't fault it at all. In fact some bits were superb especially the Chocolate Cake.

The gym within the Spa area is perfect if you want to work out, and the Infinity Pool area is a perfect place to spend the day. Quite a few parents put their kids in what looked like a very good crèche and spent the day there also.

The hotel was formerly the Paphos Beach, and they've clearly refurbished it to be more "boutique" like. Overall this works - the foyer is a bit cavernous, some of the fittings in the bedroom needed some work (shaver point, shower head) but otherwise no complaints. The lifts are fun!

We would go back readily.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Occasional_Feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,121
    495
    160
    55
    29
See reviews for
582
785
77
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

i prearranged flowers & champange to be in the room for our arrival on honeymoon, the staff were excellent in organising this for us. As we arrived late & were tired we didnt open the champange straight away.As the champange was purchased from the hotel the following night we requested to drink the champange with our evening meal in the Mosaics restaurant., only to be told we couldnt & had to purchase a bottle of wine. We complained to reception that we wanted a refund of our 87 euro Moet champange & suddenly we were allowed to drink it the following night.
We booked a superior sea view room, which overall is adequate but theres nothing superior about it. No complimentry water, no internet wifi even though its advertised throughout the hotel, use the fridge to put your own bottles in & get charged,
Room service is something to be admired.nothing is replaced e,g shower caps shower gels when we complained we had 6 bottles left the floors had not be cleaned properly for a 5 star hotlel this should be standard.
we needed a iron so we called the reception only to be told that due to health and safety, irons are not available.i asked to speak to the manager who called me back he was so rude and arragont he told me that there was no way i could have a iron i had to pay to have my clothes ironed he then very rudely put the phone down on me. i again called reception and a young lady manager called me who had much better customer relation skills and sent me a iron and ironing board.all they try to do in this hotel is make money out of you every way they possibly can.
Location ideal, food average, staff not very knowledgeable on local issues but polite.
There is very little beach at & around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balaujla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We understand that we might not have met your expectations during your stay, however we did respond to your complaints immediately to resolve them


We would like to respond to a couple of your comments, the first being your request to take a bottle of champagne to the restaurant with you. There was an initial misunderstanding whereby the restaurant team did not realise the champagne had been purchased in the Hotel. It is however our pleasure to honour specific requests such as these, and we apologise this did not go as smoothly as expected. We are glad however that you were able to enjoy the champagne with dinner the following evening.


We would like to confirm that we do have WIFI in all the guest rooms and throughout the hotel, and we are surprised to hear that your issues were not responded to.


Guest Room amenities are replenished daily, again we can only apologise that this did not happen in your case.


Additionally we do not provide irons and ironing boards in the rooms as we try to avoid placing our guests at risk. I made an exception to offer you an iron as a gesture of good will. We will make all efforts that this is better communicated to our future guests.


I would like to assure you that the Manager you talked with is very guest orientated and frequently receives great feedback from guests. He was upholding our hotel policy, and it is not his usual demeanor to communicate with guests in the way you described, He later sent you an apology note to clarify any misunderstanding.


Please be advised that we have taken your feedback very seriously and rest assured that should you decide to return to Almyra, we trust that your overall experience will be much more enjoyable.
Kind Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed with the family I can say nothing close to a five stars max 3 stars. Overpriced for the status of the hotel the only positive part is the location of the hotel otherwise terrible. Rooms below level public areas and garden not maintained and staff most of them by the book they hardly know what hospitality means. There is no single restaurant in the hotel which is up to 5 star standards what you see on the site is different from the experience you will have. I think they don't care much due to mass tourism in the area but for a vacation I did not enjoy the stay in this hotel. I wrote the MSG while I'm still in the hotel as I could not hold my disappointment till I go back home. I don't know how they rate hotels in Cyprus but I think they should have higher standards.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Champfxcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Almyra, we are saddened to hear that you are not enjoying your stay with us, in addition to receiving your feedback on Trip Advisor whilst you are still at our Hotel. This is an unusual and disappointing situation for us.

We invite feedback from our guests on daily basis throughout their stay, and consistently follow up with our guests in response to their comments. I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your comments with you in person, and to be able to recover your initial impression as expressed here.

I am looking forward to speaking to you in person hopefully prior to leaving. Please do not hesitate to contact me at reception.

Kind Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just returned from a glorious week long stay at the Almyra. From the moment we were welcomed by George and Aphrodite (yes, really!) at reception, right up until day of departure, we could not fault the professionalism and willingness to serve of all the staff. Stayed in a garden view room which was air conditioned and met all our needs. The food and service in the dining room was excellent and the experience was not spoiled for us (as it seems it was for some) by there being lots of small children. We ate in the hotel every evening, which is unusual for us when staying in a holiday hotel. The reason being that the food was excellently presented and prepared. Could not fault this hotel and feel it is suitable for couples with or without children due to its excellent location.

Room Tip: Garden room (cheapest option) is sufficient and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Michael D

We are so pleased you chose to stay with us at Almyra, and that you had such an enjoyable stay which is the most important thing to us.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabanatuan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I had to attend a wedding in Paphos and it was the time that many tourist was about and so we had to find somewhere with a little more peace and quite despite it being near the center already.
I was told about this hotel by the family whose daugther was getting married and we were attending.It also got generally good reviews from the Tripadvisor family.

Hotel was really clean, the rooms and bathrooms smelled good, there was no funky smell anywhere.I saw their two pools and it was shaded and looked clean. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

I liked the proximity of the beach and walkway to it, was safe even for kids and lighted even at night. I like the sort of boardwalk interconnecting the back of the hotels and restaurants and the fact that you can walk all the way to the center! Thus avoiding cars and quite romantic too by the way!

We were 3.me, my husband and my youngest daughter was with us. The room was rather small for the price we paid! We can hardly move around and thank goodness we didnt have any big luggage to move around. This was the only downside to our stay there. Everything else was just A OK!

Room Tip: just choose the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I have just returned from spending a week at the Almyra Hotel and what a wonderful experience it was. The staff were excellent very friendly and helpful. The rooms are excellent, food was excellent with a great selection at both breakfast and evening meal. I cannot praise this hotel enough it is spotless in every way with cleaners buzzing about all day. The Eauzone pool area is an adults only area which is good for older visitors and it has the most comfortable sun beds one can imagine. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we have been in many a hotel. Thanks again to all the staff for their help and kindness. We will be returning next year all going well.

Room Tip: Room at the front are on the main road and can be a bit noisey especially at the weekend with the bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

What a great trip. We spent a week at the Almyra with our 2 year old son. The staff were great, they seemed genuinely warm and affectionate towards children. The food was great, the kids pool perfect and well shaded. The adult-only area was peaceful and serene. The design and decoration of the hotel instilled a sense of tranquility. Housekeeping were attentive. We would unreservedly recommend and have been prompted to write our first TripAdvisor review!

Room Tip: We had a garden view room with a terrace which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.2 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Property: Almyra Hotel
Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#11 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#25 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and relaxing, fashionable yet unpretentious, Almyra is a chic cutting-edge luxury 5 star family seafront hotel that makes contemporary luxury accessible to all. Almyra sits in eight acres of landscaped gardens on the Mediterranean shoreline of Paphos, Cyprus. Meaning 'taste of the sea', Almyra's highlights include the Almyraspa - a sun-lit utopia of organic and marine-based therapies complemented by inspiring ocean vistas - and the waterfront Kyma ('Wave') Suites, showcasing harbour views from candle-lit rooftop terraces. Almyra is a comfortable combination of modern design elements, sleek facilities and family-friendly features: because having children doesn't mean that you have to sacrifice good taste... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Bookcyprus.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing