We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good but spoilt by petty hotel "rules" and "fines"”
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Almyra for 7 nights in mid-September. We booked a "Superior Sea View Room" which does not have a balcony, but does have floor to ceiling opening doors so you can look out at the view. We were upgraded on our arrival to a "Junior Suite" (Room 214). It wasn't a suite in the traditional sense, i.e. with two separate areas, but more like a larger than normal hotel room with extra space for a long sofa, coffee table and extra wardrobes. It did not have a balcony but did have the floor-to-ceiling opening doors and a marvelous sunset view across the harbour. The room has a small safe in it, large enough for a tablet device, but you would struggle to get a laptop in it (unless you wedge it in at an angle).

The hotel decor and furnishings are what I would describe as minimalist and I thought it looked very chic in the hotel's photos on the website. Having now experienced the hotel first hand my boyfriend and I agreed that it actually looked rather sparse and somewhat basic. I think I can now safely say I would prefer a hotel with more homely decor than this minimalist style.

The bed was quite firm as were the pillows, given this I would grade our sleep quality during our stay as OK (generally waking up once or twice a night). The air conditioning was not the quietest I had experienced but wasn't overly noisy at night. The room has a mini bar fridge in it, but given the high prices we didn't use it. We were going to put our own water (from the local supermarket) in the minibar fridge, but noticed that a "fine" of 15 Euros per day was incurred if you used the minibar fridge for anything other than the hotel's own minibar drinks, baby food or medicines. We thought this 'rule' was completely ridiculous and have never seen anything like that in any other hotel around the world (or perhaps we just didn't notice it in other hotels?). The room has a nice big flat screen TV, and we found a couple of English language news channels on it. My boyfriend also managed to hook his laptop up to the TV, so we could watch programmes that we had downloaded (at home in the UK) via the TV screen. The hotel does have free wifi, but it is slow and not suitable for downloading any TV/Movies etc. The hotel does not provide tea/coffee making facilities in the room (so either take your own travel kettle, or use room service, a 'cup' of tea is 5 Euros).

Bathroom - the bathroom was small and seemed to be the standard size for hotel bathrooms. The sink, set on a marble worktop, whilst a very stylish Villeroy & Boch fitting, was shaped like a large mixing/pudding bowl with a spout mixer tap protruding over the centre of the sink. The bowl is quite small, and is only really any good for washing your hands in or cleaning your teeth over the sink. Forget trying to wash your face over it (as you will bang your head on the protruding tap/spout, and end up splashing water all over your body, down your legs etc), or trying to wash out your swimwear in it, as it is way too small and again water splashes out everywhere soaking the worktop.

The bath had two showers over it. One is a fixed shower head coming from the ceiling and the other is on a hose. The bath has a small (inadequate) glass screen which goes about one third of the length of the bath, so when you turn on the overhead shower, the entire bathroom ends up completely soaked. The floor towel was completely drenched and I had to mop the floor up with it, wringing it out three times before I'd got the floor clear of the huge puddle of water. We didn't use this overhead shower again after that and used the hose shower head instead as the spray could be controlled better. Lots of soap, shampoo, conditioner and bath foam were supplied. Dressing gowns and slippers are also provided.

Food - we had a half-board deal and found the food good, with breakfast and dinner buffet taken in Mosaics Restaurant. The choice was a little limited, but we enjoyed what was on offer. The food area is rather small, so we found ourselves waiting for the number of people around the food tables to dwindle before we went up for our next course, or you end up shuffling around all the people with a plate of food in your hand. Like most hotels, they do different themes each night (Italian night, Cypriot night, Asian night etc). I enjoyed some very nice/tender meat dishes.

Pools - the main pool has lots of double sunbeds with pillows which were very comfortable, and each with an umbrella, although due to the heavy concrete base, moving the umbrella so you can get the shade in the right place is a bit tricky. Beach towels are provided by the hotel and are dropped off in your room on most days and on the day we didn't get fresh towels we just asked for some at the Spa (no need for towel tokens or towel deposits thankfully). The main pool is black slate, and looks more like an ornamental pond rather than a swimming pool (which you'd expect to be the usual light aqua blue colour). The spa pool, which is much smaller, is a adult only area, but the sunbeds are rather crammed in together so you are very close the the next couple on their sunbed.

Another of the annoying 'rules' of the hotel is that whilst sunbathing at the spa pool, a member of staff actually told us off for drinking our own mineral water (a 1.5 litre bottle we had bought from the local supermarket). Apparently you are only allowed to drink water purchased from the spa at the spa pool. I would point out that the cheapest bottle of mineral water from the spa is 75cl in size and costs 3 Euros, whereas we bought a six pack of 1.5 litre bottles for 1.95 Euros (i.e. about 33 cents per bottle). We were so irritated by this stupid rule (and particularly how hot it is and the need to drink plenty of water) that we left the spa pool and sunbathed by the main pool for the remainder of our stay.

The reception and restaurant staff were friendly and very helpful.

The location of the hotel is excellent, it is right on the sea front, and only a few minutes walk to the main harbour with lots of restaurants and all the usual shops selling tourist tat. In addition, it is only about a 10 minute walk to the Paphos Archaeological Park (3.80 Euros to get in), so if you fancy a bit of history, it's worth a walk down there.

We don't think this hotel is really what you'd call a 5 star, more of a 4 star.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room option as you get a great view of the sunset. No need to pay for a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AccidentQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,644 - 1,650 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We first visited the Almyra in 2008 and entered a very luxurious and special hotel in Paphos. We decided to return to a hotel we knew of excellent standards, good food and superb rooms with views overlooking the bay of Paphos.
Our return trip sadly did not meet with expectations and we have come away disappointed.
Our rooms were inland facing on a high floor as requested thinking the garden would be as luxurious as the sea view rooms and considerably less expensive. Non have balconies but floor to ceiling windows which can be opened with comfortable chairs to relax and look out over the view. We actually had rooms overlooking the car park, air conditioning units above the main entrance, creche and the main road which at the weekend is like the M1 in the UK. We tried to change and Stelios was delightful and very accommodating but just didn't have anything to offer us initially. He stood by his word and offered us alternatives later in the week but these were not suitable as not connecting and not carpeted. with my elderly father with us I needed to be able to get to him quickly if required.
We stayed in our rooms in the end for the full 10 days and thankfully the noisy air conditioning units drowned out the majority of the street noise but in hindsight wished I had insisted on a change even to the sister hotel the Anabelle,
Positives - Rooms were large, well lit and good bathrooms.
Negative, Decor is tired, blinds broken, towels and linen in poor condition and carpets stained. The bathrooms were also not cleaned well throughout our stay and I drew a smiley in the dust on the tissue holder at one point, to make a point!

The hotel has changed its food offering since our last stay.
The buffet breakfast was the same and still very good but with fewer choices.
Dinner on the half board basis is now buffet style and sadly not a scratch on previous visits. The cold food selection was good with but didn't change much over 10 days, the hot food was bland, cold and lacked flavour so this became monotonous after a few days. The service is however excellent and everyone we met including Elena and other staff were always willing to help whenever possible. Other restaurants, 8 in total between the two hotels are available for guests to eat but information is not good and to eat in the alternatives incurs additional charges - the set meal in the Notios is still 39 Euros extra per head. Thankfully the Head Chef, Ashley, arranged for a couple of meals in the Notios restaurant which were excellent, very tasty and very welcome to calm our now stressed nerves and offer some means of compensation. The main dining room is lovely and you can choose to sit outside under the olive tress but it was very humid and the air con inside was more comfortable for us. However, the dining room was chaotic with only a small service area and at the time of our stay, hundreds of under school age children. Dress code is completely relaxed and shorts and tee shirts acceptable which lowers the standards of a 5* dining room. The children were everywhere we turned and with buffet style service, they were constantly in the way. With a little attention to segregation and some order to the way in and out of the service area this could be improved dramatically and allow adults only to have their meal in some peace.

Sadly the pool area caused similar consternation with the whole of the main pool, a glorious grey slate pool surrounded by double sun beds was completely taken over by nappy changing and breast feeding individuals. They completely took over the main pool throughout our stay and at one point the surface of the water was completely obliterated by inflatables. The adult only pool by the spa is available but sunbeds squeezed together so tightly you are really enjoying communal sunbathing. The pool there is also much smaller. We opted for the grass between the two and had a few days at the end of our holiday in relative peace although again the area is not well maintained and some of the sun-beds are broken - check them and take the out of commission!!

Overall our stay was pleasant, weather excellent 34' each day and made pleasant by the staff but the management needs to pay more attention. I doubt we will return to the Almyra again as we came away more stressed than when we arrived but I would certainly return to Paphos but look at the Annabelle or Elysium as hotel options.

Room Tip: Dont get 4th floor 421 or 422!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BettyLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We would like to thank Stellios and all his staff for making our stay such a memorable experience. I have not stayed in a hotel where the atmosphere was so friendly and the staff going out of their way to help and make sure we were happy with our stay. The facilities and standard of this hotel was of the best. There was an excellent choice of food and service was of the highest standard nothing was to much trouble. Should we return to Paphos this hotel would be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manxman760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at the Almyra for another superb week having spent September there ;last year as well. We were travelling with two young children and the facilities were excellent with a small toddlers pool and a main pool that was shaded from the direct sunlight, the food was good and a plentiful selection of ice creams at the pool bar made for some happy kids and happy parents! There was a creche available but we didn't feel the need to use it as the holiday was relaxing. At the other end of the complex there was a decent gym and spa with an inifinity pool for adults only should anyone feel the main pool was a little too hectic. The staff were extremely welcoming and attentive but without being intrusive. The rooms were modern, well maintained, spacious and the roof terrace was an added bonus to watch the sunset. Although we didn't take advantage of it there are also facilities available at the neigbouring Annabelle Hotel which I have also stayed at on numerous occasions.

Room Tip: With young children we benfitted from additional space of a sea facing terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We have just come back to England after spending 10 nights at the Almyra. We were very pleased the the service we got - there was no problem in changing our room to a lighter one as a tree outside made it rather dark.

The food was excellent with a wide variety to chose from - we couldn't have asked for more selection and the quality was very good.

The staff were really friendly and helpful - there were a lot of babies and young children but this didn't cause any problem for us - it seemed a great place to take a young family as they seemed to be well catered for.

We had a good holiday and the one thing which made it really great for me was that there were no mosquitos or wasps which I really dislike and hate getting bitten and not being able to enjoy eating food outside. We obviously chose a good month as apparently they are gone by September!

All in all, we would have no hesitation in going to the same hotel again. The one thing we would think about taking with us though would be a travel kettle as there was no tea/coffee making facility in the room.......being English, we like to have a cup of tea when we wake up in the morning!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela_martin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Strengths
- good position, near the seaside and the centre of city
- it has an its own spa, with full and free access for clients
- a great breakfast
- you can eat viewing the sea
- quality/price rate is very good
- you can have a great time on its grassy beach

Weaknesses
- sometimes it smells... and it is not everywhere clean
- details (such as doors handles) are old
- you must keep attention to restaurant's bill: sometimes they added something you haven't eaten or drunk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nikew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We visited the Alymyra for 4 nights in September with our 6 month old daughter. We found the hotel to be very family friendly without compromising on being a good place for an adult holiday as well. The hotel operates a "baby go lightly" service whereby you can request specific items (many complimentary) such as a baby gym, bouncy chair, books, nappies, wipes, a kettle, steriliser etc etc. All items requested were in our room (we had been upgraded to a sea view room) on arrival, and when I requested some wipes during our stay they arrived within 5 minutes. The items looked very clean and practically new. There are slopes everywhere in the hotel so we never had to drag a buggy up or down stairs. The children's pool has a great shade so you are never worried about the children burning, and there was also a small very shallow baby pool. It may have been a children's pool but I thought it was still very stylish and elegantly designed. We also used the crèche for a couple of afternoon sessions which was great. It operates to UK ratios and the lovely girls are all suitably qualified and experienced. When picking our daughter up they were great at giving me a full report of her afternoons activities. When the little one was at the crèche we headed to the adult pool - which was lovely and stylish (and quiet!) with a great infinity pool with sea views. There was a great informal restaurant at the adult pool where we had lovely, very fresh sushi and sashimi one afternoon. The guys in the restaurant were also good at bringing drinks and food to the sunloungers. We also used the baby sitting service - which was great. Our little one was always fast asleep when Erika (who worked at the hotel kids club) arrived so there wasn't much to do but it was wonderful to have the facility and I felt very happy with Erika. The restaurants were also good. Breakfast was plentiful, Notios was stylish, and the other restaurant had a wonderful setting over the water. We enjoyed the food at all of them. I also used the spa and really enjoyed my massage. Of course there were a couple of (small) niggles - the waiter clattering right next to our sleeping baby during dinner waking her up (of course the risk we took going out with her but the restaurant was quiet and with a little thought this didn't need to happen) and once we waited 25 mins for our cocktails at a quiet bar meaning that they had to be downed as we were wanting to get back as we had a babysitter that evening. These are small issues though. For our first trip away with a baby the hotel was great for making life easy with a baby but still had enough style and spa, adult pool etc etc to make us feel it was a holiday for the grown ups.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank YaminiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear Guest,


Thank you for staying with us. We are very happy you had such a great stay with your family, and that your daughter also had fun in our Creche with the team.


We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback very much, and sincerely hope to welcome you back to Almyra soon for another wonderful holiday.

Kind Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,833 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.2 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
2.7 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#9 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#25 Family Hotel in Paphos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £96 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and relaxing, fashionable yet unpretentious, Almyra is a chic cutting-edge luxury 5 star family seafront hotel that makes contemporary luxury accessible to all. Almyra sits in eight acres of landscaped gardens on the Mediterranean shoreline of Paphos, Cyprus. Meaning 'taste of the sea', Almyra's highlights include the Almyraspa - a sun-lit utopia of organic and marine-based therapies complemented by inspiring ocean vistas - and the waterfront Kyma ('Wave') Suites, showcasing harbour views from candle-lit rooftop terraces. Almyra is a comfortable combination of modern design elements, sleek facilities and family-friendly features: because having children doesn't mean that you have to sacrifice good taste... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing