We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip”
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had a lovely recent stay here, the property itself is very nice and very clean. The rooms are a little minimalistic and lack that cosy feel however they are spotless and thats the main thing. The food was of a very good quality - we had all inclusive but it didnt include any alcohol, therefore the wine list was fairly pricey. The indoor pool there is lovely and so is the gym. We didnt use the massage service so cant comment. The staff etc were all very friendly. Due to the winding down of the season, there was alot of shops/bars outside which were actually closed so beware.
All in all it was great for a relaxing break.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about your stay . I am delighted to know you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Your compliments have been passed on to the team which is very grateful

The team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please do contact our guest services team directly to let us know when you will be returning.

Kind regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
mod.almyra@thanoshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,139)
There are newer reviews for Almyra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just got back from 10 nights full board at the Almyra and unfortunately our experience was not 5 star.The hotel was due to close for a period,something we new nothing about, and I can only think the process of staff reduction and facility closure explain the many failings.
When we arrived all the restraunts were closed except for the ground floor facility which was expanded using lounge furniture very uncomfortable to eat a meal from,the original dining area was taken over by a corporate party.
When they left half way through the holiday things went down hill fast.The buffet which was a reasonable standard was cancelled and we were told it was a fixed menu,we tried it but were not keen and were told to eat next door if we wanted a buffet, at the Annabelle Hotel part of the same group.We did that and the food and comfort were excellent.
Next morning the breakfast served cold porridge as meal supervision had gone and they were unaware of a malfunction.Tea was always only warm as they seem to lack a source of boiling water.
Next our bedroom was not cleaned and all the cushions on the outdoor seating were removed.When we complained there was absolutely nowhere to sit or lie down outside they apologised but next day nothing had changed.
The staff were mixed some seemed demoralised perhaps not doing there usual jobs but some were very good.
On the plus side we really enjoyed our room and the Annabelle hotel where we were forced to eat and sunbathe and wished we had stayed there.
Although the fabric of the hotel was 5 star the service we had was 2 star due to managements failure to put the customer first during a closure process.

Room Tip: Find out if they are due to close if travelling in the winter and if they are don't go!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davdor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at Almyra and apologise that we did not have the opportunity to resolve your concerns whilst you were with us.

This certainly isn't the feeling we wish to impart to our guests who have chosen our Hotel for their holidays. Your comments about the team also isn't a true reflection of the service standards we are focussed on delivering. We aim to consistently act on guest feedback during their stay, and prefer to be given the opportunity to do this instead of guests leaving dissatisfied.

The closure of Almyra for a period of one month was communicated by our Sales/Reservations team to all the tour operators, travel agents we work with and guests which booked directly with us, as soon as it was confirmed. It wasn't our intention to make guests feel unwelcome in anyway towards the closing date and again we sincerely apologise that you felt this way.

The closure of our outdoor restaurants, and removal of the soft furnishing are solely dependant on the weather during winter and not the Hotel closing. During the cold, wet months, Notios and Ouzeri our outdoor restaurants are closed. We did add cushions when you mentioned this as it had stopped raining, however it began raining again before you had the opportunity to use them and they were unfortunately removed. It was unfortunate the weather was so temperamental. We appreciate it was disappointing that they were closed during your stay, however this is the same every year.

We offer the Annabelle buffet as an alternative option for Almyra guests, and similarly many Annabelle guests were enjoying our evening set menu in Flavors by the fire place. We are pleased you enjoyed your meals at Annabelle. Had you mentioned to any of the team, that you did not enjoy the Asian/Mediterranean fusion set menu, we would have gladly organised for our chefs to prepare alternative dishes for your meals, as they do regularly for several guests.

It is very unusual that your room was not serviced by housekeeping during your stay. Upon investigating this, our records confirm your room was cleaned. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, if there was a specific area which you feel was not cleaned to your satisfaction, as it is important to have accurate information to prevent any recurrence.

Again, we would like to express our disappointment that you did not entirely enjoy your stay, we hope you do consider returning to either Almyra or Annabelle as we would like to ensure your stay is more enjoyable next time.

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

mod.almyra@thanoshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for a week. Nice sea view room, great buffet and the sunset cocktails. Out door pool was not heated but indoor pool was nice. The head receptionist was excellent. She was very helpful. Spa was really good. Easy access to the town centre.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to know you and your family enjoyed your stay overall. Your compliments have been passed on to the team which is very grateful

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please do contact us directly to let us know when you will be returning.

Kind regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager
mod.almyra@thanoshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a fabulous week at the Alymra - the staff were amazing, the weather was perfect which was a bonus. Our 3 year old loved the kids club - she still talks about Mel and Erica now and it's 4 weeks since we came back! We booked garden-view terrace rooms and were lucky enough to get them located all together and 2 were interconnecting which was great as were on holiday with family. The location was fab, views of sunset were so memorable. We spent many days around the pool which was very child-friendly - and was so nice not to have to fight for sunbeds. Our package with Sovereign included a comp upgrade to Full Board and the food was sooooo good that we only ate lunch out of the hotel once and that was only because we were sightseeing so wouldn't have made it back in time. The front of house staff (Maria Z, Maria C, Marko) were brilliant, so welcoming and made our stay even more special. The baby-go-lightly service was outstanding, providing well known brands so assured of best quality. Would definitely return, and have been recommending the hotel so friends and colleagues, particularly those with pre-school kids because the facilities and amenities were such high quality. Spa was lovely too and well worth treating yourself to. Our only let-down was absolutely nothing to do with the hotel, it was our return TC flight - would look to book different airline next time

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloud9-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay at Almyra, it was our pleasure to ensure you had a memorable holiday with us. Your comments about your experience have been passed on to the team, which is always motivated by such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the Almyra Hotel Paphos, Cyprus between the 18th- 28th November 2013. We were looking for a relaxing holiday, so for the very first time ever we booked the full board option. We have always been keen to check out the best restauran. in the area and like to eat different food every day. When we booked and read some reviews, we hoped and prayed that the food in The Almyra hotel would be great.
We arrived later than we expected, due to some health emergency of one of the passangers on our flight. When we arrived, i was so tired then and was very annoyed to find out that we couldn't have a room on the ground floor with a seaview. We paid for a superior sea view room, but they gave us a sea view room on the first floor with a juliet balcony. We have a very active 2.5 year old boy and we were concerned with him climbing over of the balcony bars, if we took the room. The receptionist talked to the duty manager, Stellios, about our problem. He said an unnescessary comment at that particular time "why would a child climb over the balcony anyway" which made me cry at that moment. Every child is different and we just wanted the best for our child. His safety comes first and we wanted a stress free holiday.
He apologized for the comment and said that we could have the ground floor seaview room for an extra €600 for 10 nights. We found that a little bit ridiculous, its exactly the same room, the difference. is just on the ground floor and have a little terrace. On top of that, you hardly can see the sea from the ground floor because the view is obstructed by the trees, sun beds etc.
He then showed us different rooms and we finally choose the Garden terrace by the play ground. So just bear in mind when you book the room, superior seaview room is from the first floor above and if you want a seaview ground floor room, you need to book a seaview terrace room or next time we will book a Kyma suite instead. It's a bigger room and has a clear sea view plus roof top seating area.
Apart from the little problem above, we had an amazing time in The Almyra hotel. The room was always kept clean, 5 star standard. The food was amazing, 6-8 different salads every day. Breakfast can be a little bit boring after few days, but lunch and dinner are just exceptional. Lots of different type of food to choose from. There was something for everyone, fish, beef, chicken, vegetarian. They have different themes everyday and the quality was just very good. Spoke to the executive chef, Rob Shipman, who's just happened to come from Notting Hill, London. Such a lovey person and the staff at the restaurants, Elena, Eleni and Georgiana were just outstanding. Genuine service. Our son has food allergies and intolerances, soya milk and chips were always prepared for us every day. The location of the hotel is just perfect, close to the harbour and right in front of the sea. The pool and sunbeds area are just great. The spa is just simply amazing,the gym, the heated and infinity pools, steam room and sauna.
We checked out all other hotels in the area, we can proudly say that we stayed at the best one. All in all, fantastic stay, wonderful food and staff., oh they have a family play room, an amazing creche' with sleeping area for babies and lots of toys. The play ground (which can be maintain a little bit better maybe) is a good extra facility for children. Maria Christodolou, the duty manager kindly explained and took us to the creche'. Perfect hotel for families, couple or everyone. Stylish, casual, quality, friendly and perfect location. The Almyra hotel definitely ticks all the boxes. The weather was perfect in November, warm in the day and cool in the evening. If you are planning to stay in paphos, the Almyra is definetely a great choice. We are planning to return next year and possibly celebrate our renewing vows ceremony in the Almyra. Thank you all for an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Check out our review
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for choosing Almyra, and for sharing your wonderful feedback. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We especially miss Brandon! We are pleased that your initial disappointment with your room was quickly resolved so that you could enjoy the rest of your holiday and have a relaxing time.

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback, the team is very proud to know that you have lovely memories of your time with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back next year.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can assist you

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

mod.almyra@thanoshotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Visited Almyra only for one night for an anniversary surprise! booked the hotel through booking.com around 20.00pm, arrived at the hotel at 00.00. When we went to check in the front office desk did not have our reservation and said that he did not have any access in the reservation system of the hotel. When he tried to find us a room, no room was clean except of one, a studio.It is understandable from our side that no rooms could not be cleaned at this time since it could be a high season for the hotel or of course at this time no housekeeping was in but it is unexcused from the receptionist not even tried to find a solution! He also checked at their mother sister hotel Anabelle, without with any result too. The receptionist said "i'm sorry i can NOT help you and do anything" we applied to him to upgrade us at least at the studio since he did not have any rooms to accommodate us, but he still insisted that he could Not do anything and did not have the permition to do it. Then we again suggested him that he is overbooked and he has to find another hotel to accommodate us, he said no!! When we insisted that we traveled all the way to come to Almyra and Papho to stay and had preference in this "lovely" hotel he still said "sorry i can not do anything". Then after all this conversation we asked him that we wanted to see a duty manager, he applied that the duty manager is not in. After a while suddenly the duty manager appears, he was not even was aware the the duty manager was still in the premises. The time have already gone at 12.45 a.m without any solution. Finally the duty manager did upgrade at the studio. This is unacceptable. Staff are not well trained, do not have the authority to take any responsibilities. It was an awful experience. We do like Amlyta hotel, we do support hospitality in Cyprus but it was our first time to have this treat.

Room Tip: the are with the studio rooms are outstanding
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simplylovecyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Front Office Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review, following your one night stay at Almyra over two months ago. We do appreciate your feedback.

Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. Unfortunately, when it comes to last minute bookings, online and actual room availability don’t always match. I understand that our duty manager, Maria Christodoulou, had eventually offered you a room upgrade of nine room categories, from the standard inland view room that you have booked to our best seafront suite. This gesture apparently could not compensate for either your half hour waiting time or the behavior of our untrained night receptionist who failed to immediately take this initiative, past midnight, in a hotel that was running at nearly full capacity.

I would like to thank you for your otherwise positive comments and judging by your rating I hope that you will reconsider returning to Almyra.

Best Regards
Stelios Moustakis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is only my second visit , but it will not be my last. It may not have the polished stone like its sister hotel Anabbelle but it has the friendliest approach and feeling which i have not had better anywhere else,All the staff are superb and any problems would be sorted out immediately(not that i had any problems).The food was different and very much to my liking , so if you want ENGLISH food dont bother,after all you are not in England. But they do have Porridge!.
It has a Casual smart dress code which is not exactly to my liking, as i believe all men should wear long trousers for their evening meal?, It certainly should not be a problem.
The Spa is great, especially the indoor pool, the Sauna & the Steam room plus a great Gym.
it is also situated in a position which allows you to walk very easilyall over Kato Paphos.
I am trying to book my 3rd visit now for Spring. Cheers, Tom Tyson.

.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the Sea either a standard room or one where you pay a bit more money.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomtyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanos_Hotels, Manager at Almyra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Mr Tyson,

Thank you very much for sharing your complimentary feedback about your stay with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you back again this year, and it's very rewarding know you had another wonderful holiday, I am pleased you enjoyed the Almyra Spa facilities also.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon for another relaxing holiday.

Meanwhile, we all wish you a wonderful Christmas and New Year!

Kind Regards
Maria Christodoulou
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,739 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.2 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
4.1 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#33 of 85 in Paphos
659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Address: Poseidonos Avenue | PO Box 60401, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#25 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#25 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £104 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Almyra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and relaxing, fashionable yet unpretentious, Almyra is a chic cutting-edge luxury 5 star family seafront hotel that makes contemporary luxury accessible to all. Almyra sits in eight acres of landscaped gardens on the Mediterranean shoreline of Paphos, Cyprus. Meaning 'taste of the sea', Almyra's highlights include the Almyraspa - a sun-lit utopia of organic and marine-based therapies complemented by inspiring ocean vistas - and the waterfront Kyma ('Wave') Suites, showcasing harbour views from candle-lit rooftop terraces. Almyra is a comfortable combination of modern design elements, sleek facilities and family-friendly features: because having children doesn't mean that you have to sacrifice good taste... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cyprus
Almyra Hotel Paphos
Almyra Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing