We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nereus is cheap and okay but needs to try harder”
Review of Nereus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nereus Hotel
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nereus is cheap and okay but needs to try harder”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here over xmas because the place we normaly stay (Louis King Jason apartments) was closed for renovation,to be fair its cheap but I was put off by some of the general tattiness of things,that make it seem a bit down at heel ....like a sealed off wire protruding from the wall above the water coller socket,it just creates the wrong impression and the corners of the bathroom were not clean,the lift worked but looked as if it might break any moment because it looked a bit shabby inside.
The Nereus is suituated in a good location to get around paphos by foot and I warmed to the hotel after a few days of really not being sure due to the first impressions I got.
The breakfast is okay,the coffee is nice and they provide mugs,evening meals could be better sometimes too english and not unlike school dinners on some evenings but most of the clientel are quite old and probibly too stuck in their ways to eat more cypriot food.
I was put on a downer by some of the clientel older English people who moan a lot about cats ect..Cats I mean its cyprus they have cats get over it .and some of them seem a bit mean and stingy..come on your on holiday cheer up.
Entertainment the female singer in the red dress on xmas eve was good so enthusiastic but the rest of the time was a bit like phoenix nights lots of kareoke and bingo but the oldies liked it..I would have liked to hear some cypriot music at least one evening,and the seats in the bar are very hard you need foam cushions.
But to be fair this hotel is not terrible its cheap and budget ie no frills I just think its a shame that people may be put off by first impressions such as general shabbiness,my sheets were clean and smelled nice but so well worn so that you could see through them, I dont want to be too hard on this hotel because its not terrible it just could do with a bit more attention to the small things because when the older customers die off that you cater for you need to create a better impression to attract the younger people.
It does have more character than one of the big posh hotels on the seafront which is why I chose it instead and here lies its charm but please just some attention to the small things the right people will remember and come back and the stingy ones you dont need.
would I stay again possibly.......in preference to a big hotel.but I would prefer to stay in my usual place even though the price is more because its a much better more cheerfull experience..but thats just me
So to sum up, good as a cheap stay dont expect Frills and remember there will be cats and cockroaches and lizards (but not in the rooms) its cyprus for heaps sake have fun...

Room Tip: Dont have a room that overlooks the pool if you want an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eberta22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CostasPaphos, Manager at Nereus Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for all the good points and the all bad points, we will make sure that we will "TRY HARDER"

Kindest Regards,

Costas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    217
    118
    51
    54
See reviews for
111
311
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Were really pleased with Nereus, no complaints at all, very much orientated to oldies, but we are anyway! Very central location, lack of views, but you can't have everything.
Were there from 30/11 to 7/12 and were really lucky with the weather (30 deg in the sun) but was chilly in the evenings, no problems free heating in the room via air conditioning unit. We stayed H/B and if you want a cup of tea when you get up take your own kettle etc. Water in taps drinkable though we boiled it first to be on the safe side and filled empty bottles with cooled water for drinking.
If you want to bring ciggies/booze back visit Theo's opposite Debenhams, good prices and real stuff. Mario (Theo's son) who runs the shop is very helpful and funny. (Also handsome - promised I'd put that in!)
Worth visiting the "mosaic's" behind the King's Cafe on the harbour, huge site (took us two hours to amble round and even my husband who's not into ancient history enjoyed it - and only 3.40 euros each!
Visit to market in "old Paphos" well worth it (2 euros each for day bus ticket), we walked back but beware no taverna's to stop at, but does take you past the catacombs and the valley of the kings.
Whole holiday highly recommended, but everything except the beer is expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jasandyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Cheap and cheerful hotel. Very clean communal areas, friendly and helpful staff and beautiful weather! Always plenty of room and beds around the pool. Close to shops, bars, beaches - everything you need really. Our apartment had a view of the high street and was also clean and comfortable, the air conditioning was a must have at this time of year! Overall, very pleased with everything for the price.

Room Tip: The apartments have lots of space and generally seem more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophius23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We knew we were having a cheap break so we were not expecting much. Overall we had a nice holiday and we were generally comfortable. For the price you can't expect much more.

We had an apartment - large but bare, 3 balconies but none of them get any sun at all. The family owners should look into the corners of the bathrooms and under the beds - it really is not clean. The staff are all pleasant and friendly, particularly in the restaurant where service is good and cheerful. Breakfasts are fine - there is a wide choice and you should be able to find something you are happy to eat. The greek yogurt was lovely and there was lots of fresh fruit. Dinners are variable, some nights are much better than others - we ate out quite a bit over our 3 week stay. Bar lunches were quite good - nice chips and salads and fair prices.

This really is a pensioners hotel and it is true to say that people clearly return year after year and meet up with others - often for a long stay. The family owners clearly understand their market and provide what these people want - which is to feel comfortable and safe, to have predictable menus of fairly plain food, to have music they like, singalongs and bingo. To appeal to a wider audience a significant amount of renovation and an upgrading of dinners would be necessary - but I don't see that happening while there are willing pensioners around.

The location is not bad at all, quite central, and for the pensioners there is a motability type scooter shop next door!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAMandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Half board for 1 week
First time at the Nereus it's a good and comfortable 3 star hotel, about 10 minutes walk from the sea front, 25 to the harbour.
We were greeted with politeness and went to a smallish though very clean room with Air conditioning and heating, over looking the roof top sun area.
From the first full day we knew we had made the right choice for a late holiday.
All the staff were friendly, the food was good and the external facilities okay for the time of year. I can imagine in the height of summer that the sun areas could get a little crowded.
The lunch time purchased meals were prepared to order and the drinks were very competively priced.
Be aware though that out of season the guests were of a mature age group.
It's not a hotel for everybody, being set back from the sea and no "grounds" around the hotel.
That said, would I go back, yes.
Thanks to all the staff / management for a relaxing week's holiday

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobkimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

stayed at this hotel with my husband from 20th -27th nov we are age 38 and 41 when we arrived ts was 11pm so didnt realy take much notice checkin was quick and we were given our key which was on the first floor.Next morning we went for breakfast this was fine there was friuts yogurts cooked breakfast bacon sos beans eggs ect.We did know that the hotel had a lot of older holiday makers there 65+ as we had read this on previous reviews but decided to go as we saw the reviews were really good and thought at least we would get a good nights sleep how wrong we were they had kariokie whch starten around 9.30 and didnt finish until 2am then they would come up from the bar round 3.30am to 4am shouting to each other stood outside our door some nights when there was a singer this would finish at 12 but still would come up shouting around 2am no respect for anyone and this is something i noticed alot because these pensioners go year after year they think they run the hotel and can be very rude towards you and make you feel uncomfarable especialy if you go for dinner and they usually sit at that table even though you are shown were to sit for dinner.
The hotel is very dated and the rooms are very overcrowderd with furniture and are not very clean the cleaner comes in changes towels straigtens bed up and thats it we never had our room floor swept or moped once the whole week she didnt even wipe round in bathroom or anything the floors were filthy and everywere was dusty and this wasnt just 1 weeks worth the bathrooms are really grubby
The posative about the hotel is that the staff are really friendly and the food at dinner was really nice we never had a bad meal its in a great location for everything bars resturants shops and the bus station which is about 10 mis walk were you can get a ticket for 2euros and use allday on any bus
paphos is a graet place and we would definatly go back but not to this hotel to me alot of these great reviews obviously have been put on by the pensioners that go back year after year and really not that botherd about anything else but meeting up with other guest that they see every year so its like an oldpeoples home on holiday
To me this hotel is a real shame because if they renovated the rooms and brought them up to date and sorted the cleaning out this hotel could be great and they need to do this to atract other guest because the guest they are atracting at the moment which yes do come back year after year will not always be here due to the age there are

Room Tip: dont ask for pool view becuse you will be over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaz737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of November, we booked this thru easyjet and weren't expecting too much, this was just a short break for us to sort out our wedding plans for next year, as were getting married in Paphos next April. we chose the hotel as it seems pretty central to everything and it was, to be honest the location was probably the best thing abour the hotel, 10 minutes down to the harbour and plenty of bars and resturants nearby without being noisy (apart from our very inconsiderate neighbours who came home at 4am shouting and banging along the corridor and in their room! not the hotel's fault though ). We hired a car from the airport so drove to the hotel, not the easiest place to find mainly due to the one way streets! there is car parking at the hotel although limited but we never had problems finding a space. The welcome at reception was great very friendly and helpful, the public areas seemed clean but very dated and tired as is most of the hotel. Our room was in the main part of the hotel on the first floor at the back, the room was clean, but a bit tatty, furniture was old beds the hardest I have ever slept on (and I like a firm mattress!) the bathroom was clean , but the grout and sealant round the bath/shower could do with replacing but it was clean and for me thats the main thing, the shower was good, loads of hot water no matter what time of day. The balcony was small two people and no more could sit out, the view wasn't great apartments and trees within a few feet so not very appealing anyway. We only stayed B&B so can only comment on the breakfast, all I can say it was ok, there was a cooked selection, bacon, 3 choice of eggs, sausgaes (not english) bacon, beans and tomatoes, there was bread for toasting, fruit and a very small selecion of cheese and meats. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and efficient, having been to some 3, 4 and 5 star hotels I would say this a 2 and no more. We didn't use the pool and never saw anyone in there it was November so maybe a bit cold, the sunbathing terraces are not round the pool but above looking down, so if you have young children not recommended, although to be honest not a place for families in my opinion, we were here without our kids which was just as well as there seems to be nothing for them to do. As a previous reviewer said seems to be place for the elderly to holiday in the winter, some of them had been there weeks and are return guests! We love Paphos and had some lovely meals out, The moorings down by the harbour, fantastic meal and 'I love steak and Prawns' great steak. For the purpose of our visit this hotel was ok, would I be back? if I needed somewhere cheap for a couple of nights then maybe but for my annual holiday a definate no.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunflowergirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#45 of 88 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#28 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofianna Hotel Apts.
Sofianna Hotel Apts.
#53 of 88 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
0.2 mi away
Pagona Hotel Apartments
Pagona Hotel Apartments
#52 of 88 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dionysos Central
Dionysos Central
#39 of 88 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nereus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nereus Hotel

Property: Nereus Hotel
Address: Paphos, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nereus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nereus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing