We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Nereus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nereus Hotel
Ranked #52 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed 31 August 2012

having read some of the reviews i was expecting something resembling a crack house.
first impressions where not great but when you arrive at 2am and the coach drops you off down the road from the hotel you expect the worst.
went to bed pretty much straight away in our 1 bed apartment. our double bed was comfy, i was expecting it to be hard judging by all the comments but it was fine. son had the sofa bed which was fine.
8am we were up ready for a look around and after breakfast ( which was a buffet where you can help yourself to anything and as much or little as you want) and the tour rep talk we were ready to go and explore, this is where the hotel comes up trumps, it is perfectly situated, 5 minutes from the sea and shops and restuarants. it is out of sound range for the clubs so you dont get the thud of bass at 3am so a quick walk and you are in the heart of Bar street.
The apartment it self, well there were some problems, there were ants in the kitchen area ( it is a hot country and ants were not exclusively in this hotel, we saw them in the posher ones too !). a quick chat woth one of the lovely receptionists ( the blonde russian one) and we got some ant spray delivered to the room which did the job and then each morning we just gave it a quick blast where we thought they were coming in from and the problem went.
we had a couple problems with the toilet flushing system however the 2 times something happened they immediately fixed it with no dramas.
the kitchen area was small with just a 2 ringed hob a kettle and a toaster and a fridge with small freezer, however in the day time we had salads and cold meat/chease in pittas and in the evenings we went out for a meal so it didnt matter, infact if the cooking facilities wre better we may not have had as much fun as we would have stayed in some nights.
there was a small tv in our room with 1 english channel which was a news channel, a table and 4 chairs and a rocking chair and the sofa bed.
the bedroom had a large wardrobe with cupboards inside and a dressing table with draws and 2 bedside tables.
the bathroom had a bidet a toilet and a bath with a shower, if you want hot water flick the water heater button which is outside the bathroom, you get hot water 2 minutes later although as it was 34 degrees each day it was nicer to have a cold shower.
if you go to the nereus expecting it to be luxurious then you have the wrong place, most of the luxury hotels were in rubbish positions in pathos which for us is not the point of going on a holiday, we want to explore the towns and see the sights, not grumble and moan about minor inperfections in a hotel room.
the staff were pretty much all great, a couple seemed less great then the rest but i think it is because the rest were ultra great.
it would have been nice if there was a life guard for the 2 pools as despite a short list of rules which are common sense there is always some idiots spoiling it for everyone else which is why we gave the pool a miss for around 4 days.
over all , yes the hotel could do with some upgrades , the slabs around the bottom pool need replacing, the windows by the pool needed a good clean and the bathrooms could be finished better but the service, the friendly staff and the location are what made this a great stay.

Room Tip: we had room 327 which is at the back of the hotel, the balcony had sun from 7am till 7pm, not overlo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Nereus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

Visited the Nereus in April 2012 and will be returning for Christmas and New Year. The location is excellent, the staff unequalled. The owners, bar, reception , kitchen and cleaning staff all work hard and efficiently to make the hotel a 'home from home'. Nothing is too much trouble. This is why there are so many visitors who go back time and time again. The Nereus is ideal for couples and for solo travellers. Everyone makes you so welcome. Looking forward to meeting old friends again.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff about your preferences and they will do all they can to assist.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I think it depends whether you are a glass half full or empty person as to whether or not you enjoy your stay at this hotel.
The location is excellent, only a short walk away from the promenade and 'bar street' bars and restaurants.
The bar prices are cheap - happy hour cocktails only 2 euros.
Entertainment is of the bingo and karyoke variety.
2 good sized pools, table tennis, table football and other bar games.
Friendly, helpful staff.
Reception and lounge area is clean and welcoming.

We had a 4 person self catering apartment and the rooms were a good size, with a small balcony, but the bathroom was in need of updating and kitchen equipment was very basic.
Ants seem to be a problem everywhere and I doubt there is much the hotel can do to eliminate them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank warringtonhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This has been the worst "hotel" experience of my life! We booked a room at the hotel, but when we arrived we were shown an apartment at an adjacent complex, something they should have cleared up at the time of booking. From the leaflets behind the door, I guess these rooms are used or were used for OELMEK in the past? Not sure. But, as soon as we entered the room, the horrible smell hit our noses. We thought we would get used to it, but it was so strong that we did not - it still smelled horrible in the morning. There were ants all over the bathroom floor, and soon they migrated into the bedroom too. The bathroom was disgusting: the towels gray and stained (permanent stains? who knows..), the toilet seat was in a bad shape, and the flush was not working properly. Despite these, I attempted to take a shower: there was no hot water, and a bug appeared out of nowhere. The outdated table lamp on the bedside table had tons of dust on it. Breakfast was limited & mediocre to say the least: the orange juice was probably watered down, because even though it was orange in color, it was not orange in taste. Do yourself a favor, do not stay here. I know I will not, ever again!
As far as the rooms at the actual hotel, well, even though we booked one and paid for one, I have not seen them, so I can only write about what I saw.. (maybe they are in a better shape and that could possibly explain some of the good reviews on this site).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travel_Addict_Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just back from a one week all inclusive at the Nereus (16th Aug to 23rd Aug 2012). Hotel was in dire need of a refurb, very old fashioned throughout. Rooms were basic but clean but the towels were grey and rough. Most staff friendly with the exception of one girl behind the bar who grunted and snarled whenever she had to serve you!!! Girl on reception (Southerner) was so helpful and polite. Food was basic but edible and if you are a girl/lady dont bother asking for a pint of lager, we were told that we could only have halves!!! Definately go back to Paphos but never again to the Nereus.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mazza697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

After staying a week at nereus hotel we are happy with everything overal. Rooms are nice and comfy and prices are very afordable. Good place for the family and only a 2 minutes walk to the center of kato paphos

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazzado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We went to this hotel on 18th April -2nd may 2012 for our Honeymoon..
What a lovely time we had as well the staff are so friendly and it's clean and tidy. This is a family Run hotel and it's more like home it's just lovely what more can i say i won't run it down because i can't.
As for Costa's He is a very nice Person as same goes for all the other staff as well. Myself and my Husband will be going back again...
Why does people have to put bad reviews all the time if you want better than this hotel book into 5 star hotel... but a 5 star will be no better than this hotel..
As for the food it was lovely we had great food. Our room was very nice when we arrived Costa's Left us a gift for our Honeymoon which was very kind of him..
We have been to this hotel 3 times now and Defo going back it's so nice a friendly...This hotel is worth staying in it's really Really nice...
Cyprus is a very nice place to go as well....Especially PAPHOS..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Dionysos Central Hotel
Dionysos Central Hotel
#40 of 85 in Paphos
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#41 of 85 in Paphos
508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kissos Hotel
Kissos Hotel
#49 of 85 in Paphos
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Daphne Hotel Apartments
Daphne Hotel Apartments
#79 of 85 in Paphos
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pagona Hotel Apartments
Pagona Hotel Apartments
#53 of 85 in Paphos
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 85 in Paphos
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nereus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nereus Hotel

Address: Konstantias 7, Paphos 8131, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: £63 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nereus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nereus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing