We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 star hotel with 5 star staff.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nereus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nereus Hotel
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1 star hotel with 5 star staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Dated, tiered basic hotel in need of some serious TLC. Rooms clean and presentable, breakfast area really in need of an " additional toaster " would stop the waiting time, serious need of additional Air Conditioning in the dining area, two upper sun decks could be great but again needing some attention. Staff fantastic !! - they hold the fabric of this ageing hotel together - great, friendly, generous people, nothing is to much trouble - 5 Star Staff - attracts families and older crowd.

Room Tip: No advice on this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeredScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    208
    116
    49
    54
See reviews for
108
298
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this hotel for a short break for a friend's wedding. We thought it was good value for bed and breakfast but you really do get what you pay for! The room was OK - some of the bedroom furniture was a little oversized so that we couldn't open the doors as it was next to the bed. The bathroom was tiny (you had to squeeze behind the door to get to the toilet . Mostly it was quite clean but the air conditioning unit was covered in dust (fortunately the ceiling fan was enough to keep us cool). Breakfast was very disappointing - so much so that we only had it the first morning, and then had to pay to eat elsewhere. The upper sun terraces also had a strange way to get to the pol - down the external stairs and cutting through the corner of the downstairs bar area (a little slippery on the way back from the pool if you're wet!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinogigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Have been coming here for several years now and still look forward to it. Good choice of food and staff very friendly. Two lovely swimming pools and drinks very reasonable especially happy hour when cocktails are 2 euros! Rooms basic but don't spend much time in their. Location very good and for the price you pay for 2 weeks is very good value for money. Looking forward to next years visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 777terry777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our party of 8 returned from Paphos yesterday having stayed at the Nereus for 10 days. This was our first visit to Cyprus and so used Tripadvisor to provide us with some insight prior to our departure. Yes the Nereus is an older hotel but that is as bad as it gets. The hotel is family owned which brings a refreshing and personal approach to clients compared with what we have experienced with chain style hotels. The hotel is extremely clean as are the rooms which provided more or less all that we needed during our stay. The location is great for the shore, harbour, bars, restaurants, antiquities and transport systems. For first time visitors such as ourselves the all inclusive option was superb and comes without the grimness of the similar options in Spain and other destinations. The Nereus team are very friendly, very capable and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay a happy one. Food is varied and good quality with a relatively chilled dining room. I am one of those people who doesn't eat meat or fish and was more than happy with what was available.
All in all this was a great holiday and we are already talking about going back to the Nereus.
Gary & Laura Haynes

Room Tip: Rooms are basic but very clean and with all the attributes needed for a comfortable holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarySHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I have recently returned from staying in Nereus Hotel. Don't be put off by the ancient look of the hotel. It's very clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food very good. Bar prices extremely reasonable. Cocktails costing Euros 2.95 (Euros 2 during Happy Hour). The hotel's in a great location for visiting many restaurants and bars. We met lots of people who have stayed many times in the hotel. Visit Friends Bar. Different singer each night. Also Flintstones bar. Good atmosphere.

Room Tip: Don't have a room at the front of the hotel as the hotel is near to bars and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We went here to stay near a family wedding party, and couldn't complain at all! It was 11pm when arrived and there had a mix up with the rooms we kept waiting and got a free drink, then they took us to our room but it was down a dark alley when we got up all the stairs of this block we had an apartment!!! It was massive!! spotlessly clean, very well equipped, clean bedding towels, couldn't be happier. The food was wonderful and great quality, pool was lovely, great sun terrace if you follow the steps up. Staff were lovely and friendly. Ice cream and drinks very good prices. Good entertainment. Fairly busy resort but not in the heart of it. Tomb of the kings is a must visit!! would return again anytime!

Room Tip: visit tomb of kings a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have returned to the Nereus 4 times since my last review and this October will make it 5.On each visit my opinions do not change. The staff are excellent, the rooms are kept spotless, and the food is very good. I just cannot understand the people who complain. For a 3star hotel it compares well with hotels of a higher rating but if they want to pay more that is where they should stay. Well done Nereus. I will still return to thoroughly enjoy a holiday with the happy staff and guests.See you in October. Roy from Bristol

Room Tip: HOTEL rooms overlooking the pool are preferable as they are close to all the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royl232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#47 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#28 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pagona Hotel Apartments
Pagona Hotel Apartments
#51 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
0.3 mi away
Daphne Hotel Apartments
Daphne Hotel Apartments
#82 of 90 in Paphos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dionysos Central
Dionysos Central
#42 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nereus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nereus Hotel

Property: Nereus Hotel
Address: Paphos, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nereus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Nereus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing