We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week at the Athena Beach Hotel - we booked a standard room but on arrival we upgraded to a sea view room - definitely worth it for the view. Hotel was very clean and surroundings very well maintained. Harbour is roughly a 20-30 minute walk but a beautiful walk especially when the sun is setting. Plenty to do at the hotel and staff cannot do enough to help you! Only niggle would be the cleaners knock on the door and come straight into your room without waiting for a response!! Would definitely recommend this hotel as suitable for all!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyL239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,484 - 1,490 of 2,715 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from the Athena Beach, and feel the need to add to the reviews on here, not something I usually do as I have never seen the need to add to previous reviews.

I booked through Jet2 fairly late, looking for a Family Holiday for myself and my 13 year old daughter and the Athena Beach was one featured. A quick look on Trip Advisor and seeing the rave reviews and I booked. Normally I do quite a bit research but time restraints didn't allow this year. (I suggest Trip Advisor expand to add the profile of the reviewer in terms of age etc).

To keep it brief, the Athena Beach is a Quality Hotel and I fully agree with many of the positives as regards service, location, etc etc.

But branding this a Family Hotel is , in my opinion, incorrect. And whoever did, whether it be Jet2 or the Hotel, needs to revise their marketing as they are way out. The Hotel is geared towards older couples. In the end we did have a good holiday, but this was due to the fact that we never spent a single night in the Athena and chose to venture out into the many Bars/Restaurants within walking distance. Which made my paying for All Inclusive a huge mistake and I feel somewhat cheated. Try the Pegasus Bar, Crocodile Bar and the Wild Horse just opposite to name but a few.

The atmosphere and entertainment in the Athena is not geared towards young Families. There isn't even any background music played at any time round the pool during the day. And I even talked to 2 youngsters who were told to refrain from passing a ball between themselves in the main pool.

In conclusion, the Athena Beach is a fantastic Hotel if you are an older couple who want to relax in a tranquil and beautiful setting, dress for dinner and spend your evenings in a quiet atmosphere. If however you are a young family expecting your kids to be entertained, then they won't be and I advise you do not book the Athena Beach. If you have already booked then try for a move now. Your kids will be bored.

Athena Beach, great Hotel for older couples. For Families with young kids a non starter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is class from the minute you walk through the door staff are real friendly can't do enough for you food good different theme every evening rooms are ace. Then you go outside 3 pools so clean the outside pool bars are great stock of food and drinks and ice cream staff are always cleaning back inside again if u go half board u can change your dinner to lunch if you are going out into paphos at night for a meal or are away on a trip at night 35 minute walk into pathos harbour a stunning walk when you see you have chosen the right hotel. Back to the hotel and to the bar stables the bar manager all ways shakes your hand and talks to you a waiter will then
Serve you then again the hostess of the bar she comes and talks to as well

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iancelts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel looks just as lovely as the photos suggest & although bigger than we are used to it was a pleasure to stay between 18th July & 2nd August. But there were a few Cons that went with the Pros.
Pros:
The Adonis is the best place to eat whatever time of day or evening.
The room we had was clean & large & had a good sea view.
Agathi the hostess of the Nectar Bar is a pleasure to know & does a fine job of making all the guests welcome & comfortable whatever nationality you are or where you come from, even though some guests failed to see it that way. Her smiling face & welcoming manner is what made the Nectar Bar a welcome place to sit & enjoy a drink.
Georgia from the Adonis was also of the same persuasion.
The food on the whole was good & there was always plenty of choice - we both put weight on during our stay.
The grounds & pool area are very picturesque.
The Lady playing the saxophone outside the Adonis on Saturday night was the best entertainment throughout our stay.
Now to the cons:
It was very confusing to understand in what restaurants we were able to have a meal. As the details make it seem that you have a number of choices for an evening meal this is only if you wish to book an AL LA CARTE. otherwise it was always the Atrium.
The newly refurbished Leda Restaurant has a very strange idea of what Al la Carte means as most of it meant self service & the condescending manner of the Restaurant manager meant we avoided this place for the rest of our stay.
The bar staff in the Nectar Bar clearly need to have more enthusiasm & work with a smile on their face. Apart from Agathi who was not a waiter no one in that Bar smiled or appeared to have any interest in either the guests or carrying out their duties. Many just bounced from empty table to empty table rather than serve drinks.
It was always lovely to have tea & coffee in the morning but was not confident in their counting abilities as with three tea bags & three sachets of coffee (that is six in total) came only two milks.
the same would have to be said for the free bottle of wine in the mini bar as part of the Premium package we paid (that was minus one) as we never had it. As well as on some days only having one beach towel between two people & we were meant to have four. (two to use & two for spare).
The evening entertainment is generally mediocre although there were times when in the Nectar Bar it became a little more than bearable.

It may seem like with so many cons that we did not enjoy our stay but the cons all added up & I feel that if some of these were dealt with then it would be as others state a Lovely Hotel.
Would we stay again. 50/50
would we stay if some of the cons were dealt with. 80/20.

Room Tip: chose a sea view room close to the elevators as there are long walks around to your room & the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just had our 3rd stay at the Athena Beach from 20th to 27th July, 2014.. It's a very warm and welcoming hotel - although most of the staff had changed since our visit in July 2013. We chose a room with a sea view again (a bit more expensive) but what a view! Room was very comfortable and well equipped. Free welcoming gift of wine and fruit - another nice touch. Food was delicious with plenty of choice. I must give a mention to Dusa, Guest Service PR who was particularly helpful to us - after my hubby lost our car and house keys! What a lovely person she is! Also of note are Agatha, the Bar Hostess - so helpful and personable - she is a great asset to the hotel - the waiters - Georgious, Vlad, Adrian, Thomas etc.etc. too many to remember all their names - are all so pleasant and fun to speak to - what a mixture of nationalities! I'm learning a bit of all sorts of languages! Pools, grass and beach areas are beautifully tended by the outdoor staff. In short, we just love it there and hope to visit again very soon. From the Happy Moffat family from Scotland!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Hilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a 10 night holiday in June 2014. Excellent hotel , food, accommodation, could not find any
faults the whole holiday, staff were very polite and helpful. We will definitely revisit and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room to use a-la-carte restaurants at any time, plus other perks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gall1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I have returned from our 3rd visit to this hotel and found it to be as superb as ever.nice hotel,good food ,great pools with plenty of sun beds at any time of the day.what we think makes this hotel so special are the welcoming,friendly staff especially in the nectar bar.we would like to say a special thank you to Agatha,Stavros,Alina,Adrian and Vlad who work in the nectar bar and also Helios pool bar who made our holiday even more enjoyable.hope to see you all soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 84 in Paphos
2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paphos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#15 Family Hotel in Paphos
#15 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £92 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel is a four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos within easy walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archaeological sites, the shops and the nightlife. A bus stop is just outside the hotel and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15 km away from the Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. Also within short driving distance are two super golf courses. All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel's tranquil gardens, as well as luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower, Simmons(R) Luxury Beds and floor to ceiling windows. Room facilities include among others: air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, ironing facilities, safety deposit box as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities of this hotel include 3 freshwater swimming and 2 paddling pools (one of each type heated), a waterslide, one heated indoor pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, floodlit tennis courts, a 24-rink indoor and outdoor Bowls Green facilities, mini golf and a children's playground with Kids Club. In the hotel's Elixir Spa, a total area of 800m2, there is a heated pool, 2 Couples Suites, 2 saunas, 2 steam baths, a fully equipped and spacious gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages and body therapies, aromatherapy and other treatments are also available to help relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athena Beach
Athena Beach Hotel Paphos
Athena Beach Hotel Cyprus
Athena Beach Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing