We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6th year of visiting Athena Beach Hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
1 review
“6th year of visiting Athena Beach Hotel!!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We are returning to the Athena Beach Hotel on Tuesday 9th June 2009, Can not wait ;-)

Our last stay here was September 2006, which was our 5th year of staying here.
However the last two years we had a villa with our family, but realised villas are not for us.

THE ATHENA BEACH HOTEL IS THE ONE FOR US!!!

We hope too have many more happy holidays at the Athena Beach.

Carole and Andre Saunders, Berkshire.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyincyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,513
    674
    207
    62
    30
See reviews for
701
1,254
62
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Two weeks before our wedding day the Azia Blue contacted us out of the blue and advised us that although our wedding which had been booked a year ago was safe - due to a large booking we were being moved out. That was not how we had imagined our wedding day to turn out and on contacting our other guests we found that they hadn't been told anything and we had to find an alternative hotel to take us and 22 other guests at short notice. Luckily we had stayed at the Athena several years ago and had not had a bad experience so requested a move there. All 22 were taken in plus a couple of others who had booked a room at a hotel near the Azia but then found themselves stranded when we were moved out.
Without exception, every guest thought the Athena Beach was great and all would be very happy to return. Thank you for saving the day and to be honest we think we were better off staying where we did because we were nearer Pathos town which was only a leisurely stroll along the seafront away. Couldn't fault the breakfasts or dinner when we ate at the hotel. You would find it a job to find nothing you could eat. Every taste was catered for and what could have been a disaster was turned into a very happy event.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month to attend a wedding. The entire wedding party had been transferred as a result of the Azia Blue being leased out to Canadian troops, although the wedding was still held at the Azia. Actually had a result in being transferred as the Athena's location is much better and is considerably nearer to the airport and the harbour. Paphos has changed very much since we last visited it 13 years ago, with the Athena one of several quality beach front 4* hotels along side each other, all of which are a 20 to 30 minute stroll to the harbour areaa.

Room (001 - ground floor terrace) was very good, well furnished and the view of the sea was outstanding. Stayed on a bed & breakfast basis , which was fine with a very good selection of food, with pancakes, omelettes and eggs cooked to order. The hotel staff were very friendly, in particular the younger reception personnel who seem to represent the high values of the owners (Constantinou Bros). The entire hotel is spotless, with very good facilities, although the bar prices were quite steep. Turn left out of the hotel and walk for about 5 minutes to an area where you will find cheaper bars (Pegasus and Crocodile) and good value restaurants (Rimini was very good).

Overall this hotel offers quality and excellent service and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clifftours_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Stayed at these hotel apartments for one year. Nice airy and bright apartments. Reasonable quality furnishing. Nice roof pool. Has a gym but the hotel will not replace broken/worn out equipment so it not as good as when I moved in. Rooms cleaned 2 times a week. OK for long term but very expensive short term.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We are foodies but never left the hotel as the food was so good both in quality,quantity and variety, though we were on a special HB deal. Fish dishes are a tad disappointing but on a buffet they usually are. To avoid eating far too much we had lunch in our room, muesli + milk or similar. Hotel wine was fully priced but as each room has its own fridge, there you have the alternative. The Cava/La Piazza supermarket opposite the Athena Royale offers very good prices and its cartons of table wine ( made by KEO the beer people) are a steal.
The bus into town is 1.30E to go even right to the depot which is in the main hilltop town centre (M& S, Next etc there) and one day we walked from there seawards to the Tomb of the Kings and thence back to the hotel via the harbour.
We had a sea view room ( based on recommendations on this site) and were very pleased with it. Staff are good, especially Guest Services who will even try and find you tennis partners etc. The Kids water slide splash was a huge hit. The card room was never used for cards in the 11nts we were there. Take plenty of books- few there.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brit1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We stayed at the Athena Beach Hotel for 2 weeks in May 2009 and we had a great time. The hotel itself is very nice and the staff are very helpful and are at hand for any query you have.

We arrived at the hotel and greeted by a hotel rep who escorted us to the check in desk while the porter obtained our luggage. The hotel entrance/lobby is very grand and you can see the sea through the windows at the back. Very well designed for first impressions. (as long it is sunny!!)
A quick and easy check in then we were escorted to our room by the porter, other people in our group were told to go to the room and the bags would be delivered shortly to which they were. Others did choose to take the luggage themselves which the hotel has no problem with.

We had a room on the ground floor (160) which did not have a sea view as you need to pay extra for that. Our view was of the car park which to be honest I did not mind as I do not relax or get a tan in the room. To note the patio door leading to the balcony was double glazed and we did not hear a thing once shut. The room was nice although I must admit I was expecting more from the first impression of the lobby but nether the less it was nice. TV, hairdryer, iron and board, air con, safe (pay extra 6 euros per week), robes and nice clean bathroom with a good shower. Our room was cleaned everyday.

The main restaurant is a located on the ground floor and is quite large, we had no problems in finding a table even as a large party. The buffet has a large selection of food and is cooked to a high standard. There was plenty of choice and they will even provide you with a children’s menu as well although you will need to ask for this and a few of the waiters were not aware of this option so just make sure you push for it.
However there are 2 issues I have with the restaurant and they are - It was far to hot and they would not open the doors to let some air in and this caused a problem with my 10 month old nephew who got very grumpy after a while because he was too hot! Secondly the head waiter who was an older man with grey hair and was the only person to wear a suit was extremely grumpy when ever we asked for anything, my impression was that if you had children then he did not like you, he was very dismissive. Now this is a shame as all of the other staffs were fantastic!!!

The pools and grounds were very well kept and there were plenty of sun beds available for everyone even when the hotel was at 92% capacity. (Please note someone else told me this who were sad enough to ask) They have a slide for children although plenty of adults used it as well, kids pool and 2 other pools that varied in depth. Further to this they do have an heated indoor pool as well.

The reason for our trip was for my mothers wedding which I may say went very well. The day was well organised despite 4 different wedding planers from when it was first booked to the actual day and again the food was fantastic. They even cornered a section off in the main bar which was not requested.

One more point would unfortunately be a negative one for me as I thought the drinks were very over priced in the hotel and not much better in the town. Now I know this is due to the Euro not doing very well to the Pound but over 6 euros for a Malibu and Coke is in my eyes expensive.

Other than that we had a great time at Athena Beach Hotel, the staff were great, the setting was great, the food was great. The hotel itself was just far enough out of town for me with a walking time of around 10 mins to get to the main bars etc.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stokie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindley, Wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Just got back from 2 weeks at Athena Beach. Weather was great but had rain last few days although some of it was teatime.

Hotel is very nice and very clean. The pools and gardens make this hotel. Yes the rooms and some of the other areas are dated but hey your not staying in a 5 star. The pools are fab the only downside they are still too cold at this time of year. You can brave it for prob 10 mins but with a 3 year old its not too good. She spent most of the time in the indoor pool which is accessed by the outside pool area. The pool slide kept alot of children entertained.

The breakfast is fantatstic, champagne inc on a Sunday. We ate here a couple of times in the evening and the price is reasonable. Food was good. Only downside for me was the Ledra Restaurant at lunch isn't great but there is a fantastic cafe at the supermarket over the road.
Take lots of money its very expensive for us Brits with the Euro so low.
A pint in the hotel 3.90 but you can get it for 2 outside.
Steaks ranging from 18 to 24 euros.

Nothing much for kids at this hotel although they are starting a childrens club.
The fiesta bar over the road has things to keep them entertained while your having a drink.

Didn't rate any of the restaurants on the complex opp the hotel. They are expensive. The pub is ok.
If you walk towards the harbour on the road you'll come to a triangle of bars/restaurants. We ate at the sunbou and da vincis both ok. The best though is the rib shack on the road just before, same side as hotel, it doubles as an indian and is one of the best i've had!!!

Buses to harbour run every 15 mins and its about 1 euro. You can walk its about 25 mins. you can take the coastal path upto the Alexander but then have to get back to road as they are doing work.

If your taking kids have a look at the Aliathon Village. Its opp this hotel and is fab, we had a walk round.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula-Hindley-Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.8 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 88 in Paphos
2,563 reviews
1.0 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 88 in Paphos
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paphos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#13 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#18 Family Hotel in Paphos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel is a four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos within easy walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archaeological sites, the shops and the nightlife. A bus stop is just outside the hotel and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15 km away from the Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. Also within short driving distance are two super golf courses. All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel's tranquil gardens, as well as luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower, Simmons(R) Luxury Beds and floor to ceiling windows. Room facilities include among others: air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, ironing facilities, safety deposit box as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities of this hotel include 3 freshwater swimming and 2 paddling pools (one of each type heated), a waterslide, one heated indoor pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, floodlit tennis courts, a 24-rink indoor and outdoor Bowls Green facilities, mini golf and a children's playground with Kids Club. In the hotel's Elixir Spa, a total area of 800m2, there is a heated pool, 2 Couples Suites, 2 saunas, 2 steam baths, a fully equipped and spacious gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages and body therapies, aromatherapy and other treatments are also available to help relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athena Beach
Athena Beach Hotel Paphos
Athena Beach Hotel Cyprus
Athena Beach Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing