We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This must be the eighth time we have visited this hotel and it gets better and better. We visit in November and December and frequently meet regulars. It is one of the friendliest hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff are really helpful and remember faces well. Nothing is too much effort for them. Guest services are always ready to greet you as you walk through the door. The facilities are good. There is plenty to do - Lovely gardens to relax in , superb bowling greens, crazy golf etc. Our favourite occupation is the dancing. The dance leaders (Pete and Chris) provide excellent tuition during the day and dancing 6 nights out of 7. They meet the needs of all levels of dancers providing ballroom, sequence, and line dancing in a very friendly atmosphere. We shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsearchagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,177 - 2,183 of 2,690 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2011

Just back from a 5 week stay at the Athena Beach which we enjoyed although there were a few niggles. We booked a seaview room which was what we got but the balcony was very small ( about 2m wide ) and after the first night the beds were very uncomfortable,so we asked at recption to be moved.We were offered a room in "Siberia" block which gets no sun at all.
As there was "nothing else available" ,although the hotel was less than 1/3 occupied,we opted to stay where we were provided something was done about the beds. This would be done" right away" Three days later nothing had changed so we went to customer services and within hours the mattresses had been replaced, an improvement but not all that wonderfull,I think the beds are way passed their sell by date.
If you enjoy a sunny balcony be aware that although all seaview rooms are of a similar layout the balconies range from the" concrete box" like we had to big enough for sunbeds & brolly.
We had a few more niggles including having to pay to use the wi fi (" no charge in superior rooms if you would care to upgrade sir " ) the local cafe / bars offer this free to their customers. We had a meeting with the hotel manager which was a complete waste of time as he was extremely unhelpfull and unpleasant.
The hotel was very quiet with not a lot happening in the evening other than sequence dancing or a duo singing in the Nectar bar,all very similar, but very few people . A good comedy act and a reduction in the bar prices would work wonders.
If you are into bowling they have excellent facilities both indoor and outdoor. Although if you both play as we do,it costs 10 euros a time ( including bowls )
it can be expensive over the period of your stay.
Having said all that, the food the weather and most of the staff made it a great holiday

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angamac-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Just returned from the Athena Beach hotel after a four week stay. Yet again a most enjoyable holiday. Well equipped and clean rooms,very good choice of food and courteous staff, with special thanks to Voulla, Flori and Cornilia. Although there are many good hotels in Paphos, we always return to the Athena Beach, mainly due to the extra activities they provide. The dancing tuition and evening dance programme provided by Chris and Pete was particularly enjoyable. The bowling facilities are also superb and very well organised by Trevor and Ann
Pat & Andy thank you all and we hope to return again next year

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toestap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Excellent location on the seafront of Paphos, good food, but rooms bit run down. The outside pool area is very good with the grounds- but the indoor pool is small and very public (ie on show to people from outside and walking in the hotel corridors.) some staff excellent others annoying - clearing your plates just before you have finished eating and standing watching over you when eating. This became very annoying. The eating areas out of season seemed heavily overstaffed, with staff having very little to do, apart from being annoying! Having briefly summed up good and bad points it was still good value and in fairness they are due to refurbish the hotel in January- march 2011. The rooms were functional but dated and beds were very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelreview123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We booked our wedding through an independant broker who reccommended this hotel as a potential spot for our dream wedding abroad. Obviously when booking a wedding abroad i had a few reservations but our broker and the wedding planner at the hotel reassured me and i had regular contact and updates from them. Our room was exellent and the views of the sea were very romantic and would definately reccommend paying slightly more to have a sea view room. I must admit though, the rooms are ever so slightly dated and did need a little re-vamping but were more than we expected anyway. The only othe niggle was that the hotel was huge so it took a while to get to our room as we were right at the end of the hotel with having a sea view room, but we got used to the walk. The pool was very nice and was clean and the hotel was very child friendly. There wasnt that much to do for children around the hotel but there were water parks and trips to provide entertainment.

The food was also very nice and would definately reccomend going half board at least as a meal in the town for two adults and a child can get quite expensive. There was a huge selection of food from the buffets and food was never left out too long which ive always been a bit picky about!

Leading up to our wedding we were treated like royalty and were given lots of support by the wedding planner, who thankfully, was english! Also, all reps from loads of travel companies were on hand at specific times when needed.

We were taken via limo to the town hall to sign our paperwork and the registrar was lovely and very helpful. We had our wedding at 5pm and everything went smoothly. We were given champagne and waiter service all night as compliments from the hotel. Our wedding breakfast was also fabulous and couldnt of asked for a better day! We also enjoyed the breakfast in bed we were brought the next morning.

All in all i thought the hotel was great, there were better hotels further up but felt that ours offered us everything we wanted.

Niggles:- Very quiet and possibly not the best place for children during non-busy periods. There are lots of bars and pubs but some werent open, even though it was May which isnt that far from Summer busy periods.
Sometimes it took a while for the Reception staff to understand what we were wanting when we made enquiries about anything.
In quiter months, the hotels are full of old people! :-)

Excellent holliday.... would reccommend and would definately return during the summer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MinxyBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

stayed for 4 nights in December. from my experiences this is not a UK standard 4* hotel. Breakfast is very average. rooms very clean but a little dated, bed was very uncomfortable. location is A1, right on the beach, and right by some very nice bars and restaurants, reasonably quiet. Staff very nice if you forgive the eastern european directness. As i paid £24/night i would not complain it was extremely good for the price, any more than this and i would be less impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runtothehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

My partner and I spent a week at the Athena Beach Hotel between the 28th of November and the 5th of December, and I can hardly fault a thing!

I paid extra to get a Superior room with a sea view, I would advise people do that if possible, because the view roadside isn’t really up to much.

Anyway, on arrival to the hotel I was informed we had been upgraded to a Suite. We were taken aside, given a free glass of champagne and then taken to our room. The suite itself was lovely, you entered the room into an entrance corridor, which led down to a living room complete with a large 40inch flat screen tv. The bed room was connected directly to the living room and comprised of a massive Queen sized bed and another large tv (this one was 32 inch). The suite had two bathrooms, one en-suite and one off the living room. And if all that wasn’t enough the suite had two big balcony’s to enjoy the beautiful sunsets from.

The superior rooms and suites have new bedding daily and the maid service is very good.

The superior rooms and Suites also come with a free bottle of red wine too, which is a nice touch.

We were told that superior and suite room guests were aloud access to the ‘Executive Breakfast’ area, which in all honesty sounds more impressive then it is. It’s exactly the same as the normal breakfast area, with the same food on offer, with the exception there are less people eating there. Also the Executive Breakfast area didn’t open until 8.30am, were as the normal breakfast room opened a full 90 minutes earlier at 7am. In the winter, with the shorter days it was actually a bit of an inconvenience to wait for the executive area to open, it cost us valuable daylight hours! So we ended up eating in the normal breakfast room just as often as the executive. The breakfast itself can at best be described as ‘ok’, there was plenty of different foods on offer, but none of it was fantastic. It certainly filled a hole though.

We stayed on a B&B board basis, which I definitely think is the best way to enjoy this hotel. We ate in the hotels evening restaurant only once, on the first evening, and just like the breakfast buffet offerings there was plenty of choice, but none of the food was great, just kind of ok.

But with the exception of the food this hotel is completely fantastic. It’s remarkably clean and the attention to detail by the staff is incredible.

Also, we were aloud free access to the Sauna and Steam rooms, which was a nice little extra. The spa is also very nice, though a little expensive.

The pools were nice, but to cold to enjoy during the winter. The sea was warmer than the pools!

The hotel is about 25minutes walk into Paphos along a very nice coastal path. We ate out in Paphos on 4 occasions and there is plenty of choice along the dockside. There are plenty of lovely restaurants.

We had amazing weather, ranging from 23-27 degrees during peak day. Not to shabby for late November and early December!

All in all, the Athena Beach Hotel is a lovely, relaxed hotel. Its location is good and the service is top notch. But its probably best enjoyed on a B&B basis.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernPride76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.8 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,873 reviews
1 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue, Paphos 8101, Cyprus (Formerly Athena Beach Hotel)
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paphos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#14 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#18 Family Hotel in Paphos
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £57 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel is a four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos within easy walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archaeological sites, the shops and the nightlife. A bus stop is just outside the hotel and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15 km away from the Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. Also within short driving distance are two super golf courses. All the rooms feature spacious balconies offering beautiful views of the Mediterranean or of the hotel's tranquil gardens, as well as luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower, Simmons(R) Luxury Beds and floor to ceiling windows. Room facilities include among others: air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, ironing facilities, safety deposit box as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities of this hotel include 3 freshwater swimming and 2 paddling pools (one of each type heated), a waterslide, one heated indoor pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzis, floodlit tennis courts, a 24-rink indoor and outdoor Bowls Green facilities, mini golf and a children's playground with Kids Club. In the hotel's Elixir Spa, a total area of 800m2, there is a heated pool, 2 Couples Suites, 2 saunas, 2 steam baths, a fully equipped and spacious gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages and body therapies, aromatherapy and other treatments are also available to help relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athena Beach
Athena Beach Hotel Paphos
Athena Beach Hotel Cyprus
Athena Beach Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing