We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Helios Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Almyra Hotel(Paphos)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Queen's Bay Hotel(Kissonerga)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$178
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments(Paphos)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hadjiantoni Anna Hotel Apartments(Paphos)(Great Value!)
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Axiothea Hotel(Paphos)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$749
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
465
181
46
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
181
46
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssienna restaurantpool barweekly bbqpoppadomssea viewbbq nightbus stopself cateringsmall beachrelaxing holidayair conone bedroom apartmentsecond homebus serviceday passnothing is too much troublepatio doors
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We felt totally de-flated upon arrival at this hotel after seeing the pictures online. The pictures shown are quite clearly from when the hotel was first opened and not a true reflection of how the hotel looks today. It has quite clearly been run into the ground with no money invested in Maintenence. The sofa in our room had cigarette burns in it, the curtains had holes in them, the showers by the pool were in major need of de-scaling and the gym equipment other than the weights may as well not have been there, the bikes & cross trainers broken, no air conditioning either just a fan, and the sauna empty and abandoned. Can't knock the bar staff although had a different experience when approaching the front desk. We arrived back from a day out to find ants crawling from the kitchen, through the bedroom and out onto the patio which I can fully accept but when I went to the front desk to ask for ant killer, after conversation between the manager and the girl on reception I was told they would bring it LATER...it wasn't until I said we wanted it now that the manager got up to get it...he wasn't rude but made me feel an inconvenience by asking. We didn't try the BBQ night so can't comment but it seemed no one really stayed at the hotel in the evenings whilst we were there and instead made the most of paphos town and the marina. The bar in the reception area I didn't see used at all. Maid service was good and pool was clean, this hotel just wasnt what we were expecting to arrive to tho...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckswelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Have ust arrived home after another great stay at the Helios. Rooms and public areas are kept clean by the hard working maids. Nicos and all the staff (maids, bar staff and reception) are very friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble. You can relax by the pool or in the pristinely maintained gardens, Sienna and Agui are very good restaurants making for an excellent and relaxing stay. We are already planning next years trip there.

Trevor & Jean

Room Tip: Top floors room 3xx have best views
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeeJayLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Another superb holiday at the Helios, it really is like staying with family. Nothing, but nothing, is ever too much triouble for Nicos and his staff, they are determined you will enjoy your stay.
To the few detractors who felt they did not get what they expected I would say do your research before booking. Use Trip Advisor and the Paphos forums to get a feel for the hotel and the area. Don't wait until arrival to complain it was not what you expected. If you want 500+ rooms, acres of polished marble and staff who treat you like one of the herd then the Helios is not for you. However if you want a small, clean hotel with staff who care, a wonderful location with excellent restaurants and beaches then the Helios should be top of your list.

Room Tip: Get a high level sea view room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

As a first timer to this hotel I felt dissapointed on arrival, the reception has a tired 70s feel,for anyone accustomed to the all singing dancing modern hotel complex with bright marble interiors.However as the days wore on we warmed to this old lady,had a very relaxing holiday.As for the detail,the one bedroom apartment with a separate lounge/kitchenette was roomy no dble bed twin only,extra bed converted from couch fine for our light weight daughter but a heavier child/adult would have struggled from a comfort point of view.The kitchen was adequately stocked,the bonus was a sea view from the side balcony of the hotel.All rooms lead off a charming courtyard of banana trees and plants.
The area around the pool we found relaxing,the pool area is neither huge or area grand but is in pretty well tended grounds and looks to the sea just a few metres away.There are plenty of sunbeds and snackbar close to hand.
The advertised spa and jacuzzi located under the pool area looked as though not used for some time.
Our only overall disapointment was the mistake of booking breakfast which we felt was exrtremely poor value,the saving grace was the view from where we ate it.
Overall we would return but s/c only.
As the hotel is located between paphos town and coral bay, car for us was a must we used easy rent a car and would use them again,although the bus service is excellent but a couple of dozen return trips to town and transfer costs the car hire has paid for itself.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

just got back from helios app the views stunning thats as good as it gets the rooms are roasting the air con waste of time the breakfast for 5 euros day light robbery they give you orange cordial no eggs no bacon the staff are not helpfull at all i think its because the are no cyprian plaese dont waste your money

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NEIL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NICOLAS90, Manager at Helios Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

“Dear Tripadvisor reviewer

Thank you for spending some of your precious time to add your review about the Helios Bay. I am very sorry to read that you have found my staff rude, I had to say that not only what other reviews are saying but only our scores on all tour operators rate our staff very high in friendliness, therefore I was totally surprised to read this on your review. If during your stay an incident between you and our staff occurred then I will be more obliged to find out. I think it is not nice to say that our hard working staff are not nice because they are not Cypriots, the family that runs and operates this hotel is Cypriot anyway and our culture is always part of our staff training.

Regarding your air conditioning if there was any problem why you did not mention it to the reception so that we could send our maintenance to fix it?

Also our breakfast offers a variety of hot and cold items that if you can see before deciding to have breakfast. I think that the amount of 5 euros is a very reasonable amount bearing in mind that in the UK where we travel a lot you can only have a toast for this amount of money, therefore calling it a robbery is a bit tough.

Additionally you have stayed 8 nights on top floor and you never complain or ask to change your room at lower level. We are always help our clients especially the senior customers. We couldn't see your age in your booking and you didn't have request for low floor. You never mention any problems in the reception.

Once again we do thank you for staying with us and we are sorry that we haven’t met your expectations.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews