We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull relaxing crash out”
Review of Helios Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Helios Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

we returned from our 2nd visit to the Helios 2 days ago 7th July, we had a 3rd floor sea view apartment with wonderfull views to the sea and superb sunsets, as we are beach people a short walk through the gardens takes us to a small beach where we spend all our days, followed by evenings in paphos takeing the bus from outside the Hotel, the staff are lovely and we will certainly be staying again ,hopefully next year would recommend this Hotel to anyone who likes good accomodation without the fussy Big Hotel atmosphere

Room Tip: sea facing rooms are to be recommended, however the studios in the main block 2nd and 3rd floor do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186337Lovesun_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We've just returned from another great holiday at Helios; we took my Father this time & he loved it. As promised by Nicos, we had garden studio rooms with our own patio which overlook beautiful gardens & the sea. Temperatures are currently a barmy 35 degrees, but as Helios has an upstairs shaded bar area which serves great food & cool drinks (by the pool) the heat is tolerable for anyone.
We've been to Helios many times now & it is our favourite place to holiday. It's in a beautiful, quiet location, service is excellent, & there is a very regular bus service on the doorstep which can take you in to Paphos or Coral Bay. We will be back again with my Father in tow!

Room Tip: Book direct with Nicos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesbonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is my 14th time to the Helios, I can't speak highly enough of the place!

The hotel is located on the beach with superb sunsets and lovely views! The rooms are kept amazingly clean and the cleaning staff do a fantastic job! Our maid was lovely and always had a good morning for us :)

There is a bus stop just across the road from the hotel and the bus service is great! You never have to wait long for a bus! I would recommend getting a week bus ticket from the bus station priced at €15. This means u can get on and off the bus till 11pm each night. It's a great saving and ours was put to good use!

The Monday night BBQ at the hotel is a must! Great food and atmosphere! The long and short of it is if you want a great hotel that's family run and peaceful, a great base to see paphos, located right on the beach with lovely clean rooms then Helios bay is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise3durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Helios Bay Hotel... Where do we start ? How this hotel would achieve a 2 star rating, let alone 4 star is beyond us ! Previously when reading negative reviews on Trip Advisor I have thought people's expectations are too high and they are looking for things to moan about, this is certainly not the case for Helios Bay. This is the first time I've felt the need to write a review but after an utterly appalling experience of this hotel others need to be warned...

First impressions weren't great, the facilities were tired and it was not welcoming, the hotel looked nothing like the pictures on the website. We were on the ground floor and the corridor leading to our room was dark and dingey. Breakfast was of the same standard, poor ! The cereal was stale, the milk was warm as it is left out in the sun, the fruit juices were always empty and the selection of hot food was terrible. The food was in-edible to the point that although we had paid for bed and breakfast for a week, we only ate there once.

Moving on to the hotel's facilities... The jacuzzi was out of order and looked as though it had been for a while judging by the smashed wall tiles around it. The shower by the pool did not work, surely this is a hygiene issue. The free Wi-Fi constantly dropped out and was a very poor connection and the swim-up pool bar mentioned was non-existent.

These things could have been overlooked if it wasn't for the disgusting levels of hygiene in this hotel. The first night we had ants in our room, the second day a millipede in the shower. The odd insect is expected abroad but when you are greeted by a cockroach in your bathroom that cannot be overlooked. We informed reception of the problem, who explained it would be sorted tomorrow when the manager was back in. A maintenance man did come to our room and used a commercial bug spray, so we hoped that would be the end of our problem. The next day the problem escalated, we came back after going out for dinner to find another cockroach in our room. We went straight to reception about the matter who still failed to give us an apology, the receptionist said that "being on the ground floor, you can get cockroaches" we discussed the problem with Nicos, the hotel manager. We can safely say we have never been spoken to so badly. There were no spare rooms so we headed back to our room, we then discovered both dead and living cockroaches down the corridor and saw these going under the doors of other rooms. We were eventually moved to a villa on the same night, this had the same poor level of cleanliness.. There was chewing gum stuck to the kitchen wall and cobwebs in the lamp shades, the place looked like it needed a good clean ! We did eventually, on the last night get moved to another room in the hotel which was on the top floor. The room was much nicer, we were confused as to why there was such difference in overall cleanliness and quality between the rooms. As this was after all the same hotel !

It is safe to say that Helios Bay Hotel ruined our holiday and we will not ever be returning to this hotel. We hope that others will see the hotel for what it is and don't waste their money as we have !

Room Tip: Do NOT stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I've stayed at Helios Bay several times already and strongly hope to return again. It is the place where you really feel like home with nobody bothering, but everyone being friendly, helpful and highly professional. The hotel is not big (for me it is an advantage), quiet and very cosy. The rooms a well equipped and furnished, the bathrooms are modern and comfortable. I'm really missing coffee on the balcony in the morning, watching the sea.
If you are a walker, that is a perfect place with 8 km path along the coast right from the hotel to Paphos harbor. If you are not - a bus stop is just next to the door.
Lovely place to relax. I'm lookig forward to coming back one day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My family and I are returning to HELIOS BAY HOTEL for the 3rd time as it is the perfect location for us, as it is near to the beach, shops and restaurants and has a dive shop next door. Nicos (the owner) and his staff are very welcoming, friendly and accommodating as they have arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport. Also the hotel and pool are kept spotless,, the rooms are air conditioned and are cleaned daily with fresh towels, and are furnished to a high standard. The food at the pool bar is very good but the BBQ and family entertainment on a Monday night is fantastic ,

Room Tip: Its all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOMJONES097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the lovely apartments last year and have booked to go back in September. We are so looking forward to seeing all the refurbishment and to sit on our balcony and see the wonderful sunset and to meet the friendly owners again. Holiday lover 952

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaylover952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
3.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.0 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
1,015 reviews
3.9 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
3.1 mi away
Damon Hotel Apartments
1.5 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Bay Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 60423, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
#22 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#24 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £21 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helios Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helios Bay Hotel is located on the beach between Coral bay and Tombs of the King. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Helios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Bay Paphos
Hotel Helios Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing