We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November Holiday”
Review of Helios Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helios Bay Hotel
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“November Holiday”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was a great place to stay. the decor was becoming in need of some attention but we were at the end of the the season. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the cleaners were always helpful, when we weren't ready to accommodate them and would return later.
The shop in reception was very limited & mainly sold souvenirs, but did stock water. The supermarket 10 minutes down the road was well stocked and reasonably priced.
The reception staff were always very helpful, breakfast was available each morning and free wi-fi in reception.
It was a good location with only a short walk to the beach. The beach was so close we didn't really use the pool, but that was through choice and not because there was anything wrong with it.
On the day of leaving our bags could be stored at reception and a good shower room was provided in order to get changed for the return journey. All in all we had a great holiday at the Helios Bay Hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    160
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
202
329
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel pool rooms are great for familys they have a bedroom plus a livingroom area with 2 sofa beds. The staff are very friendly and helpfull anything you need they are there to help. The bus stop is rite outside the main door witch takes 10 mins if that to get u to the harbour. The hotel is freindly and quiet but still great for the kids and enjoyment at the bar. Will defenetly be returning without a doubt x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyanne stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
156 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Although some way out of Paphos, there is a good bus service along this road, to the port area in the town. There's not a great deal to do in the immediate vicinity, and in November , the nearby bars etc were all closed. The location of the Helios opposite the excellent Poppadums restaurant is a plus point.
We had a sea view studio (without balcony), and it appeared to have been recently refurbished, with an attractive bathroom and small , adequately equipped, cooking area.
Everything was clean and the beds were comfortable. The outdoor areas were also clean and tidy.
This is definitely good value for money. Using Booking.com we paid 47 euro for B&B, though had we left the booking to the last minute the price would have been considerably less.....very low season...mid November.
Breakfast is fairly basic but again very adequate, considering the price.
We appreciated having wifi in the reception area.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BagpussJohn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Found the guidance on TA invaluable. This really is a great place to stay - very clean, extremely well positioned in a quiet area. But you have Coral Bay one side and the Harbour/Kings to the other way and only a short bus ride to either. Go to the harbour when you get there and buy a weekly bus ticket - we used it several times a day! Poppadums Indian was great, as was the Siena Restaurant. Also recommend Coral King in Coral Bay, great food and music. Fantastic beach easily accessible from the hotel. Very quiet this week as everything is closing up but we felt very welcome. Fantastic, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: depends on what you want - the poolside rooms are great for families as they open onto the pool but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagpussJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I have just returned from another fantastic stay at Helios Bay. This must be the most pleasent place to stay in Paphos. We have been staying here for almost 20 years and have seen standards not just maintained but improved whilst still keeping original Cypriot features. The apartments have been upgraded in the last 12 months by virtue of new bathrooms, kitchen area and new flooring throughout. There is a daily maid service and linen is changed every third day (where do you get this service in a self catering hotel), towels are changed every third day but if required just leave in the bath. The whole hotel and grounds are immaculate and it is a pleasure to walk around the grounds and see varios types of fruit being grown. There is a lovely pool for adults together with a pool ideal for kiddies with an adjoining pool bar where you can have a drink or meal. The grounds lead down to a sandy beach and the Med, you can almost sit in the pool bar witha drink and paddle your feet in the Med. The whole complex is family run and owned and Nicos and his staff will do anything to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Helios Bay is halfway between Paphos and Coral Bay with some very good eating places within a few yards and a very good bus service just outside the door. Helios Bay is a wonderful place to stay and appears to get better by the year.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a direct sea view room. The rooms are located over 3 floors and whilst there is good a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magpie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and was not disappointed in any way. 5 Star hotel it isn't, 5 Star accommodation it is! The apartment, grounds and common areas were spotlessly clean, the pool and snack bar very good. All the staff were friendly and professional. Yes, the Helios is away from the hurly burly of downtown Paphos, but is served by a good bus route and 10 mins takes you into town. I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at Helios Bay, we had a fantastic time and would strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a bit of peace and quiet. We were looking for a place with access to both beach and pool and Helios Bay ticked both boxes. The pool is a good size and fantastically refreshing and the beach is only a couple of minutes down the gardens, in a lovely little bay. We had booked a studio room with a balcony but when we arrived we were disappointed to see that our room had fantastic sea views but unfortunately no balcony. As this was one of the most important features for us we complained (for the first time in our lives!) and the next day we were given the perfect room on the ground floor. The studio number 111 had a little terrace with even our own sun loungers, perfect views of the sea and sun set, and was very spacious. Both rooms were very clean, simple but nice with all facilities we needed. All staff we dealt with were extremely friendly and helpful. For 30 Euros we were able to extend our stay beyond the usual check out time until the evening, which was very convenient for us given our late flight back.
At first we were a little disappointed with the location of the hotel, just off the main road from Coral Bay to Paphos, with little else but a few other hotels, odd selection of restaurants, English Pubs and a couple of tourist shops in walking distance along the main road. However, in hindsight it was a minor downside as the hotel itself and its surroundings made fully up for it. While we struggled to find a traditional taverna nearby, we did have a couple of very good meals in the nearby restaurants, especially in Captain Corallos (where we got an additional starter, fruit and a drink on the house!) and Siena just next to the hotel. On some nights we took the bus to Paphos and Coral Bay, which were both really easy. For trips to supermarkets, bakeries, banks, sights etc we used our hired car.

Room Tip: 111 - Ground floor studio, with terrace overlooking the garden and sea, just off the pool area so ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
3.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.0 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
876 reviews
4.0 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 88 in Paphos
2,647 reviews
2.4 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#38 of 88 in Paphos
1,093 reviews
3.1 mi away
Damon Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Bay Hotel

Property: Helios Bay Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 60423, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#24 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helios Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helios Bay Hotel is located on the beach between Coral bay and Tombs of the King. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Bookcyprus.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Bay Paphos
Hotel Helios Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing