We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have wished for anything more!”
Review of Helios Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helios Bay Hotel
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Couldn't have wished for anything more!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My mum, brother and I have just returned from a two week stay at the Helios Bay Apartments and we really have had the best holiday we could have wished for. The reviews on Trip Advisor are very positive and I can totally see why. On arriving at the Helios, we were warmly greeted and escorted to our hotel room, which exceeded our expectations. We had a third floor room, 312, with the most stunning view of the sea and the beautiful sunsets every evening. We requested a sea view by email which Nicos the manager responded to personally, and it was just exceptional!!

Our room was spacious and modern, with a large living area, kitchen area and one large bedroom and bathroom. The decor was lovely and airy with much more room than we needed. The living area has two sofa beds, a coffee table, a flat screen TV and a glass door leading to the balcony. The kitchen is well equipped for self catering and spotlessly clean. The bedroom has laminate flooring throughout, a massive wardrobe, dressing table and patio doors also leading to the balcony. The balcony was a good size with a clothes airer and table and chairs. The bathroom was very modern with a lovely bath/shower. Air con is free of charge and works very well, very welcome in 40+ degree heat! There is also a safe, that you can hire for 8.50 euros a week. Wi-Fi is free in Reception and works very fast. However for 15 euros, and 7.50 euros for extra devises, you can have Wi-Fi anywhere in the hotel and it's grounds. The maid service was excellent, they cleaned our room every day, cleaning the windows, doors, floors and surfaces thoroughly. Towels are changed 3 times a week and our bed linen was changed twice a week. If we were in our room, the maids would quite happily come back later. All of this, along with our fantastic view of the sea and coastline made our stay perfect!

The grounds of the hotel are immaculate with palm trees and lots of greenery. The pool area is large and clean, with plenty of sunbeds for everyone. My pet hate is having to get up at silly o clock in the morning just to get a bed, but at the Helios there is no problem at all, even though the hotel was fully booked when we went. The pool is large with a shallow and deep end, as well as a smaller child's pool, perfect for all ages. It is so warm, almost like a bath, delightful! The pool bar serves fantastic food and drink at a very reasonable price, we ate there at lunch most days and what the menu called 'snacks' was equivalent of a main meal in England!! The girls who man the bar are lovely!!

For those people wanting a hotel that has entertainment every night, this is not the hotel for you. The Helios is a low key, family run hotel with a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere; those wanting entertainment would be better staying at one of the larger hotels. However, the barbeque on Monday nights is a must, the food is wonderful and the Greek dancing and singing is great fun.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us, far enough from the hustle and bustle of Paphos itself, but close enough if you want to catch a bus in to the harbour of an evening. The bus stop is directly opposite the hotel and any journey, whether you want to go 2 stops or 20 stops, is only 1.50 euros. Very efficient and always on time, running every 10 minutes!! They are also air conditioned. There are a number of exceptional tavernas within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel, our firm favourites were Sienna and Wisdom, the guys in Wisdom remembered us every time, and when we left they gave us a nice farewell! There are also supermarkets on the same strip, which sell everything you might need.

There is plenty to do on the island, near Paphos. We hired a car for 3 days and went to Pafos Zoo and the Akamas coastline, however all of these are also accessible by bus. Coral Bay is only 10 minutes up the road and Paphos harbour and Tomb of the Kings is 10 minutes in the opposite direction. We found the Helios Bay was in the perfect location, everything we needed we had.

Overall, this holiday at the Helios Bay was faultless. The staff in the hotel, Nicos the manager, are all very friendly and will do anything to make your stay the best it can be. All aspects of the hotel; the food, the pool, the staff, the room and even the weather were all absolutely perfect! We asked Nicos for late checkout as we weren't being picked up until 9pm, and he sorted this out for us straight away.

This exceptional hotel is perfect for families and couples alike, and is very child friendly. A truly wonderful hotel in a wonderful location!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    167
    44
    13
    4
See reviews for
219
338
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Helios Bay for 1 week returning 16th Aug and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Helios Bay really does live up to the fantastic reviews on here. We had a great room on the third floor with the most beautiful views of the sea and the sunsets every evening. The pool was really nice, there was always sunloungers available and you didn't have to get up early to get one. The pool bar has lovely staff and serves really nice food and drinks. I would recommend the vanilla milkshakes they are delish.

Prior to our arrival I emailed the hotel to ask if we could get a double bed in our room as it was not an option when we booked and the manager Nicos very kindly said he would try his best to sort one for us. When we arrived we found that we had a double bed in our room, so we were really pleased that Nicos did this for us, you would not get this great service from many hotels. Nicos was really nice when we met him and so were the rest of the staff, they were always happy to help.

There is only 1 small shop and about 3 restaurants outside the hotel so you need to get a bus if you want to go out in the evening but the bus stop is just outside the hotel and it only costs €1.50 wherever you go. Paphos harbour is really lovely for nice restaurants and bars and so is Coral Bay. If you go to Coral Bay we recommend the Coral King restaurant as it is a great night, when we went they had Greek dancers and plate smashing and they got the whole restaurant involved it was really fun.

The beach at Coral Bay is beautiful and only 15 minutes away on the bus, definitely worth a visit.

Overall I would highly recommend Helios Bay Hotel for anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Cyprus. It's in a great location and staff go above and beyond expectations for their guests. We could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with husband and daughter. Lovely one bed apartment. Beautiful sea views and fantastic sunsets. The staff are very nice and helpful. Many thanks to the lady at reception who recommended a bakery for us to get a birthday cake for our daughters 16th birthday. They did a great job. The girls who cleaned our room work very hard and were lovely. One day they left us roses.It is a family run hotel and is not too big so everything feels very personal. Nice relaxed pool area with plenty of beds and there is not a mad rush to bag sun beds in the morning. Good pool bar serving snacks and drinks. The barbecue on Monday is delicious and the greek dancing is good fun. It would be nice if there was a bit more entertainment in the evenings as I think it would encourage people to use the bar more. Bus stop opposite hotel with buses to Paphos Harbour every 10 minutes. Loved our time at Helios. Definitely going back next year.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just returned from our second visit at Helios Bay with our children 10 & 12 and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival we were recognised by the lady on reception who remembered us from last year. All the staff were extremely friendly and the whole place has a real family feel to it. The rooms have had the balconies refurbished since last year with glass panels and new aluminium double glazed windows and patio doors fitted. We had a side see view and the sunsets from the balcony were spectacular. Our room was kept spotless and our room had 2 powerful air conditioning units 1 in the living room and 1 in the bedroom. There were always plenty of sun beds and the pool area and gardens are kept really clean and tidy. There is a bus stop right outside and €1.50 will get you to either Paphos or Coral Bay, there are plenty of eating places within walking distance and I would suggest the New Horizon Pub is worth a visit. When you speak to people around the pool you realise a lot are returning guests, you can tell why. We are already looking at returning for our 3rd visit.

Room Tip: Side or full sea view for the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My partner and I, our two children aged 7 and 22 months stayed at the Helios in a one bedroom seaview ground floor apartment from 2 Aug - 16 Aug. We decided to get married in secret and only told our families before we travelled! My partners two older children were in on our secret and stayed at the hotel for 5 days to be our witnesses. An old colleague who arranged the trip had to email the hotel direct for the 5 day stay and it was dealt with promptly by Nicos. All emails/requests sent were dealt with straight away and this impressed my colleague(not many hotels believe it or not deal with requests or even reply!)
I chose this hotel after lots of research and pouring over reviews etc. A good hotel has returning customers and this one certainly has(always a good thing) Also I read reviews over peak periods as this gives a good indication of how well a hotel copes when its full.
We loved our stay at this hotel and our seaview room was worth every penny. The cleaners were lovely and kept the place immaculate. The staff even though they are extremely busy were always friendly and helpful. Arina at the reception was great we had loads of questions and things to organise which she helped with. On the day we got married we came back to our room to find a bottle on ice and flowers decorated over our bed. What a fantastic surprise and totally unexpected. I have no doubt many of the returning customers have received nice touches like this over the years and that is why they stay here time and time again.
The hotel was full but never felt crowded always a sun lounger free at the pool. This can be a rarity in peak season and is a major gripe of mine if I have to get up at silly o'clock to get a lounger. If you like a hotel with lots of evening entertainment or things going on during the day this is not the hotel to book. Its very low key but as all the reviews say the Monday BBQ night is great fun. Read a hotels reviews do your homework and pick what suits you. This hotel was perfect for us and the location even better far enough away from the peak season crowds but not too far on the local bus to have the choice.
If your self catering at this hotel take a container with some washing up liquid, a scorer pad and a tea towel. I took the bus opposite hotel into paphos 1.50euro each way and went to the supermarket located along same street as Debenhams(you will see Debenhams when you reach the centre). The supermarket is like a huge asda and is very cheap to stock up what you need. I bought water from the hotel 24 hour shop as its cheap. The local shop next to hotel ok but its worth going to get what you need from a bigger store. There is a Lidl on route to paphos centre and the bus stops outside too so again its worth a trip to get what you need.
We were on a BB basis at the hotel and the food was great. We also had lunch on a few occasions all good and very reasonable. We always ate out in the evening. The Sienna was a firm favourite the food is superb. We took a bus along to Fat Mammas as we have eaten there on a previous holiday the food again is superb. Prepare to queue for a table if your not there by 7-7.30. Its busy even in off peak season. Overall this hotel is a gem and we will definitely be back and would happily recommend to others.

Room Tip: If travelling with small children ground floor seaview rooms 109-111. We were in 111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely family run hotel. I've been coming now since 2001 and I've never tired of it. The location is ideally situated between Paphos and Coral Bay and a bus (regularly run) or taxi will get you into either quite easily. I would suggest going into Coral Bay at night time if you don't like crowds or use
one of the restaurants which are situated next to Helios Bay which include traditional food, Indian, and Italian. There is also a fantastic sports bar that shows every Premiership football match as well as other leagues and sports.
Helios Bay have a BBQ night which they run every Monday during the summer. The food is excellent. The BBQ is followed by some traditional dancing and then karaoke.
The best thing about staying here is the friendliness of the owners who do everything possible to make you stay a good one. I have recommended this hotel to several friends over the years and just like most of the people who have reviewed it, they have all returned to Helios Bay again. I think that is the biggest recommend you can give.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atrima41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We travelled 27 July - 10 Aug. Lovely apartments. Spotlessly clean and fresh looking. Very comfy beds. Nice sized apartments (we were in a 1 bedroomed). The photos of the hotel are an exact representation of what you get.

Pool area ideal. The pool is a nice size and has a large shallow end which is great for playing with the kids and ball games. It gets lovely and warm. Plenty of sunloungers and parasols. In fact this is the first holiday we have not had to reserve sunbeds, usually always loungers available at all times of day. More often then not the pool area was quiet although it did get really busy in our last couple of days so I was glad to be coming home.

As others have said the hotel is between Paphos and Coral Bay. No proper paths for walking to restaurants etc. We had a car for the full fortnight which was a god send and I wouldn't have really wanted to be without it. Although we did see plenty of buses so I'm sure easy to get around, but preferred been able to go to the beach in the car and get to where ever we wanted with ease. Most of the road is dug up between the apartments and Paphos which does make it look like a building site and very dirty. Such a shame really as it does spoil the look of the area and they didn't work on it once what we saw.

Recommened restaurants: Sienna (next door), Poppadums (opposite), Jackie Ma's Chinese and Dias Zeus (both on the main road on the right on the way to Paphos).

On the whole we felt Cyprus has lost a lot of its charm, and has become too british and expensive, with a general neglected feel in parts. We did however still thoroughly enjoy our holiday and a huge part of this was down to the pleasant surroundings at the Helios.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJonesysHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
3.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.0 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
927 reviews
3.9 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,677 reviews
4.8 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 85 in Paphos
2,775 reviews
2.8 mi away
Elysium Hotel
Elysium Hotel
#5 of 85 in Paphos
3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helios Bay Hotel

Property: Helios Bay Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 60423, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#24 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helios Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helios Bay Hotel is located on the beach between Coral bay and Tombs of the King. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Helios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helios Bay Paphos
Hotel Helios Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing