We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faboulus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort
Ranked #42 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2009

It whas worth the money to go to pafhos gardens and if in the near future i'll go back there.
The french cook is very good and the american - greek supervisor of the kitchen is very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2009

Four of us are just back from a great stay in the hotel in 2 standard, air-conditioned rooms. They are compact with 2 single beds pushed together but there’s plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a large dressing table and mirror plus a couple of easy chairs and a small table. The mattresses were a little hard but you don’t notice too much after a few drinks ! The rooms were cleaned and beds made every day with fresh towels every other day. There’s also a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs.

All the hotel staff (reception, porter, cleaning, restaurant, bar, etc.) were very helpful and polite and thankfully spoke very good English. The in-room safe is €2 per day with a €30 deposit, which was cheap and gave us peace of mind, although nothing left lying around the rooms were touched or moved at all.

The main pool area was great with more than enough sunbeds during our stay, although it was getting rather busy by the time we left. I recommend using your own beach towel for the sunbeds. Well done to the young entertainment team who do a fantastic job of keeping the kids (and adults !) occupied and amused for 2 hours either side of a long lunch break. Plenty of pool, table tennis, darts, water polo, water basketball, water volleyball and in-pool dancing. Then they organise quiz’s and games in the evening as well as other entertainers, although can not comment on these as we went out each evening.

We were on a B+B basis which suited us fine. The breakfast was the same plentiful array of cereals, waffles, cake, full English, bread, cold meats, cheese, fruit salad with tea, coffee & juice on offer every morning, although a little early for the serious night-owls. Some of us had toasted snacks and drinks at lunchtime which were ok, but we didn’t eat there of an evening so can not comment. Instead, we went to different restaurants every night, some local and some in the harbour area, and I can honestly say that we didn’t have a bad meal in any of them. Our favourite was Za-Za’s, which is 200m from the hotel. The food was beautiful with plenty of potatoes+veg or rice+salad to share. The Lamb Kleftiko is georgous !

The hotel resort is in a nice quiet area and has a mini-market on-site which caters well for all the self-catering apartments, as well as those wishing to enjoy cheaper food and drink (water, beer, wine, etc.) in their hotel rooms. The resort is set back 500m from the seafront where there is the sandy Municipal beach and lots more shops and restaurants. The main bar street area is only 10 minutes walk from the hotel and starts getting lively around 10pm. The harbour area is a 20 minute stroll away and offers more shops and restaurants plus many different boat trips.

Overall, we all had a really enjoyable stay at the hotel and loved the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyNTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

This review is about the accomodation in the hotel & not in the self catering apartments.
We arrived at 04:00 having been delayed 22 hours by a technical fault with the plane. We were greeted by a very pleasant night receptionist and were given a room on the third floor. Our views were of the town & hills but we knew this would be from the time of booking.

The hotel is set back about 4-500m from the seafront road which makes it very peaceful. Our room was of a standard hotel room size with twin beds pushed together, couple of chairs, TV and a safe (2 Euros per day + 30 Euros deposit). We got towels but no flannels, a couple of bars of soap, shampoos & a hairdryer. What you do not get is complimentry water, air conditioning, fridge or in room tea making facilities. The room did look like it had been emulsioned in the last 18 months but the furnishings haven't been replaced for a number of years.

We were upgraded to half board even though the holiday was booked as B&B. Breakfast and dinner were satisfactory, nothing to make you want to go elsewhere. Having dinner at the hotel saved us a fortune on restaurants outside with the current exchange rate.

The pool was okay & safe but not a worshipers paradise, could do with some refurbishment work to tidy it up. You will need to bring your own towels though, we found some on the seafront for 4 Euros each which were good enough to lay on.

We did a couple of excursions that we booked with Horizon who have a number of shops around Paphos. We did the 'Round Cyprus in a day' & the Akamas Jeep Safari both were very enjoyable days out. Best thing is we paid a lot less for these trips than we would have done if booked via our tour company.

Our only moan was the last night when a Cypriot engagement party was held in the basement function room. We had to endure drum & bass until 02:00 & then all the noise of the guests leaving. Unfortunately we were in room 220 which is right above the exit & car park as a previous reviewer has pointed out. Some other guests told us that the police were called to calm down the revellers as they were leaving.

Overall a very comfortable hotel in a good location & I would happily recommend to others thinking of staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank je2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Had a lovely time here, really friendly staff, we stayed b&b could not fault the food. Hotel room was clean but could do with tea making facilities in the room. The entertainment staff (animators) worked really hard trying to please everyone and helped make our holiday a memorable one, a big thank you to Steve, Kate and Emma.There are some very nice restaurants nearby and we can recommend tea for two for a good cuppa. Papho's is a lovely place and we hope to revisit soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bladeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We booked our trip on a late deal and used the reviews on Trip Advisor as well as brochure pictures to choose Paphos Gardens. From our own experiences we found the place to be really brilliant. We checked in at 4am in the morning and luckily for us we were in the main hotel, those that were not were guided to their rooms by secruity, which judging by the size of the place was good for them.

Our room was in the main hotel as we had a B&B Board, but our room was great. It had all mod cons and a little balcony that was over the pool and had also sea view. For us it was really romantic and before we went out we would have a few drinks on our balcony. The beds in the rooms are maybe a little rigid, but still fine to get a good nights sleep in.

Their are two pools, yet we only ever sat round the main pool. Its nice and big and their is a young group of entertainment staff that organise volleyball games in the pool if you are interested and play music througout the day which is good.. We never had any problems in getting any sunbeds, but in the height of the season I would think you better get down their early. Their is also a small indoor pool, so if you were to go in the winter months, their is always a chance to swim.

We only ever had breakfast at the hotel and it was done on a buffet style, I thought it was a great little breakfast comprising of usual cooked english breakfast items, Waffles, cereal, fresh juice meats and cheeses etc. In the evening we normally came back late for a drink after being out for a meal but it was easy enough to get a drink of any sort, however these arnt particularly cheap. We rarely saw the entertainment in the evenin at the hotel, but from what we did see it wouldnt blow you away.

Other than that the location i think is excellent only a short walk to the harbour and paphos beach, unlike other hotels in the area. It really was an excellent hotel and would I definetly reccomend it to friends. Two restaurants I can recommend if you are eating out are the Posideon, which is right in the far end of the harbour and does a beautiful fish meze and also Chloe's which is chinese right in the harbour, the Cod in Chilli Sauce is gorgeous.

Enjoy your holiday if your going the Paphos Gardens it is a great little hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddie8Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We booked a de-luxe studio and were upgraded to one bedroom apartment on arrival which was clean and well furnished with a patio and small garden although the kitchen itself was not so well appointed, there was both oven and microwave but neither could be used because there were no oven dishes or baking sheets, the crockery was not microwave suitable and heated up too much to use.

We found Paphos, and indeed most of Cyprus, was a big disappointment, we don’t like museums but we do like interesting old towns and the occasional castle but found these to be few and far between, there are some old towns up in the mountains but Paphos is better described as the new town and the very slightly older town. We didn’t fly for four and a half hours to go to Next and Debenhams!

Cyprus seemed to be very expensive compared with the rest of Europe even before the drop in the value of Stirling, 6.5 Euro for a toasted sandwich, 4 Euro for a cup of tea and 2.5 Euro for a bowl of cornflakes is expensive whether you are getting 1 or 1.5 Euro to the pound so you would do well to book on an all inclusive basis particularly if travelling with children.

We did notice though as the week progressed prices were coming down, a three course set lunch had gone down from 12.5 to 8.5 Euro by the time we left but the average price of 15.5 Euro for a three course evening meal still seemed about the norm

A new KFC opened on the sea front the day before we left and were charging 5 Euro for a chicken burger but no one was buying.

What is also most annoying is that each restaurant employs somebody to stand outside and persuade people to come inside and eat even though they can see you have been refusing invitations all down the road, to be fair they are not pushy but even so their attentions are becoming a bore by the end of the week

A pint of beer is between 1 and 2 Euros during the day and anywhere from 2.5 Euros at night (3.25 in the hotel bar all day) although if you go to The Friendship Café Bar just outside the main entrance to Paphos Gardens Ari the owner will be pleased to serve you with a pint for 2.5 Euro at any time of the day, his food is also good and reasonably priced as well.

The archaeological park is worth a visit to see the mosaics, and as we don’t drive we also booked trips into the mountains and Northern Cyprus which were both worth doing and inexpensive.

All in all we enjoyed the apartment and the weather but found the cost of living and lack of things to do (for us) a disappointment although the much mentioned time share touts were not as much nuisance as we expected. We did hear from the rep that their activities were made illegal from the beginning of April and they were being moved on by the police if they caught them.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie-Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

The resort is a mixture of 3-star hotel and a number of apartment buildings throughout the grounds. These comments relate only to the hotel, which was clean and comfortable. The rooms are not fancy but have everything you need, are a good size and include a table and couple of chairs and a balcony, also with table and chairs. The breakfast buffet is extensive, if not of great quality, and does include lots of fresh fruit. There is a good snack menu available at lunchtime as well as the buffet.
The pool is a good size with lots of loungers but remember to bring your own towel!
The hotel is a couple of blocks back from the seaafront and municipal beach, a 5-minute walk away past a good selection of restaurants and bars. The main shops and harbour are about 20-30 minutes pleasant walk or you can take the bus.

If you are staying in the hotel, try to avoid rooms 100-120 and 200-220 as they are above the exit from the busy function suite and if you want to sleep before 2:00 am you are likely to be disturbed with the comings and goings, though the hotel staff were very good about asking people to keep the noise down after midnight. Simpler just to ask for a room in the other wing or on the other side of the hotel if you get the chance.

The interent service was patchy so rather than spending money on an access card in the hotel, use the internet cafe along the road - it's also cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.6 mi away
Basilica Holiday Resort
Basilica Holiday Resort
#32 of 85 in Paphos
615 reviews
4.3 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#18 of 85 in Paphos
705 reviews
1 mi away
Roman Boutique Hotel
Roman Boutique Hotel
#46 of 85 in Paphos
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 85 in Paphos
925 reviews
0.9 mi away
Smartline Paphos
Smartline Paphos
#36 of 85 in Paphos
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollonia Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort

Address: Kleious Street, Paphos 8128, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: £21 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled quiety just 300 meters from the sandy beach, as if by a miracle, Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort disappears in the lush vegetation. Located off the main seaside road and just one hop off from the beach, the tourist area, shops, evening entertainment and much more. Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort combines self-catering with hotel accommodation, offering all necessary services and a variety of daily activities to suit every guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Paphos Gardens Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphos Gardens Holiday Hotel Paphos
Paphos Gardens Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing