We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one problem, but still very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Only one problem, but still very good”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I decided to get married here on the 31/5/13 as we had stayed at this beautiful hotel twice before. Our wedding planner Helen was truly amazing as we didn't have to worry about anything, it was all taken care of. We got to have our wedding just how we wanted it. Including George the hotel bar manager making us our very own purple cocktail, to match the colour of our bridesmaids dreses! The kids club "Little monsters" was just amazing. Our 7 year old daughter Antonia wanted to go every day and night! The two girls in there Stacey and Tasha made Antonia's holiday. She will really miss them. Thanks girls. The hotel entertainment team "Kanika all stars" were excellent. All day long there are activities for you to try out and are a lot of fun. I tried archery for the first time and although I wasn't that good, they made it enjoyable. In the evening the same girls and two fellas are back. Singing and dancing their socks off. They really do put on a great show that fits all age groups. I don't think we've ever seen people work so hard to please you. They deserve a pay rise! Lucy manages them really well. Well done guys and girls. All the staff in the hotel go the extra mile for you and are always smiling. Only one thing wrong with this hotel, which could be rectified, is the new hotel pool. It's a lovely pool but it's not child friendly. Were were told by the life guard Evey that children were not allowed to play with any balls or inflatables. When it was the old shape pool this wasn't a problem. We feel the hotel has moved up market and is now aimed at the older market around the pool. This is such a shame as kids want to jump in and play like all kids do when on holiday. We were all kids once and I think this should be looked at. Unfortunately due to this, we won't be staying here anymore and will stay at a hotel nearby. We love Cyprus that's why we chose to get married here. Please please change this silly rule of no balls or inflatables in your pool as we would love to return. Thanks for making our wedding so great. All our love the Gilling family x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamgilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Let us express our sincere thanks for your so detailed review about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel and also thank you for choosing out hotel for your special occasion such your wedding is.

Thank you for your special mention to members of our staff. This means that we have managed to exceed your expectations. Our staff have already been shared with all team members concerned and will motivate them to keep up the excellent work.

In regards to the swimming pool, is very important to note that the hotel provides the kids swimming pool, which was designed especially for our little kids. All kids have the chance to play each other there. Dear Guest, the customer care and safety of all our guests here is among our highest priorities and only for this reason is impossible to change this rule. Of course, your comments and observations are always acceptable and we really appreciate it for taking the time to express your opinion.

Dear Guest, thank you once again and we hope to see you again in our hotel.

Warm Regards
Irene Fetta'
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,716
    353
    59
    24
    4
See reviews for
551
1,180
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (982)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel - customer service is second to none - have to disagree with previous review - most hotels who do not change towels daily do this to save money not to save the planet ! I would be appalled if my towels were not changed daily.

I do not have ond negative thing to say about the hotel - the rooms are spotless and have the most comfortable beds I've ever had in a hotel.

Restaurant has a lovely ambience with a good varied choice if food.

Italian and Japanese restaurant was very nice.

Can't wait to visit again - thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Our genuine thanks to you for taking the time to submit your review of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

It is very pleasing to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with and felt the need to share this experience with us and also other reviewers. We greatly appreciate you gave us an excellent rate to our facilities, service and quality highly.

The whole team here hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon for another memorable experience in our hotel.

Warm Regards
Irene Fetta'
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for our golden wedding anniversary what a lovely hotel , every thing was first class the rooms, food and staff were excellent the entertainment team were very good probably the best we have seen at any hotel we have stayed at and there have been many.the hotel as been refurbished this year and what a wonderful job they have made of it well worth 4 star look foreward to going back next year.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iasmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review concerning your recent stay at the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Once again thank you very much for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming back in our hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards
Irene Fetta'
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

A few niggles when we arrived late and found not enough beds for our party, Craig sorted that and our lack of food.......after that it was a great week, hotel is very nice. My only gripe would be about the change of towels every day...........would be better if a few green brownie points was earned with less changes, other great hotels around the globe manage it. If this aspect changed a 5+ would be in order!!

Room Tip: Ours had a sea view on the first floor. Faultless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatBWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Let us thank you for expressing your thoughts about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel online. It is very important for us to hear such positive comments for our hotel.

We truly hope we may have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel again very soon for another wonderful stay.

Warm Regards,
Irene Fetta'
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We are a couple in our 40s & arrived in a party of 8. Arrived the week before half term & thought we had walked into a scene from benidorm! This hotel is a lovely clean smart looking hotel in a great location. It does cater for the older generation though. The older couples we spoke to have returned numerous times with good reason. 2nd week was more family orientated.

We stayed h/b. Food is extremely bland & we found it tasteless. There is lots of it & choice, just nothing tastes of anything! Went with friends to japenese restuarant which was half empty. We spent over 2hrs in there & had only had two courses (soup & rice) & at this point it was extremley dark in the restaurant as it is only lit by tea-lights. We could not risk desert as we were concerned we would not get out of there till daylight!!! Lunch is by far the best meal there which we had most days. Tried the buffet dinner it was awful breakfast isn't better as it is catering for the masses which is a shame as it is such a lovely hotel. However many of the older clientele loved the food - it just wasn't to our liking.

Staff are superb especially Deep in restaurants & Yanis in reception. Rooms are spotless also decor done really well. Only other moan is sunbeds being put out at 6am! That's not enjoyable to hear. On whole this is a lovely hotel with great staff just personally the food does let it down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHarry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Warm Regards to you from all of us here at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel and many thanks for providing us with your feedback.

We are happy to see that you have enjoyed most of your stay despite that our meal offerings in the restaurants were unsatisfactory. We have taken on board all the comments you have provided us with, whether positive or negative for further improvement of our services and facilities.

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback which will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in the nearest future!

Warm Regards

Irene Fetta'
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

There were a group of 12 of us staying at Alexander, as we had arranged to get married and have the reception in the hotel.
The location was ideal for those who want a stroll to centre of Paphos, the harbour was only a 15min walk along the seafront with lovely bars and restaurants.
The food in the hotel was very varied, so that even the young children in our group were very happy. The Italian restaurant where me and my husband had our candlelit dinner was very romantic and the food was exquisite.
The sun loungers did prove to be a bit difficult for some of our party who had young children, as we were only given loungers on the grass verge facing the sea. But after a few days we were allocated two, which made watching the children much easier.
The pool was lovely, people walking past the hotel were taking photos it looked that good, the pool bar was so relaxing, we spent quite a lot of time there and in the steamroom :)
All the staff really made our holiday and wedding the best, from the waiters who always gave us the biggest tables for our large family, the bar staff who were always looking after us (and our wedding cheese cake), the entertainment team who gave really gave the best hotel shows I've ever seen and really good daily activities that kept the children happy. The reception staff were also very helpful and polite (even when we were quite noisy in the early hours after a few drinks in the Alexander Bar).
I have to give a special thanks to Helene, who arranged our wedding to the last detail, exactly how we wanted it to be. Also Sue, the hair dresser based in the Hotel's salon, the bridesmaids and my hair was so beautiful on the day.
I would highly recommend this hotel not just for a family holiday but also the wedding services here, we will definitely be coming back to Alexander the Great!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for this special occasion of your lives; your wedding as well as for taking the time and post online your great feedback about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

It is very pleasant for us to see that you have enjoyed it so much and that we have managed to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your lovely comments about our food, staff and for the particular mention to Helene, our wedding coordinator and Sue. We are very glad they made your wedding to be perfect and memorable as it's should be.

Thank you again and we definitely looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the nearest future.... Perhaps next year for celebrating your Wedding Anniversary with us.

Until then we remain.

Warm Regards
Irene Fetta'
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

We are regular visitors to this hotel and have always liked almost everything about it.The recent revamp has really brought the hotel up to date.The food ,staff and facilities are excellent.We will definitely be coming back

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene F, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a review concerning your recent stay at the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel.

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Customer care is always one of our highest priorities and your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Once again thank you very much for your kind support and we are looking forward to seeing you in our hotel very soon.

Warm Regards
Irene Fetta'
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#16 of 90 in Paphos
2,432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 90 in Paphos
1,830 reviews
0.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Louis Imperial Beach
Louis Imperial Beach
#4 of 90 in Paphos
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Property: Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing