We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelleny holtel - Brilliant holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excelleny holtel - Brilliant holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at Alexander the great hotel for ten nights from the 4th August. We went to ATG for mine and my husbands honeymoon with our daughter (15months old) and my parents.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel very welcome, receiving a complimentary drink, which was lovely, whilst we were booked in. All the staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for anyone. One member of staff especially, Anca - Waitress at buffet breakfast/lunch, really helped make our holiday, she is one of the kindest most caring people i think i will ever meet always ensuring we had everything we needed at breakfast/lunch especially for our daughter.

All the facilities at ATG were lovely. The rooms were really lovely refurbished to a very high standard and the maids did an excellent job of keeping everything clean and comfortable during our stay. We had a superior room which gave us additional room for a cot. Having a 15 month old daughter who was just starting to toddle concerned me a little as i was unsure how toddler friendly the rooms would be but they were great.

All the pools were wonderful and very clean. The area surrounding the pool were great too.

I would recommend all of the restaurants, the buffet breakfast lunch and dinner were great as were the Greek restaurant and Japanese (Japanese was my favorite!).

I even made it to the gym once with my husband and those facilities were great too.

I have no complaints about the hotel or staff I really enjoyed my honeymoon and would certainly return to the hotel again.

Nikki & Michael

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Nikki and Michael,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon.

Thank you also for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Anka will be delighted to have been mentioned and we will pass your review onto her. Your comments re the refurbishment, the room, the pools, the whole team of staff and the restaurants is most appreciated.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel, maybe for your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,791
    367
    63
    26
    4
See reviews for
576
1,235
68
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,029)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

After last year, where we went to an awful hotel, we were nervous about our holiday this year, although this hotel was recommended to us by an ex-pat in Paphos!

The staff at the hotel could not do enough for the guests, and we were made to feel welcome and special. The hotel (which apparently has had a major refurb) was beautiful with lovely coloured mood lighting all over the hotel. Even in the hotel room, which was clean, comfortable and luxurious (we had blue lights in the bathroom)!

The restaurant was lovely and had some of the best food we have had abroad (the bread was certainly the best). There were themed nights in the restaurant every night - Italian, Mexican, Cypriot and the best was French. The breakfast restaurant was lovely too with lovely, freshly squeezed orange juice (makes a change from cordial that you get in other hotels). The waiters were very friendly and worked very hard.

The entertainment was good - it was better when it was in-house as the mix of entertainers was excellent. Lucy, Beth, Rihanna, Ollie and Warren were fab.

The pool was lovely, warm and clean. Again with special lighting at night time.

Alexander the Great is ideally located and is only a 10-15 minute walk to the harbour area which is buzzing at night time. We really enjoyed the atmosphere, watching the party boats go out, locals jumping in the sea (in the dark!) and night time scuba diving.

We will definitely be back and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, food and cleanliness of the hotel. I am also glad that the refurbishments also met with your approval.

I will personally pass on your comments to the waiters and the Kanika Allstars Lucy, Beth, Warren, Ollie and Rihanna who will be delighted to have been mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We booked this holiday through Thomson as part of its a la` carte range and were not disappointed. We were met at the airport and promptly taken to the hotel in a very roomy Mercedes, thus avoiding the usual coach trip and round of hotel dropping off. Arriving late at night , this was a bonus and there was no waiting around to check in. The staff at reception were very efficient and friendly and we had drinks waiting for us when we arrived. We were even surprised that we didn't have to take our own luggage up to our room. Craig was fantastic at helping to make us feel welcome straight away and after we had been up to our room he personally took us for a tour around the hotel and showed us where everything was. Our safe
( which is free ) wasn't working properly so he left a message for it to be fixed , which it was , very quickly the next day.

Our daughter has an egg and nut allergy so finding a hotel that can cater for her needs has always been a challenge ; in one hotel we stayed at she survived on macaroni cheese for a week because the staff were not sufficiently trained to be able to deal with it. We mentioned this to Craig and he made arrangements for Emma to speak to us the following morning. When we got down to breakfast the following morning Emma was expecting us and straight away we felt that eating was going to be a pleasurable experience for our daughter instead of a battle every mealtime. Emma was absolutely superb at informing the restaurant staff and the chefs about our daughter's dietary needs . On the first evening we were not quite sure what to expect , but were met in Roxanne's by Emma who introduced us to chef George ( number 1- there are two chef George's ) who personally took our daughter around the buffet explaining which foods were safe for her to eat. This happened every single evening, and if chef George was off duty then another chef would take over. Even if they were exceptionally busy they always took the time to see to her needs; on one evening chef George was overseeing a wedding reception but still found the time to see her and make her an individual desert . As the week went on the deserts for her became more and more elaborate and we joked that the chefs were competing for master chef. On the Mexican night the food was too spicy for her so chef Marios cooked her something else.As we were half board we used the hotel restaurants in the morning and evening and bought snacks from the pool bar for lunch. Although there are some very nice restaurants and snack bars outside the hotel which are reasonable priced( e.g. the Atrion ) we tended to stay for lunch inside the hotel because of the situation with our daughter's allergies.

Aside from our daughter's allergy being dealt with in the most professional way we have ever encountered in all our time of travelling ( we have been all over Europe , North Africa and several cruises) we also found the dining experience to be of an extremely high quality. Breakfast is busy but the staff do an amazing job of seating everyone, clearing up , preparing the tables and there is a good choice of food. There is more choice at dinner because of there being more than one restaurant but again there are very high standards being set by the staff who greet you personally and take the trouble to ensure your needs are being met. Raj our wine waiter for example always had a genuine smile for us. The food choice is amazing but so is the service . The dress code for the dining area is generally respected by most guests and again this is what makes this hotel better than most . In our opinion, If the dress code were allowed to be relaxed the hotel would lose some of its class.

The hotel itself has other attributes which make it stand out for us as being one of the best we have stayed in. The hotel is located in a very good position on the beach with views over the harbour, the pool area, and the sunsets can be stunning if you have a sea view room which we did. There is a paved coastal pathway which takes you to the town and old Paphos; this is used by cyclists, walkers , runners, but it is also flat so is disability friendly , although a bit bumpy in places if you're in wheelchair. There are taxis and regular bus services if you don't want to walk, and reception staff are very helpful if you need to go somewhere.

The refurbishment has been the subject of many reviews. As this was our first visit we can only comment on what we found, not on what it was like previously, or to make any comparisons. Our room was a good size for 3 people . Our 'almost a teenager' daughter was incredibly impressed with the smart TV ( channels from all over Europe including all the English ones are available , so is the internet ) and sound system in the bathroom; the viewing window in the bathroom makes it possible to shower and watch TV at the same time. Equally if you want some privacy there are some lovely features like a button to press which makes the blind slide up and down. Even the wardrobe lights up when you open the doors. The only downside to technology was the lack of an ipod docking station which was listed as a feature on the Thomson website. In fact you have to use a lead to plug into the smart TV and we can't comment on whether this worked because we didn't take a connecting lead with us. The wifi around the hotel is free and a great feature especially if you have a child who is likes playing with technological gadgets. The beds were extremely comfortable ; just for a change no one complained ! Towels were changed regularly including the pool towels which were delivered to your room ( no going and having to collect your own ! ) and the bathroom ones were so new the fluff was still coming off them.The minibar (chargeable ) is well stocked and replenished everyday. Tea and coffee making facilities are in rooms , which we did use and these are free of charge. Although it was not the largest room we have ever stayed in , they are well appointed and comfortable. We had a side sea view which gives a slightly smaller balcony but the view makes up for it.The cleaning staff work very hard to keep everything spotless and Ellie our maid did an amazing job looking after us and keeping our room stocked up with chocolate ( every night on the pillow ) and Turkish delight.

The hotel is an average size , but we think this is what gives it a more personal, friendly feel. The space around the outside pool area has been designed creatively to provide for a range of needs. We liked the features such as the large jacuzzi, the individual jacuzzi's , the swim up bar and the fact there was a separate quiet area for adults. We mainly used the family pool and liked the fact that inflatables are not allowed in the pool. In the past we have been to hotels where it has been impossible to enjoy swimming because of children ( and some adults ) jumping into pools, waving pool toys around and making it very difficult to get into the pool without thinking several times about personal safety . If jumping into pools and getting rowdy in the water is what you want to do on holiday then this is not the hotel to go to. There is a lifeguard who regularly patrols the pool area , although on his day off behaviour in the pool declines as there is no one around to tell anyone to stop behaving inappropriately. The area around the pool steps near the infinity bar did have a slipping issue but this was quickly dealt with by fixing rubber matting down. There is also an indoor pool which is a good size and this is used for the daytime entertainment/water activities so the main pool is still accessible to everyone.

The sun bed allocation system is bliss and goes a long way towards helping you relax quickly into your holiday as there isn't the worry of trying to find something everyday. One day one of our sunbeds had been taken but once reported the pool attendant sorted it out immediately. On the last day our metal tag with our room number was removed in the morning even though we had late check out until 6 p.m but nothing was said about having to move . At full capacity the pool area does get slightly congested but if you are unhappy with where you're given this can be changed. The infinity pool bar introduced a new menu while we were there and at first glance the prices are expensive. However, the food is not your average chips /burger , although these are on the menu , the food is more upmarket, portion sizes are very generous and if you don't want to move from your sun bed the restaurant staff will bring food and drink to you. The bar staff work very hard and we like like to say a special thank you to Alina who looked after us so well in the evenings at Alexander's bar. The hotel dresses its staff very well- the uniforms are very smart and appropriate to the job they're doing ; we especially liked the blue and white for the pool staff.

The entertainment staff work hard and there is a varied programme every evening and during the daytime . If you don't want to join in daytime activities then the staff are not pushy . Having travelled a lot we have experienced some excellent through to diabolical entertainment. The entertainment staff can all clearly sing and there are a few talented dancers among the team. They do a very difficult job performing on a small stage, in the heat with limited visual scenery and other props; what they lack in traditional theatre support they make up for in energy , enthusiasm and humour. The Michael Buble tribute was excellent and we also enjoyed the 50's 60's night. Most of the routines are well choreographed .

There is an ethos of care in the hotel . We were amazed on one of our nightly chats with Craig that he was worrying about the safety of guests , especially the older teenagers some of whom were leaving the hotel at 1 p.m at night to go out on the town. For us, It is quite clearly the attention to small details that the staff have and the individual attention given to guests( like our daughter ) that gives it that edge that other hotels don't quite manage. Hotel management are also visible - the hotel manager is around everyday and regularly communicates with guests and staff . Unfortunately a small number of guests are rude to the staff and treat them like servants rather than people who are trying to earn an honest living, which was upsetting to see .

Another feature of the hotel is its efficiency . Numbers of guests arriving and departing is kept to small numbers due to the taxi system which makes checking in and checking out more time efficient. As we had a late flight and missed the evening meal on the first day we were given a meal voucher to use on the last day. We had a late check out at 6 p.m so once we'd left our room and deposited our luggage in the luggage room we were able to use our meal voucher in Roxanne's . Our return flight was a night flight so we were able to finish our holiday in a very relaxing way and use the time we had left more constructively rather than sitting around waiting. We were suitably surprised when a stretch limo turned up to take us to the airport- what a way to finish!

This is definitely a hotel we would return to provided it does not go all inclusive which is where standards tend to decline especially in the restaurants. We are not habitual 'returners' and like to experience different places and people. However we would make an exception for this hotel and visit again simply because it was a brilliant experience overall and the level of care and service from the staff was truly exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiddy198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the Chefs; George the Sous Chef, Marios, Craig in security, Emma in the restaurants, Raj and the reception staff are much appreciated and we will make sure that we show them all your review.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.

Thank you again for your recommendations to other reviewers with dietary requirements as I am sure they will feel very confident coming to join us after your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Having stayed here numerous times, we were excited to see the refurbishment. We were not disappointed. The room was comfortable and bright. The shower was great. Two different types of shower. One 'normal' and the other, a rainfall shower. The tap in the sink was not that good though if you want to rinse things out. Air conditioning was noisy and not good, nor was it great throughout the hotel.We had to switch it off at night and I sleep with earplugs!!
The outside pool areas are superb. A 30mtr rectangular pool. I though I had died and gone to heaven!! Great if you are a serious swimmer. Jacuzzis, indoor pool and serenity area for adults only. Bliss! The changing rooms and toilets in the indoor spa area were not great. I believe this is on the next 'to do' list, as are the sunbeds and umbellas. The allocated sunbed system makes it worthwhile coming back year after year. However, due to the refurb, sunbeds are now too close to each other and a lot of shade has been lost as trees have been lopped down. This means that only one of you gets to sit comfortably in the shade so if you are a couple you will have to fight this one out!!
The entertainments team were very good all day,showing lots of hidden talent in the evening shows. They go on till 11.30pm, so bear that in mind if you have a sea view and like early nights.
Food was excellent except for beef, which was good exercise for the jaws!!Amazing choice of foods at all mealtimes in the various restaurants. The Japanese was my favourite. The downside of the main restaurant and at breakfast is, that the tables are ridiculously close together, but I believe they are looking at this issue. If you love you tea, take your own tea bags with!!
For those of you that do not like taking washing home, there is a super laundrette opposite the hotel. You can even leave it for someone else to do and collect later.
For the first time I had a couple of issues that needed to be sorted. One was the wrong floor allocation on arrival and the other, an ant issue. However these matters were dealt with.
Location of the hotel is excellent. Near restaurants, shops and harbour.
I must mention Thomson's rep Kendal, who was a delight and really helpful. Also Philippa, an amazing Guest Relations Officer. A great addition to the staff at this hotel. I must also mention Emma, food and beverages manager. Emma, Philippa and I would make a great team!!!
Overall, a great holiday and a good flight both ways with Thomson's.
I hope to up the rating to excellent overall when the above issues are addressed and hopefully I will not have any issues on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueEdgware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations. Thank you also for mentioning the room, the showers, the outside pools. The kiku Japanese restaurant and the Kanika Allstars.

Philippa our Guest Relations Manager and Emma will be pleased that they have been mentioned.

We have taken on board all your comments and are looking into ways that we can improve the services offered.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at the Alexander the Great in Paphos. We had a lovely welcome with a nice refreshing drink whilst checking in. The rooms were beautiful, clean and very comfy. The food was delicious and there was a good variety. All the staff were very friendly and efficient especially Raj and Emma. Our daughter enjoyed fresh omelettes every morning, made by Costas. The Kanika Entertainments Team ( Lucy, Beth, Rihanna, Warren and Ollie) were very professional. We enjoyed watching all of their shows especially their version of the Jersey Boys. Had a wonderful holiday and we will definately go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments our hotel and staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Where to begin. We have just returned from an amazing stay at ATG hotel in Paphos as a family of four. I can honestly say this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we have travelled worldwide for many years.

We had experienced a horrendous delay of 23 hours + from Newcastle airport with Thomas Cook and arrived a day late at the hotel. Upon entering the reception area we were greeted by a very friendly gentleman on the reception desk who promptly registered our details and was then introduced to Craig who kindly took the time to give us a tour of the premises. We also were provided with cocktails which was a lovely touch. Craig was very helpful and friendly and got our holiday off to a great start. On entering the Lobby and Reception area it is plain to see what a quality hotel this is and no expensive has been spared on the refurbishment.

On arrival in our family room we were greeted with a gift of Turkish Delight and a bottle of local spirits, again a lovely touch. The room was very spacious, very clean and modern with excellent bathroom facilities. Kids loved the smart TV with internet access to free games etc.

The next morning we went for breakfast and the choice is endless. There is something for everyone, even the fussiest of eaters. We were staying on a half board plus basis which is very good as a drink is also included with your evening meal. Again, the food is outstanding. We dined at all of the restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed the experience and choice of food. Garibaldi Italian restaurant was fabulous and felt quite intimate with a lovely ambience. The Greek restaurant served a meze which again was very good quality and the staff always happy to help and please. We also dined at the Japanese restaurant, again no complaints and thoroughly enjoyed the experience of dining outside next to the sea, with the moon and stars shining down, wonderful.

I have read some other reviews where people have commented on the lack of variety for children's meals and have to say I am gobsmacked as the choice in Roxanne's restaurant each evening is outstanding, the variety endless, and a different theme is adapted each evening, so there is something for everyone. If you want chicken nuggets and chips for each meal you are simply in the wrong hotel and I would suggest going elsewhere.

The whole hotel is immaculate, towels are changed daily, and the sunbed allocation is an excellent idea, removing the stress from worrying about whether you will be able to get a sunbed or not. Another lovely touch is the invitation to the Manager's cocktail evening by the pool bar where you get to meet all of the staff and are served drinks and canapés. This is such a lovely idea and you are greatly welcomed by all the staff and shows how much effort this hotel makes to please its guests.

The entertainment team, Kanika All Stars consists of Ollie, Warren, Beth, Lucy and Rhianna who are amazing singers, dancers and general all round entertainers. We watched some amazing shows and the evenings were very relaxed and good for all ages. The team work incredibly hard and boy does it show. Hats off to these guys they are a lovely genuine bunch who you can tell all get on well together.

I must give a special mention to our maid Soulla who kept our room immaculate during our stay and was so friendly and always had a lovely smile on her face. She was such a lovely lady and took a particular shine to my 10 year old son. She was so keen to please and we will miss having chats with her.

The hotel has a lot of staff who all work extremely hard to provide their guests with a wonderful experience and holiday and nothing is too much trouble. The Guest Relations Manager, Philippa is in my opinion the perfect person in this role. She takes time to speak with all guests and has a lovely manner and nature with a good sense of humour. On the last day of our holiday we had a good chat with her and she was very helpful.

I would like to personally applause the Manager and staff of this hotel, it is ran extremely well and we will not hesitate to friends and family. We certainly hope to visit again at some time in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Our entertainments team the Kanika All Stars will be pleased that they have been mentioned. As will Craig in security, Soulla in house keeping, Philippa our Guest Relations Manager and the whole team of management and staff here at the hotel.

We are glad that you experienced all of our restaurants, especially Kiku the Japanese, Garibaldi the Italian and Limanaki the cypriot meze. Plus you attended the weekly management cocktail party and met our Management team.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

a lot of money has been spent on this hotel,i was there 7 years ago,and what a surprise,clean tidy,staff friendly,food fantastic,lots of choices for the evining meal.room great power shower,me and the wife enjoyed our stay there.only only a couple of niggles,air con to loud,we had a sea view room, great in the day but of a night time very loud music,could not open balcony doors because of this,so very hot.but I would book this hotel again,but have a room on the far side of the hotel.in my opinion one of the best hotels in paphos.

Room Tip: rooms to the side or front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness, the food, the staff, the room and power shower.

The whole team and I sincerley hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 88 in Paphos
2,575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#19 of 88 in Paphos
1,943 reviews
0.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Property: Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#6 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookcyprus.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing