We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Lovely hotel, recently refurbished and all the staff were very helpful.We chose a cabana with its own pool but the water was cold and not comfortable for swimming.At night the constant running water in the pool was quite loud and disturbing.We did ask if it was possible to turn it off at night but were told it was not possible.We booked bed and breakfast which was ideal for us and we visited several places to eat, all within 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,925
    377
    63
    26
    4
See reviews for
634
1,307
72
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,078)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Cannot fault ANYTHING about this hotel. Absolutely every detail has been thought about to make sure guests have a great stay.
All the rooms are furnished to a very high standard. We stayed in a basic deluxe room at the front of the hotel for the first two nights and then moved to a superior room with sea view. . Both rooms were furnished to a very high standard, but we thought it worth the extra money to have a sea view room.
Fabulous location - only 10 minute walk into Paphos harbour & town.
All the staff throughout the hotel are so pleasant and helpful. Every area kept spotlessly clean.
All meals exceptionally good, the Roxannne restaurant for evening buffet has a lovely decor, and the choice of food is excellent. (Different themes each evening) The Italian restaurant is very special - not to be missed (1 free visit included during a 7 night stay) you would pay a fortune for that type of service and food in England. Also the outdoor Japanese restaurant is a must, again excellent food - and very romantic setting watching the sunset!
The sunbed allocation is a great idea. No need to get up at 6am to put your towel on a bed! You choose a sunbed and that is allocated to you during your stay.
The Kanika All Stars worked very hard and put on some excellent evening entertainment.
Philippa the guest relations manager does a fantastic job.
Can't wait to return!
Thank you to everyone at Alexander the Great for making it a holiday to remember!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about the sunbed allocation system, our staff, especially Philippa and the Kanika Allstars entertainment team. Also the Garibaldi Italian restaurant, Kiku the Japanese and the Roxannes buffet restaurant.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have recently returned from a lovely holiday at Alexander The Great. Our Sea-View room was gorgeous with fabulous views and the cleaners kept it spotless. The sunbed allocation system is great and means you don't have to rush down to get a sunbed in the mornings. The pool area was impressive with lovely modern swimming pools and 2 pool bars. We had lunch at the main pool bar every day and always had a great meal. We also came here for happy hour, which is very good value, and enjoyed watching the sunset. The waiters, particularly at the pool bar were lovely and very efficient, Jakob was especially great. The breakfast had a very good selection. As we stayed half-board, we ate in the buffet restaurant most evenings. The atmosphere is minimal in here and decor is very dated and dark but the food was always nice and again there was a good selection. The only negative point of our holiday was when we had a reservation to eat in the Italian restaurant one night. On arrival we were told by the restaurant manager that they were running an hour late with reservations and to come back later. We had no apology from him and he wasn't polite in the slightest, so we didn't return to the Italian restaurant and instead had dinner in the main buffet restaurant.
The Italian restaurant experience aside, we had an amazing holiday and are looking forward to returning next summer!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SL199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about the Sea View room, the sunbed allocation system, the pool areas, the housekeeping team and also the pool bar waiters especially Jakob who will be delighted that he has been mentioned.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from a weeks stay at the ATG. It really is great, location, food and entertainment. We only have a couple of quibbles, there is a window between the bedroom and bathroom. You need to lower a Venetian blind for privacy, cannot see any good reason for this silly and annoying room design. Also smoking, smokers can sit anywhere outside and this can be uncomfortable when watching the entertainment etc. , designated areas would be nice. We loved the sun bed allocation by room number, the parasols are non adjustable, not good for fair, easily burnt skin. We had to wait until later in the day to relax and read. The swimming pools were great and they made great cocktails at the swim up bar. Recommend a trip on the Wave Dancer, great BBQ and music. Bar street, avoid due to most of the bars closed down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

The whole team and I sincerley hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel - customer service is second to none - have to disagree with previous review - most hotels who do not change towels daily do this to save money not to save the planet ! I would be appalled if my towels were not changed daily.

I do not have ond negative thing to say about the hotel - the rooms are spotless and have the most comfortable beds I've ever had in a hotel.

Restaurant has a lovely ambience with a good varied choice if food.

Italian and Japanese restaurant was very nice.

Can't wait to visit again - thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel being fantastic, the spotless rooms, the comfortable beds, the restaurants in particular the Kiku Japanese and the Garibaldi Italian and the customer service being second to none are appreciated by all the team.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Everything about this hotel is good, with a touch of class added in. The staff are friendly and efficient, the food is good, any problems are dealt with promptly, the entertainment is good, the rooms are beautiful. You will get to meet the management at a drinks and snacks party. It does not have extensive gardens but that didn't seem to matter.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Thank you also for mentioning the staff which were friendly and efficient, the food, the entertainment, the rooms and the weekly management cocktail party. It's a great opportunity for all of our guests to meet the management team and we find them very enjoyable too.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Following a significant over-winter refurbishment the Alexander is better than ever.

The rooms are now modern and well equipped, as well as being spacious and spotlessly clean. The pool areas have also been greatly improved, and we very much appreciate the system of assigned sunbeds.

Hotel location is excellent, with beautiful views and the harbour just a pleasant stroll along the sea front. The staff are very friendly, efficient and welcoming

Cannot recommend highly enough. Will certainly book again for next year !!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris737320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about the refurbishments that have taken place, the rooms, the location and our friendly, efficient and welcoming staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 85 in Paphos
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
0.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Property: Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing