We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Almyra Hotel(Paphos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloe Hotel(Paphos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,939)
Filter reviews
2,939 results
Traveller rating
2,424
416
69
26
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,424
416
69
26
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunbed allocationsun bed allocationsea viewroxanne restaurantallocated sunbedsjersey boysserenity poolhalf boardthe guest relations managerentertainment teampool attendantturn down servicespecial mentionwedding venueswim up barwelcome drinknothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
2,409 - 2,414 of 2,939 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Independently booked a last minute half term break and stayed in side sea view rooms on our first trip to Cyprus in more than 12 years. Already looking forward to returning next October. We do not normally choose large resort hotels but the Alexander the Great did not disappoint.

The rooms were very clean and well appointed as were all of the public areas. Members of staff in every area of the hotel were, without exception, friendly, helpful and, unlike so many other hotels we have stayed in, the focus is undoubtedly customer service with a smile. The location on the seafront is superb and only a 10 minute walk into town or a 10 minute walk the other way to some great restaurants. There's also a small shopping development oppposite the hotel which is very useful.

Foodwise, we only ate breakfast in the hotel and it was excellent: very well presented and organised and lots of choice of very good quality food.

The sunbed allocation was a revelation, much appreciated and something which should be adopted globally! Just below the hotel is a public beach which is very pleasant and has a large protected swimming area in beautifully clear water. About a 2 minute walk along the promenade is Pafos Watersports which we used for parascending and ringoing. It's also possible to rent powerboats, catamarans and pedaloes. We only used the hotel pools once as sadly the water temperature was too low for it to be enjoyable and perhaps this is something that could be addressed by Kanika as the pool area is large and very attractive and it was a pity to not get the use out of them. The outdoor pools were empty for much of the time. It seemed everyone was in the indoor pool! We very much enjoyed the treatments in the Spa which were excellent. The only issue with the Spa is the lack of soundproofing in the treatment rooms...the sound of flushing toilets from above can rather detract from the "Serenity" experience mid-massage!

We only spent one day out of the hotel having hired a jeep to explore the Akamas Peninsula and up to the Green Line via Polis. Highly recommend.

Overall, an excellent relaxing week. We really did not want to leave and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were happy with our side sea view rooms. Enough of the sea to look at and no disturbance from the bar/entertainment area at night. A little traffic noise did not bother us.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Discerning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, the breakfast being excellent, the location, the sun bed allocation system and the treatments in our Serenity Spa.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great hotel, lovely staff, spotlessly clean, lots of eating options. Loved the location, so close to the beach with lovely clean sea. Easy walk into shopping, bar, restaurant area. We did have a sea view room on the first floor and couldn't ask for better view. It was a little noisy at night due to the entertainment, our room was pretty close but it didn't really bother us. Bed was very comfortable fabulous linen. Great shower. No noise noticed from other guests, no banging doors etc. Outside bar area was a great place to relax with lovely views across to the harbour and castle. Liked the sunbed allocation scheme. If I had to say anything negative it would be the fruit at breakfast which is usually my favourite item, it was mostly tinned or tasteless, however there was plenty of choice otherwise and it was a lovely room with the option to sit outside.

Room Tip: Sea view of course
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the spotlessly clean hotel, the lovely staff, the location, the bed being very comfortable with fabulous linen, the great shower, the outside bar area and the sun bed allocation system are much appreciated by all of us.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We usually stay in Limmasol when visiting Cyprus but, on this occasion, spent 3 weeks at Alexander The Great in Paphos. Everything about this Hotel is 1st class from the welcome drink on arrival, sunbed allocation for the whole stay, choice of restaurants and exceptional service by all the Staff. The entertainment team were brilliant. Their 'Jersey Boys' tribute was very professional and not to be missed. The training of all Personnel, I feel, is key here. The friendliness throughout and eagerness to please is second to none from all who work in this establishment and highly recommend the whole experience here.

Room Tip: All rooms are fitted to a very high standard.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Our entertainments team the Kanika All Stars will be pleased that they have been mentioned especially for their Jersey Boys show. Thank you also for your good comments about our '1st class' hotel, the sunbed allocation system, the choice of restaurants and also the exceptional service provided by all the team of staff here at the hotel.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our first visit to Cyprus and we definitely will return . However our welcome was spoiled by the man on reception who seemed to refuse to try to understand us . I asked for a room at the back of the hotel without a balcony . This would not normally be our choice but we were here for a family wedding and my 22 year old son was with us . I was anxious for the extra space and also requested a single bed not a chair . The extra bed was an extended chair very uncomfortable for a 22 year old . I found out the day after we arrived their were others who wanted a balcony . I did not know the guest relations manager was there until the end of the holiday and was never invited to a hotel reception which I found out from other guests . We ate in the Italian and Japanese restaurants and both were excellent . The outside pools were not used due them being really cold but if you were brave they were really lovely to swim in as they were always empty . The staff are excellent and attentive and the setting is fabulous so despite our problems we would definitely return and pay the extra for a sea view as the rooms at the back are noisy

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, food especially Garibaldi the Italian, Kiku the Japanese, the setting and the outside pools.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our first visit to Cyprus in 15 years for the October half term - not sure what the weather or hotel would be like and we were throughly spoilt with both. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the recent refurbishment this year with £7million can be seen. We stayed in a Superior Sea Room and had a wonderful view to enjoy the sunset. I was pleasantly surprised to receive fresh towels and turn down service each evening. We went for B/B only as we like to enjoy local restaurants - try Les Amis and ZaZa's which are 5 mins away and excellent food. The sunlounge allocation system didn't quite work for us on day 1 but we were able to relocate to overlook the sea. The entertainment team - Kanika all stars - really did make the holiday for us. The team of Warren, Ollie, Lucy,Beth and Rhianna were first class entertainers who work tirelessly to ensure a variety of activities for all ages and abilities are available - we enjoyed taking part in many of the daytime activities - table tennis, killer darts, french boules, quizes and aqua aerobics. They put on evening shows which are worth sitting down and enjoying with a cocktail - our favourite was the Michael Buble tribute night ( Warren and Ollie are amazing). Other faciliites we used were the Spa and Tennis Courts. My only recommendation for improvement would be to heat the outdoor pool - beautiful to look at but too cold for a dip! Most people were using the inside pool at this time of year. I found the hotel staff and guests were very relaxed chatting away like old friends..I can understand why so many people return to this hotel - we certainly will.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra expense - more quiet as well at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations. Also that you liked all the new refurbishments that took place over the winter.

Our entertainments team the Kanika All Stars Lucy, Warren, Ollie, Beth and Rhianna will be pleased that they have been mentioned. Especially the boys about their Michael Buble night that has proved a great success this year.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews