We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great holiday”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I have just had another great holiday at this hotel, our 5th visit and it just gets better and better. With a beautiful new refurb, it should definately be a 6✴. It has everything. The service is second to none, staff are overwhelmingly friendly. Spotlessly clean. Cyprus is struggling like many of us, but they never fail to make us welcome. Returning guests prove this hotel is so popular too. Food exellent with a varied selection for everyone, with 4 different restaurants. The entertainment staff were Multy-talented, making days and nights enjoyable. This time of year there are not many families so its quite peaceful. Can't wait for next visit.

Room Tip: High floors & sea view are sunny with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glorybe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our friendly staff and our excellent service, the cleanliness of the hotel, the excellent variety of food and our multi-talented entertainment team.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,872
    372
    63
    26
    4
See reviews for
601
1,283
71
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,060)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel has been refurbished recently to a decent standard. It now has a pleasant, modern feel, whilst retaining enough of the traditional to appeal quite widely. There are a large number of returning guests (you keep running into people who have been there 30, 40, 60 times - really!!) and I think the main reason for this may well be the service. The staff are almost universally excellent. They are efficient, yet genuinely friendly and you really get the feeling that they want to make your visit special. Our room was particularly nice as we benefitted from a dual aspect and were able to enjoy a sea view and both sunrise and sunset from our balcony. We were there in November when the sun goes down at about 17.00 plunging everything into almost total, quite sudden darkness. Consequently, we spent a little more time in our room than we normally would on a beach holiday and would recommend paying for the upgrade to a sea view, as you do get your money's worth. We were booked on a half board basis and exchanged our dinner allocation for lunch on most days because we found that the quality of the food was much better at lunchtime than in the evening buffet. The food was also hotter at lunchtime because there were fewer people to serve, so even though the choice was more limited we preferred the experience. This also meant we could eat out in the evenings and try local restaurants. However, we did come back to the hotel bar for a cocktail after dinner, as the list was extensive, the prices fairly reasonable and the quality of the drinks really good!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilli-Cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words about our newly renovated hotel and rooms.
I would also like to thank you for your good comments regarding our excellent service , efficient and friendly staff ,our extensive bar menu with reasonable prices and good quality drinks.
Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.
The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our first visit to Cyprus and everything was wonderful. The hotel was very clean, spacious and well appointed. Quality fittings and furnishings throughout. Every member of staff were friendly, first class and went out of their way to help in any way they could. Probably the best overall service we have ever had at any hotel in over 30 years travelling.
The entertainment programme offers something throughout the day if you wish, including archery, boules and a number of quizzes. The entertainment team work hard through each day and also put on a show each evening, sometimes with guest entertainers as well so each night was different.
H/B and F/B guests are offered 3 different themed restaurant nights each week to provide a special occasion (at no extra cost) with excellent food quality at every meal. We enjoyed them all! Facilities are extensive including gym equipment and spa, and the indoor and outdoor infinity pools are in beautiful surroundings. One useful point we found is that your sun beds are offered and allocated on arrival for the length of the stay, so no fighting for good spots or having to put towels out before breakfast!
We will definitely return.

All in all an excellent hotel who we think are worthy of a 5 Star rating, not 4.

Room Tip: We think that sea view rooms with a balcony offer the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our friendly staff,our excellent standard of service, the hotel being clean and spacious with quality fittings throughout , the sunbed allocation system our extensive facilities and our excellent quality of food.

Our hardworking entertainment team will be pleased that they have exceeded your expectations with their varied entertainment program.

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Visited this hotel for 1 week, at the beginning of November 2013 & would certainly return there. Everything was perfect, I heard its been refurbished in the last couple of years & its been done very tastefully, our room was huge as was the bed. The room was clean & bed turned down at night with a chocolate left on your pillow. Only ate breakfast in the hotel & poolside snacks, both were very good, breakfast does shut down at 10.30am sharp. The hotel is in an excellent location for central Paphos a 5 min stroll to the harbour. Would recommend this hotel, I am sure you would not be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Also that you liked the location of the hotel, the newly refurbished rooms and the excellent standard of them, my sincere thanks for your good comments about our turn down service at night with the chocolates and the standard of cleanliness of the room.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Once again we had a wonderful overnight stay at this fabulous Hotel,the rooms are restful, clean and very comfortable and the facilities are excellent. We were there for our annual Christmas Fair which we held in the Hotel's Corinthian Room and again the event was a success, the organisation and help from the hotel staff was first class as always. Mr Yiannis Mavrokordatos and his team help us every step of the way and nothing is too much trouble. This Hotel is highly recommended for events, overnight stays or holidays, you will not be disappointed.
Once again thank you to all involved, and a special thank you to Raj who knows our event set up as well as we do.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, just decide wether you want a see view or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishneochorio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for holding your Event.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay in our hotel. I would also like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our rooms being restful, clean and very comfortable and our excellent facilities and most importantly your comments about our staff being helpful, organized and first class, Yiannis Mavrokordatos and Raj will be pleased that they have been mentioned.

We look forward to hosting your next event here at the Alexander The Great and assisting in its overall success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Returned recently from our 25th visit to the hotel-been staying here since 1999, been through two refurbs over this time. Breakfast food choices amazing, dinner choice could be better especially if you don't like 'the themed food of the evening' all food would be better if HOTTER even tea at breakfast was tepid. Background music in the bar prior to evening dinner was sometimes too loud-unable to have conversation with friends. Evening entertainment 'a bit repetitive' sameness each night also very loud. All the staff deserve gold medals, too many names to list I couldn't single one out to be mentioned. Much appreciated the champagne in the bedroom in ice bucket when we arrived-then another bottle for Hubby's birthday. Even with niggles we will be back next May.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julio12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays and for your continued support over the years. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our breakfast food choices being very good, the complimentary champagne in your room and most importantly the great team of staff we have at the hotel.Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

I and all of the team of staff here look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Our stay art Alexander the great has been wonderful. There was a mix up with our reservation and they upgraded us to an amazing room with a private pool. I appreciated that they responded to the room mix up without us having to say anything and with such generosity. The views are breathtaking. The location is perfect, you can see the harbor and walk along the beach to many nice restaurants. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting pathos.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mrslaurenmoussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel and the room upgrade are most appreciated and we are very happy that we managed to resolve the room situation to your satisfaction.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 86 in Paphos
2,637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 86 in Paphos
2,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Property: Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing