We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday at Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great holiday at Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just returned home after staying at the Alexander the Great hotel at Paphos for a week. What a lovely Hotel. Right on the promenade we were able to walk into the Harbour and around the headland. Our room was spacious and modern. Very clean and well presented . The king size bed was very comfortable and the linen was changed at least twice whilst we were there. Large flat screen television with English channels for those who don't want to miss their soaps. We up-graded to a sea view and it was well worth it. We found we had the sun all day. Free wi fi was a great benefit.
We stayed half board plus and found it excellent. Good food with a different theme every night. We visited the Garibaldi Italian restaurant in the hotel and this proved to be very special. Fine dining at its best. All the hotel staff were well trained and went out of their way to make us feel special and looked after. The nightly entertainment was first class with a varied programme . We travelled for the first time with Thomson and would not hesitate to do so again. In all a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Up-grade to sea view. Room 213 had sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about the location of the hotel, the spacious, modern, very clean room, the smart TV's in the rooms, the free WiFi through the hotel, the excellent food, the fine dining restaurant Garibaldi, the nightly entertainment provided by the Kanika Allstars and most importantly that you found the hotel staff to be well trained and that they all looked after you.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,719
    353
    59
    24
    4
See reviews for
553
1,181
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just returned from a lovely week at the Alexander The Great which has a great location just a short distance from the beachfront. There is a nice walk along a promenade to Paphos harbour area.
We booked a sea view room and did request a room change since this was located above the indoor swimming pool roof and you could hear the extractor fans whilst on the balcony.Our request was dealt with immediately and we were offered a more central position which was great.
The room was excellent- quiet - the bed was large and comfortable. The housekeeping service was very good and included a turn down service in the evening with a chocolate gift left on the pillows- nice touch.
The food in the evening which was served in a large restaurant was very good with there being plenty of salads and vegetables for my partner who is vegetarian. I enjoyed sampling a lot of the different dishes presented each evening in a different themed cuisine and the restaurant staff were very friendly & attentive with Raj going out of his way to make sure everything was ok. Breakfast served in a different room provided a very good choice with the breakfast chef more than willing to cook omelettes, pancakes, eggs to order
We did enjoy the entertainment provided in the evenings and appreciated the hard work that the team Ollie, Lucy, Laura & Ellie put into the different shows over the week. The bar service was very good and the drinks, including the cocktails, were reasonably priced.
We were fortunate with the weather during our week and were able to enjoy the sunloungers, with towels provided. The poolside area was immaculately maintained.
All in all we would recommend Alexander The Great for a nice relaxing stay and would not hesitate to stay here again if we return to Cyprus

Room Tip: Would recommend choosing a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baronjuh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our the room with the large comfortable bed, the staff, customer service, food, cleanliness of the hotel and especially the breakfast Chef, the Kanika Allstars and Raj our restaurant supervisor.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed for 1 week at the end of January. Contacted the hotel before hand and they arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport. We only ate in the hotel on the first night but here was a good selection of food available, Breakfasts were plentiful, the cooked options were not always very hot would be my only complaint. Only 1 restaurant open in the hotel whilst we were there, and there are many restaurants closed at this time of year.
The staff are very helpful and the hotel is very clean and well appointed, the indoor pool is great but the jacuzzi was not working at all during our stay.
I would thoroughly recommend the Alexander The Great.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, food and cleanliness of the hotel.

The whole team and I look forward to the day when we welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Genesio Atesino, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at the Alexander The Great in early November. We travelled with my mother and aunt and chose this hotel because of its position close to the harbour and the centre of Pafos and because it was recommended by a friend.
Rooms: we stayed in a room with a part view of the beach. The room was quiet and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. The shower was over the bath but we didn't find this a problem. Unfortunately the room was only made up in the early afternoon which was a problem for my mother who needs a nap at this time. We felt that perhaps this was because the hotel had cut back on staff as it was low season.
Restaurant and food: breakfast and lunch were held in a spacious dining room and we were able to sit outside by the pool. Coffee was provided on the table with hot milk when requested. We asked for a cappuccino but that was only provided at the bar and at a cost. Both breakfast and lunch were a buffet. The food was very good. Dinner was held in a separate dining room. The dining room was huge and rather old fashioned. It was also a buffet with a different theme each night. The food was good and the service was always friendly and attentive. We chose to eat at the Italian restaurant once and it was very good. It was a small restaurant and the atmosphere was very romantic.
Outdoor area: unfortunately you don’t see from the pictures of the website but the outdoor area is literally packed with lounges. You have to lie with no space between you and other guests. It has also to be said that this is a common problem of all the hotels in that area.
Service: this is a very large hotel but we still found the service to be friendly and personal.
Gym: this would be our main criticism of this hotel. The gym itself and the equipment were very old and some equipment was broken. The room was also kept too warm to exercise in comfort. The room is a good size and looks out to the indoor pool and has potential to be transformed in to a good one.
Overall this is a good hotel and I would recommend it if you are travelling with elderly relatives.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fabrizio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife, daughter and grandson stayed here 19/01/2014 - 26/01/2014. The good features about this hotel where completely over shadowed by the food made available to children. There is no buffet choices for children and meals have to be ordered from the "child menu". We ordered fish fingers for the grandson (3 years old) and after a lengthy wait they where delivered to the table burnt almost black (see photo) after complaining they where taken away and a plate of fruit was sent instead!! On another occasion we ordered him an hot dog a dark spicy sausage in a stale roll arrived within 5 minutes, once again we complained to the food manager, Raj, who said that is a Cyprus hot dog.(see photo) Convinced i was been given the brush off i took Raj to the chef at the buffet and asked him if this was a hot dog, to which he replied "no it is a cyprus sausage taken from the buffet and placed in a roll". Raj just glared at him and then slunk away without offering us an alternative meal for the child or an apology. This type of treatment leaves a very sour taste and spoiled what would otherwise have been a nice holiday. Having said that i would still recommend this place for couples only but definitely not for children.

Room Tip: sea view are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.


Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards. We are very sadden to read that the service provided by our team in certain areas did not meet with your expectations of our hotel. We thank you for raising these issues and providing us with this valuable feedback. Most certainly we will be looking into these issues within our operations and seeking ways to further improve our service quality.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of reversing your opinion and the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The staff were at all times helpful and quick to respond to our requests.....e.g we complained about bad tennis balls and new balls were ordered and received the next day. We had a minor problem with our TV, and an engineer was able to assist and sort out our problem within minutes. The Guest Relations Manager, Phillipa went out of her way to assist us and make our stay as enjoyable as possible -providing us with excellent local advice and information on transport, tours, restaurants and walks. The buffet had different themes , and it was nicely varied. The Italian restaurant food quality was excellent. The breakfast restaurant has a lovely selection of everything we could imagine for breakfast. The chefs were always ready to assist. A return trip to Cyprus is worth it, just for the walnut cake amongst other seriously tempting desserts. Our room was always clean, and perfect for relaxing. The impressive hotel is well located within a short walking distance to the harbour, There are some steps leading down to a quiet beach right in front of the hotel. The water is lovely and clear, perfect for a refreshing dip. The facilities are of a good standard -we made use of the steam room, indoor pool and tennis courts on a daily basis. The only thing we needed to look out for were the swimming classes for little kids in the evenings during the week. During our stay the staff had their annual party, and they thoroughly deserved it ! We lost some property which we left in our room, and the Guest Relations Manager phoned us personally to post the item to us. If we ever return to Paphos, this is the only hotel we will be going to. Our stay was from 12th to 19th of January 2014 (Low Season).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomStrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff being helpful and quick to respond when requests were made. The Chefs assisting in the restaurants, the breakfast having a lovely selection, the buffet dinners being nicely varied and Garibaldi the Italian restaurant having excellent food quality.

I will personally pass on your comments to Philippa our Guest Relations Manager who will be delighted to have been mentioned.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

So, having had to cancel 2 weeks of planned luxury in Egypt because of illness, upon feeling better, I log on to the internet and search 'getaway tomorrow' and the Alexander in Paphos pops up. We literally booked on the Tuesday and flew on the Wednesday, not really knowing what to expect. The Hotel looks OK from the front, but once you enter the foyer and see the sea lapping at the shore immediately behind the Hotel gardens at the back, the happy gene starts to awaken. The staff were very nice, expecially in the restaurants (of which there are 4) and the Manager can be seen, on a daily basis, walking through the Hotel and gardens, fully suited and booted and making sure all is well. And that is the overall feel of this hotel - all is well - there is a calm, peaceful confidence about it that almost forces one to relax. My husband used the gym every morning, I used the indoor pool which was ovely and warm and also walked the promenade that passes along the back of the hotel between the gardens and the beach, to walk to Pahos castle and back every morning. The beach was 2 minutes from our bedroom and wonderful. The outdoor pool was ruddy freezing in November - I went in once - but the sea and indoor pools were both lovely. The room was large, well stocked and beautifully furnished. Food in all the restaurants was good, and certainly one would never go hungry. There was entertainment provided but we did not partake, not our cup of tea, however, many people seemed to enjoy it. What did surprise us was that virtually everyone we met had stayed there before, often for many years, so believe the reviews when they say that people return again and again. indeed, should we ever go back to Pahos - this is where we would stay - enjoy it, it deserves your custom. Also, visit the spa, excellent massage to be had and great value for money

Room Tip: They are all good, we hada road facing room as we were last minute travellers and it was just fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mgfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the food, the indoor pool, the Serenity Spa where you had an excellent massage and the location of the hotel are most appreciated.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#16 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
0.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Louis Imperial Beach
Louis Imperial Beach
#4 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Property: Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing