We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfection”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

the alexander the great is a hotel i have been going to ever since i was a baby, iot has now had a redevelopment and i can only say that it has become evan better (which i didnt think was possible) everything anout the alexander the great is perfect the kanika all stars amke the day fun but chilled, these are the entertainmet team and put on a wonderful show at night! every time i visit this totel i walk away wishing i could go back! which i do every year and trufly this time has been ther best they have an amazing infinity pool and a sweim up bar. this totel is a dream and has recently been updated to a 5* i would recomend this to anyone!

Room Tip: a front sea view room is trhge best you could ask for and perfect for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmalillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our amazing infinity pool, the swim up bar and especially the Kanika Allstars.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,865
    371
    63
    26
    4
See reviews for
600
1,279
70
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I went to paphos on a weekend, i stayed In Alexander the great hotel. The rooms were clean , lovely big beds, The food was delightful , wide variety of cuisine, ,the staff were very nice. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jazz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our the rooms being clean with lovely beds, the delightful food and that the staff were very nice.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have just spent a wonderful week at the fantastic Alexander the Great Paphos. The staff where an absolute credit to the hotel, helpful, polite, and genuinely nice. The hotel itself was beautifully decorated and the rooms clean and comfortable. The hotel catered for your every need and if anyone who stayed there says anything different the I really do not know what planet they live on.The food was beautiful plentiful and so varied that it was hard to choose what to eat as to be missing out on anything, all credit to Their fab chefs. We have travelled far and wide and stayed in many countries and various hotels of different ratings and would say the Alexander the Great wins hand down and really should be a 5*without doubt. We like to think it won't be long before we have the pleasure of returning in the not too distant future as we can not praise it enough. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so special. Colin and Patricia

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel being beautifully decorated, the rooms clean and comfortable and most importantly that you found the staff to be helpful, polite and genuinely nice are greatly appreciated.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and this hotel is as good as any we have used!! This hotel cannot be faulted. its the little touches like hairdryer, plug, mirror and chair together. Most hotels seem to think you can stretch for miles and lie on your side whilst drying your hair, well not at my age!! Staff just seem to appear by magic, especially the girls from the Alexander Bar, nothing is a problem to them and always smiling, even if it is raining. The food is excellent, we usually book half board and then go out to eat a couple of nights especially in a place like Paphos with nice restaurants but we did not go out once. In fact my husband's only complaint was that he missed the BBQ night as we had booked to go to the Italian restaurant on the Saturday evening. Japanese night was perfect as well and again staff were just so helpful.

One we found out how to work the blind in the bathroom and the keypad on the safe we settled in as if we had lived in that room for ever. Room 105 was perfect for view and peace at night. In face we have just spent the last week trying to source a blue nightlight bulb for our bathroom at home, not easy I can tell you but well worth the effort. Now every time we go to the loo at night it reminds us of a perfect week in the sunshine. Think we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 105 and the other superior room along above the Adults Only Pool are very peaceful and have gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about the little touches in the rooms, the excellent food especially in Kiku and the Garibaldi restaurants and our staff.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Having stayed in rated 5 star hotels in Paphos the Alexandra the Great is wrongly rated as it should be 5 star and the 5 star 4 star.
Staff were frendly and accommodating.
Unfortunately my wife had to use a wheelchair (manual) but the the walk into Paphos and on to the lighthouse was managable, if a little bumpy at times. Hotel can arrange scooter hire and there is an area for re-charging on the ground floor.
Nice surprise that our evening meal was served with a (complimentary) drink....wine,beer or soft drink.

Room Tip: Definately worth having a sea view room as rooms at the front of the hotel are on to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our friendly and accommodating staff and that you liked the half board plus where you get a local drink each and a bottle of water between two.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I've got to agree with all of the flattering reviews herewith. 45 years of travel including many 5* big names,...... some could certainly do with learning from this relative minor. The hotel is a beautiful building, oozes class. The rooms although not large are very tastefully and simply appointed, AND very clean......well done staff. The food/restaurants serve a wide range of excellent fare.......well done catering staff.(three types of bacon in a 4* at breakfast !!! ooooh!).
Most elegant pool area we have ever experienced and NO problems with sun beds. Can't think of any more superlatives that haven't been used before my review. The dedication and cheerfulness of the staff are what really make the hotel so good, They are a real asset. Feel a special mention must go to the cabaret / entertainments team. To put on several shows like this a week and then be ready to organise daytime activities so well..........they are a TREASURE!! AND they are a genuinely unassuming and friendly group as well........makes you proud to realise they're all Brits. Looking forward to the Jersey Boys show tonight............GO the Kanika All Stars. Oh, and the backroom and bar staff!!
Two little pieces of advice for the management
1. Get some "rod" curtain pullers for those lovely long drapes, some "gorillas" are bound to pull them down.
2. Before you continue using the (very expensive??) flashing overhead lights during the shows, read up a bit about "photo sensitive epilepsy". I may be saving you some expensive litigation here! My wife has been a victim of (non photo sensitive) epilepsy for many years and knows about these things.
These two minor items apart, a very big THANK YOU for an excellent twelve nights
Regards Bob & Sheila.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room above the Alexander Bar. NO noise from the entertainments. The sun hits the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kloof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel whilst you are still with us.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, customer service, food, cleanliness of the hotel, sunbed allocation system and especially the Kanika Allstars who will be delighted when I show them your review.

Thank you also for your constructive comments that will be reviewed and discussed.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel,quality refurb rooms spacious ,clean ,lovely big bed , bathrooms has window from bedroom allowing natural light in giving a more open feel to the room with blind if needed ,limited or full seaview a must,the walk along beech front right to the harbour nice & flat or bus just outside hotel 11/2euros one way or for 5 euros as,many times that day as you wish to travel, Entertainment the best in the resort , this hotel with Warren and his entertainment team , out shone all the other hotels we visited for evening entertainment We thought we were at the "WESTEND" in London we had The Jersey Boys/ Abba/Micheal Buble &many more a fantastic show every time , an asset to the hotel ,and such lovely people!! ALL STARS by name ALL STARS by nature. A diamond in its crown was Phillippa(guest relations) always listened , advised, assisted with any query, problem ,or request .Thank u for listening to us . Lets hope the robes&slippers are a must ! ! We then have Becky your lovely Thomson Rep full of information you need while on holiday , we needed a car for a few days within the hour Becky through Eurocar had us a car sorted Thank u Becky . All the staff are friendly /polite/ helpful/smart a nice hotel with a lovely atmosphere, there wasn't"many children there when we stayed in march so nice & peaceful , but plenty to do trips/ entertainment / spa , etc A sun bed allocation system so reserve it & it's your all day brilliant idea . The hotel offers one complementary meal in the Italian restaurant each week but book early a beautiful evening meal . SPOT ON !! The breakfast restaurant a wide selection to choose from "excellent" something for everyone . Evening restaurant themed nights brilliant food, but ask for plain alternative if required nice atmosphere attentive staff , Your happy hour was good ,but a selection of all your drinks you sell should be included . It is a up market hotel "" Al A CARTE " at it's BEST. we will be back xxxx ROOM 202 the Sketchleys

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the rooms with the lovely big bed and privacy window in the bathroom, the location, the sun bed allocation system, the food and the Garibaldi restaurant are most appreciated.

I will personally share your review with all of our staff who you found to be friendly, polite and helpful. In particular Warren and the Allstars team and Philippa our Guest Relations Manager, they will be delighted when they see they have been mentioned. I will also give a copy to the Thomson's rep Becky.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and the whole team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 88 in Paphos
2,627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 88 in Paphos
2,001 reviews
0.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Property: Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookcyprus.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing