We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Trip.com
US$161
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/01/22
travelup.com
US$143
View deal
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,947)
Filter reviews
3,947 results
Traveller rating
3,300
513
95
32
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,300
513
95
32
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunbed allocation sun bed allocation roxanne restaurant sea view allocated sunbeds brilliant idea half board jersey boys entertainment team special mention serenity pool the guest relations manager turn down service indoor pool welcome drink nothing is too much trouble main restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,091 - 3,096 of 3,947 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I thought this was one of the best hotel that I have been to.The food and entertainment were excellent and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.Would definitely stay there again.The fact that you were allocated a sunbed meant that you never had to worry about finding one,the bed was yours for length of your stay no matter what time of day .

Room tip: Rooms with a sea view would be the best.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mavis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for choosing the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel for your recent stay.

It is very pleasing to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the food and entertainment were excellent and most importantly that all of our staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you for also mentioning the sunbed allocation system which we find is very popular amongst our guests.

Once again thank you for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We echo many of the reviews because a holiday in Cyprus based at this hotel simply assures you of a wonderful holiday. All the staff are kind and nothing is ever too much trouble, we simply have to mention by name Emma, Paula and Quentin who always made our dining experience special. In the evenings we often watched the Kanika All Stars (Warren, Steven, Beth, Emily and Ami) who were excellent and we really enjoyed the talent they all have. We enjoyed a glass of wine often served by the delightful Angelina, also a very special thank you to Alina for the best frozen Strawberry Daiquiri on the Island and always served with a smile. The rooms, pool, bar and dining area where always clean and tidy. Allocated sunbeds what a great idea and will make us come back to hotel. All the above make your holiday so we have already booked to go back to the ATG next June (50 weeks and counting). So I would not hesitate to recommend.

Room tip: Book seaview so worth it!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniepaul22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Emma, Paula and Quentin from the restaurants,Angelina and Alina from the bars, Warren, Beth, Aimee, Steven and Emily the entertainments team the Kanika All Stars will all be pleased that they have been mentioned when I show them your review.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in fifty weeks time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

just got back from 2 glorious weeks at the alexander the great and each time we go back it is still as wonderful as previous visits we booked through Thomson and they were great from your own taxi pick up from airport to hotel to the return taxi pick up back to airport at end of stay
The hotel from check in with lovely staff and welcome drink to the porter delivering your cases to the room we booked a sea view this time and it was well worth the extra , all rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard and the cleanliness is outstanding from twice daily towel changes to a bed turn down service in evening with a little sweet on your pillow.
the complete thing for me as well was the allocation of sun beds on arrival which consists of 2 loungers umbrella chair and side table you choose where you want to sit and they put room number on it and that is yours for duration of holiday the pool is beautiful with a swim up bar and jaccuzzi baths in it as well what more could u wish for.
we stayed full board and the meals are very varied each evening a different themed evening with plenty to choose from. u must also try the italian restaurant with a waiter service it is something very special and if you are half board you can swap a meal from main restaurant to go there which is a must
The restaurant staff are so polite and will always welcome you with a smile and as we are previous guests welcome you back the manager also walks around at meal times and asked you if everything is ok.
The kanika all stars are a lovely group of people warren as entertainment manager and the three girls and steven are so friendly and come and talk to you to make u feel welcome and they work tirelessly doing daytime activities as well all there shows have a lot of effort put into them most of the shows are outside by pool
i know i say you cannot fault this hotel but it is true with so many people returning each year.
all i will say is well done to them all and will be returning again next year

Room tip: have a sea view room it is well worth the extra money
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMF36
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a review concerning your recent return stay with us here at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

We are very pleased to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments regarding the check in with lovely staff, the high standards of the refurbishments, the beautiful pools, with swim up bar and Jacuzzi baths and the outstanding cleanliness and turn down service and are greatly appreciated.

Also thank you for your comments regarding our great team of staff, as customer care is amongst our highest priorities, it is always gratifying for all of the staff to receive such praise.

Once again thank you for your continued support and we look forward to welcoming you back for your fifth visit very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel from a Thomas Cook brochure. We were not disappointed with our choice. This is a wonderful hotel in a great location (a short walk to the harbour) with modern comfortable rooms, fantastic facilities and great activities/entertainment. The food is varied, well presented and very more-ish! But what really made this an enjoyable holiday for us were the staff. From the manager down they were bright, friendly, attentive and efficient. We met a number of people who go back regularly to this hotel and now we know why. We are planning to return next year.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for your good comments regarding the great location of the hotel, the modern, comfortable rooms, fantastic facilities and great activities/ entertainment.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, with warm regards from all of us here at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Firstly - let me just say I travel extensively for work and have stayed at many, many hotels and I can honestly say that overall this one beats them all! This was a holiday with my wife and there was literally nothing we could fault. Before we travelled I e-mailed to request a room in a particular area of the hotel and got a very nice e-mail back which is always a good sign. When we arrived we were greeted with a welcome drink and shown to our room which was exactly where we had requested.
We had looked at a couple of other hotels in the area and the reviews swayed us to this one - two things in particular were key: great reviews of the food and the reserved sun-bed scheme. Both these deserved the high praise that other people had given - although you get the chance to eat in 3 different 'a la carte' restaurants each week that you're there (Italian, Japanese & Cypriot) the buffet restaurant not only has different (very good) food each night anyway but also has a great ambience so whilst we used this option (and really enjoyed the Japanese in particular) just using the main restaurant would have been fine.
The sun bed system is so simple and provides for a very relaxing stay not having to worry about whether you'll get sun beds in the morning or where you'll be - you simply choose an area you'd like to be on your first day and they allocate you beds that are yours for the duration of your stay - perfect!
Rooms are spacious and well furnished and unlike many hotels you actually get LOADS of hangers! The TV has plenty of stations including all the British channels and the internet is wi-fi, free and fast (and available absolutely everywhere in the hotel from the rooms to the beach!) If only some of the business hotels I've stayed in offered this same level of internet.
However, the thing that REALLY sets this hotel apart from others is the staff. From the front desk through the maid service (which is twice a day by the way) and the bars and restaurants the staff all seem like they're actually happy to be working there! They smile, they're helpful, they're efficient and friendly. It really makes for a great feel around the hotel and plenty of the staff were remembering our names and room number after just a few days.
We were lucky enough to meet the manager as well and you could tell the pride he had in his hotel and the appreciation he had for his staff.
All this would be enough to recommend without hesitation but then you get the 'Kanika All Stars' thrown in for free as well! During the day these 5 hard working and fun crew led by Warren encourage you to take part in various activities such as table-tennis, aqua aerobics, volley-ball etc (but absolutely no pressure - it's there if you want) and then in the evening turn into the evening entertainment on most nights providing really varied and very polished shows performed at a well designed and lit stage area.
The hotel is also very well situated - just a pleasant stroll to the Port area of Paphos (either along the coast walkway at the back of the hotel or at the front of the hotel along the main road with it's bars, shops and restaurants) and a relatively short transfer from the airport.
If I had one (tiny) complaint it would be the Spa which my wife and I found not to be quite as good as others we've been to. Maybe we were just unlucky on the particular day we went but it's only fair to mention.
Overall, I really doubt you'll find a better place to spend a holiday anywhere and definitely not in Paphos.
As a general rule we never go to the same place twice (just personal preference and a quest to travel the world!) but this hotel is really going to stretch my will power to keep that rule!
Quite simply if you're looking to go to Paphos book the Alexander the Great now!!!!

Room tip: Room advice is always very personal I think but we chose a room at the 'port' end of the hotel and with a sea view and we loved it. It was a corner room with dual aspect and nice balcony and you get to see the sun set
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CameramanGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for choosing the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel for your recent stay.

It is very pleasing to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and felt the need to share this experience with us and other reviewers. We greatly appreciate that you have rated our facilities, service and quality highly and also made a special mention to our team members, Warren, Beth, Steven, Aimee and Emily. I will share all of your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you for mentioning that even prior to your holiday you emailed us and were responded to promptly. That on arrival you were greeted warmly and offered a welcome drink. That you sampled and enjoyed all of our restaurants; Roxane's the theme buffet restaurant, Garibaldi the Italian, Kiku the Japanese and Limanaki the Cypriot tavern.

Also that you found the room to be spacious, well furnished with Smart TV and free WiFi.

Once again thank you for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming you back for a second visit in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews