We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* at best avoid at all cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just returned from a 2 week holiday from paphos first week st George(wish I had stayed a second week)second week Alexander the Great,after hearing a lot if good things about this hotel wanted 2 try 4 ourselves wish we hadn't bothered staff mainly unfriendly especially reception staff who look everywhere but at you incase they have 2 say hello,room cleaned mid afternoon,turn down service turned out 2 be a maid chap ping your door and handing you 3 chocolates most days(started 2 be funny though),food first day at lunch chicken was pink and a hair in the bland rice never helped the cause lol set the tone nicely 4 the rest of the weeks food,pool sun loungers around pool way overcrowded don't expect any privacy with beds beening about 6 inches apart,I could go on and on but all in all not a pleasant stay best thing about atg was the taxi ride away from it wish I had stayed in st George hotel far superior

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucymax2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards. We are very sadden to read that the service provided by our team in certain areas did not meet with your expectations of our hotel. We thank you for raising these issues and providing us with this valuable feedback. Most certainly we will be looking into these issues within our operations and seeking ways to further improve our service quality.

Our policy at the hotel is that we like to handle matters whilst guests are still with us here at the hotel. We are disappointed that none of the above points were brought to our attention whilst you were with us as we could have addressed and discussed everything together.

However the whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of reversing your opinion and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,759 - 1,765 of 2,527 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Ok let me say first off all , I am hard to please,so here is my report, my wife and I arrived at hotel at 11.30pm we checked in ,we then had a complimentary cocktail very nice touch.We then proceeded to our room ,the room itself was nice but only had shower my wife was expecting shower and bath that was described in brochure so next day we asked to move room which was no problem,room was lovely nice bathroom great tv with lots of channels it was great for watching the world cup, so we unpacked ,after that went to book our sun-loungers what a great idea ,although there is a problem with non patrons of the hotel using swimming pool this needs to be addressed.The food in the main restaurant is nice,but the Italian and Japanese restaurants are excellent as is the pool side bar.The staff from the Manager who is so nice to the friendly other staff are brilliant,There is a nice get together with managers and other new guests with nice snacks and drinks.Entertainment at night is good,although I have to say I was a bit let down by Paphos not really much to do except restaurants and sovenier shops,the standard of cleanliness in this hotel is fantastic towels changed twice daily everywhere is spotless ,this hotel is very good they go out of their way to make you feel welcome a very well done all.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room so nice to see and hear the waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Also for mentioning the welcome drink on arrival, that once you had changed rooms you enjoyed the lovely nice bathroom, the great Smart TV, the sunbed allocation system, that you found the Kiku Japanese and the Garibaldi restaurant to be Excellent and that you appreciated the Management Cocktail Party.

Most importantly that you found the staff to be our greatest asset and that they go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My pregnant partner and I stayed here and overall had an enjoyable stay. It is in a perfect location, right by the sea front and the pool is lovely. It is very much an 'all inclusive' hotel with a few restaurants. We ate at the hotel a couple of times and the food was ok....not exceptional, not terrible but ok. One disappointing aspect is that you have to wear trousers in the main restaurant. That's not the end of the world, but when you're in shorts all day and it's still warm in the evening it would be nicer to wear shorts.

The entertainment at the hotel was fun....not the highest quality but it was enjoyable to watch and there is something different every night.

The rooms have an incredible view looking out over the sea and every room has a balcony. The rooms are clean and lovely and the house keeping staff are really friendly.

In terms of negatives, I found the staff could be slightly rude. On one occasion we had checked out of our room and they let us leave our luggage in another empty room as we had quite a wait for our flights. When we ordered something at the bar and tried to assign the cost to our room we had problems. The receptionist marched out and seemed to tell us very loudly that we were in the wrong. It was a shame as overall our stay was positive.

In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel. It's definitely good for families as there is a lot going on for kids. It was a relaxing stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for choosing the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel for your recent stay.


Thank you for mentioning that the location perfect, the pool was lovely, the rooms are clean and and lovely and that the housekeeping staff are friendly.

You have also mentioned that you were disappointed that you have to wear long trousers in the main buffet evening restaurant, during the summer months of June, July and August we change to our Summer dress code which is for the men long Bermuda shorts, shirt and shoes for all of the restaurants except Garibaldi where the dress code still remains of long trousers, shirt and shoes.Thank you also for your constructive comments which we shall take on board.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of reversing your opinion and the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

we arrived at the hotel at 1600 hr what a fabulous sight to greet you on the out side and when you went in side it was brill. reseption was with warm welcome you were shown to you room which was breath taking spotlesly clean. the staff at this hotel are second to none allways a smile and allways helpful the allocation of sunbeds which are yours for rest of your hols the pool bar and lounge bar are brill, food is fantastic we were half board never get the meal twice the entertainment was on every night was very good recommend this hotel it is like five star.the view across the front to the harbour is spectactular

Room Tip: top floor front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for your good comments regarding the hotel, the warm welcome you received from our reception staff on arrival, the spotlessly clean room, the food, the sun bed allocation system, the entertainment and most importantly that you found my staff to be "Second to none".

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, with warm regards from all of us here at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently had our wedding at the Alexander The Great hotel on 14th June 2014. We booked the whole thing directly with the hotel following meeting with one of the wedding coordinators, Helene Rousis. They arranged everything for us, from flowers, to the food, DJ and photographer, all of which were fantastic! It really would not have been the same without Helene’s help, she was amazing and we couldn’t thank her more for all of her help. We would highly recommend this hotel if you were looking at getting married in Paphos, they really do go the extra mile to accommodate any requests you have!

The photographer was also amazing; very friendly and really took control of our large group who came to our wedding. The pictures are stunning and we got the proofs within a couple of days of the wedding. We used Photo Papis ( www.photopapisphotography.com )

The hotel underwent a refurbishment last year, so we visited before and after the refurb, and we must say, the hotel is even more fantastic from what it was before. It is in a great location for those who want lively nightlife or for those who would prefer a quiet holiday. The staff are all very friendly and room as stunning. We would recommend getting a full sea view room; it was an amazing view to wake up to every day!

We could not fault our holiday or wedding at all, and it would have been the same without the help of Helene Rousis – thank you so much!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel, the Sea View Room, the food wedding menu, our wedding coordinator Helene are most appreciated by all of us here.

We are glad to see that your wedding day was memorable and that we have managed to make your day perfect. Your comments have already been shared with all the team members concerned and will motivate them even more to keep up the excellent work.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday and wedding expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel for your future wedding anniversaries.

Thank you again for your recommendations to anyone wanting to get married at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived home last night from a fantastic 10 days at Alexander the Great. The staff and animation team worked very very hard to please you in every way. They couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were very very clean. The themed restaurants did excellent food and you were treated like royalty. We must point out that T. Cook should inform you when booking, that a side sea view actually covers more of the main/noisy road and a bar across the road of which is open until 2.30 in a morning. On facing the hotel if you are in a room on the right hand side then you don't get the sun at any time of the day, we actually paid extra money for a side sea view, the hotel staff were unable to move us to a full sea view as they were fully booked. Other than that of which isn't the hotels fault you won't be disappointed. They have an excellent system with the sun beds in that they allocate you what you need and if you like the area they put your room number on a tag and you have these beds for all of your stay there, so no towels in a morning you an go out for the day come back and your beds will always be available. Great stuff. Enjoy your hols. Congratulations to the hotel and very hard working staff .

Room Tip: Front sea view are quieter and nicer views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Evonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of the rooms, the excellent food we have at Garibaldi the Italian, Kiku the Japanese and Limanaki the Cypriot tavern and the sun bed allocation system.

The whole staff and the entertainments team the Kanika All Stars will be pleased that they have been mentioned.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We got married in the Alexander in September 2013, we also stayed in the hotel for 10 nights in a superior sea view room. We cannot recommend the hotel enough, the room was fantastic and the views were superb stretching right across the sea to the harbour. We stayed half board and the breakfast selection was great and the option of using the al a carte restaurants for some of the evening meals was a bonus. If we stayed here again, we would just stay bed and breakfast as there are some amazing restaurants in Paphos and wouldn't like to feel restricted to the hotel.
We had our wedding at the hotel and the wedding co-ordinator Eva couldn't do enough to help, the whole day ran smoothly and was perfect. We got married on the wedding terrace which had some lovely views over the sea and our photographer even mentioned that the views were some of the best they had seen.
Overall, our experience at the Alexander was excellent and we cannot wait to return one day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KCPC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted that we exceeded your holiday and wedding expectations and that you found the hotel to be superbly located, the room fantastic and the food selection was great.

It always gives me great pleasure to read about the fantastic team of staff I have here at the hotel. I will be personally showing your review to all of the staff especially Eva our wedding coordinator.

Thank you again for your recommendations to anyone wanting to get married at our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for a return visit maybe for your first anniversary in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#2 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £75 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotelopia, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing